We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location! ”

The Old School Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Port Isaac purely on the basis of having watched the film Fisherman’s Friends and booked The Old School at very short notice. It’s in a fantastic position in this lovely village, directly above the small harbour with beautiful views across to the lovely green hills opposite. The staff were excellent, specially the delightful friendly lady at breakfast who made us laugh every day, and the food in the evening was really excellent, befitting a top class restaurant - I’d return just for the meals!
One thing to bear in mind is the very unusual housekeeping arrangement which I’ve never seen before despite years of travelling. If you want your room cleaned, bed made, towels replaced or tea tray replenished, you have to leave your room keys with reception. If you don’t, your room won’t be touched. It’s a strange set up and led us to leave an evening out with friends much earlier than planned as we felt we had to rush back before the restaurant closed in order to pick our keys up. As it turned out they leave keys in the open foyer so we could have stayed out later but we weren’t made aware of that.
On the whole, a great stay though, and we’ll be back soon :-)

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank SteveandDiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Once again
It's a very busy place
You need to book in advance
Staff are awesome
Food is amazing hot and plentiful desert Eaton mess is a must
And a doombar
Well done team
Easy access loads of room
Well priced

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Jeyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are not too many places to eat in Port Isaac and if you eat here you won’t be disappointed
We had lunch outside at the rear of the hotel in the sunshine and the cider and crab sandwich went down well
We came back in the evening for dinner and the food and wine was excellent
Very busy place. Staff efficient and helpful
Recommended

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank AndyB1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I thought that I would use the 'Four in a bed' method of commenting so;
Hosts were lovely, very helpful and friendly.
Room was spotless, bed really comfy and we both slept well. Room was just the right temperature.
Great facilities - bath was huge - coffee, tea etc. and a fridge to keep the wine cool.
Positioned on the cliff overlooking the harbour - no need for the television-just open the window and listen to the sea.
Food was great - breakfast in the morning - full English, toast, cereal, yogurts, fruit etc. Scrambled egg excellent and the waffle and maple syrup - naughty but nice.
Evening meal was delicious - ate from the menu and from the specials board. All great dishes well cooked - would really recommend the sticky toffee pudding with clotted cream all served by lovely smiley ladies,
Would definitely stay again.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pathiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

Very well laid out restaurant, and the food was excellent, with a high end menu.
Very Good Service. Looked after

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Mantazutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old School Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing