We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Scallops”
Review of Seafood Cafe

Seafood Cafe
Ranked #24 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Scallops”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Such a simple concept. Pick your fish & sauce & enjoy!
Booking in advance is essential though to avoid being disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClaireM-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    598
    180
    79
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A new experience!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A modern and quite vibrant eatery. There is no menu! You simply select your fish or meat from the counter, select a sauce and accompaniments and off you go. The service was perhaps a little slow, when waiting for the dessert menu and the bill however the food was excellent. There was a menu for children - it was proper nosh! I would eat there again, although think it would better with friends and not children (just my preference - as mentioned the cafe caters for children).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just awful!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came to this restaurant on 2nd night of our trip, we were excited to get a table as it is a very busy place. The service was poor, the food was terrible, the starters were overcooked and prawns were rubbery. The main course was undercooked and cold! Needless to say we would not come here again. Shame as we had heard such good things!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrismris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“simple food, excellent cooking”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

2nd visit in two years did not disappoint and once again the quality was evident, our party of six enjoyed fresh delicious mussels, whitebait, cod, sea bass, and plaice, prepared and cooked how you liked, in a delicious sauce of your choice. Portions were generous with friendly efficient service. It's not just for fish lovers as they cook meats too how you want it. Highly recommend. Make sure you book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grovewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, service fine.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is always popular. You can view the food you want on the refrigerated counter and then order it. Food is excellent.
No views but you can't have everything!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing