We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere; pleasant staff; average food”

The Old School Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere; pleasant staff; average food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Dined at the Old School House on our first night in Port Isaac. We were looking for a casual meal and thought that we would dine in the bar, choosing from the bar menu. We were advised by the bar attendant that we could dine in the main dining room but still choose and order from the bar menu.
We were then taken into the dining room and given a table for two on a raised platform area at one end of the dining room. The dining room was pleasantly decorated with a combination of a nautical theme and old time views of the village. The tables were situated relatively close to one another which enabled us to hear, virtually every word of the conversation between our rather loud neighbours at the next table, who were on a visit to Port Isaac, from across the Atlantic.Our food orders were taken immediately and our two main courses were served within a short time. My wife had chosen "crispy beer battered fish and chips with homemade tartar sauce"whilst I had ordered ""homemade beef burger in a toasted bap with mustard mayo, fried onions, cheddar, lettuce, tomato and chips", My wife was really enjoying her fish and chips until she felt a fish bone catch in her throat. Fortunately after several large gulps of her drink, the bone dislodged. My burger whilst large in size and quite filling was just average in presentation and taste.
The waitress who cleared our table was apologetic when told about the fish bone and said that she would report it to the chef. She did spend some time chatting to us about points of interest around Port Isaac and provided us with some quite useful advice for our visit.
In summary, nice dining room, pleasant staff, reasonable prices, average food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigHugh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    224
    64
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“School dinners were never like this!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having read good reviews of the restaurant, we booked a table for lunch at 12.30 for four adults and a small child. Our first impression of the surroundings was disappointing. The tables were close together and our table had a cloth which had not been swept or arranged properly after the last customers. There was no one to welcome or direct us to a table and the waitress, although pleasant and quite efficient could have been more helpful in telling us what was on the specials board instead of just telling us the the board was in the other part of the restaurant. However, despite the very average ambience the food was excellent. We had to wait quite a long time as my daughter's fish pie took longer to cook (evidence of food cooked to order) but the waitress keep us informed. The fish pie was delicious and the fish and chips were "so much nicer than I have eaten in more expensive restaurants". The chocolate dessert and the sticky toffee desserts also deserve a special mention. So overall my family would recommend the Old School Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice menu, well prepared food , good and friendly service.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Cheery decor. Several choices reflecting local sources. Good wine choices. Friendly service. A nice vibe from other tables - many families enjoying their vacation. People were very friendly to us (we seemed to be the only Yanks).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Durand39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a takeaway from here. Very busy inside, with what seemed a nice atmosphere. Waited a while for food but was nice. Large portions- too much, but worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank star_angel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have any of the fish!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was superb - let's face it the fish will be fresh! Service was a little slow but not really a problem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old School Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing