We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant lunch”
Review of Seafood Cafe

Seafood Cafe
Ranked #26 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a pleasant anniversary lunch for 5 in mid-August. The food was nice, nothing notable, plesantly served. The place was full and therefore noisy -- although I suppose this is only to be expected in mid-season. Service was not exactly fast -- but again, can't complain under the circumstances. It is a attractive place, I like looking out at the people's legs going by, although some of the more internal seats can be really noisy when the cafe is full. STaff and pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 775Jenniferruth775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,010
    579
    173
    76
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sauce overpowered everything”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have visted the Seafood Cafe several times and have always enjoyed the food, however this visit was not up to the usual standard. The mussels were lovely (as always), but we were recommended to order the garlic and caper sauce with our fish dishes and the sauce completely overpowered all other tastes on the plate (just waaayy too much garlic, even for my tastes).. I would recommend anyone to steer clear of this sauce, however, the fish is always great and the service is good too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great service and food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great choice on menu, food was excellent and service was 5*. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

visited sea food cafe while on holiday and found staff very helpful and attentive
ordered what was on display in fridge had tiger prawns to start which were very nice ordered steak which came with chips and a side salad my friend had steak and seaonal veg our drinks were bought over first folowed by main course
it arrived after no time at all and was cooked to perfection the best steak i had out
and chips were nice and veg looked vibrant and fresh and well done
we then ordered pudding which was lovely moomaid ice cream and cheese cake wonderful pudding cant fault it
overall it was well presented and very tasty food
the staff were attentive but never over fussy there when needed and fetched everything when needed
cant fault it at all

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was our second visit and we weren't disappointed.
The crab cake starters were delicious, the flavour of the crab bake however was over powered by mushrooms. We all ordered Cornish Hake for mains which was lovely, the quality of the kids meals was excellent.
Our waiter was helpful and friendly, if you are visiting St Ives I would definitely recommend you visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing