We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Cornwall's hidden gems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is the second time we've stayed at the Longcross and I honestly couldn't find anything to fault if I tried. We stayed in a suite in the detached house across the car park from the main hotel, 3 bedrooms and a living room, ideal for a family. The rooms were immaculate, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The location is ideal for visiting places like Port Issac, Rock and Padstow, but at the same time out in the countryside, peaceful and relaxing. I'm not a big gardens fan, but the children loved them and the kids play area.

Breakfasts were one of the highlights of the stay, I rarely get chance for a relaxing breakfast and therefore appreciate a good one and these were amongst the best I've had. Good food, well cooked (fresh not buffet) and the lady who served us really could not have been more genuinely attentive and helpful. We ate at the hotel one night which was also excellent (views from the terrace restaurant are superb) and on another we had a Thai takeaway from a local pub in our suite.

A small fridge in our suite would have been a useful addition, but as the staff were only too happy to provide a bucket of ice if needed or milk for the kids bottles, that really wasn't an issue. No hesitation in recommending it and I'm sure we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 420 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed in Stable suite with family,which gave a nice seating area for all of us. Great location and the staff were very helpful and couldn't be faulted. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandPGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I stayed with my family for two nights. Room 2 is not a room to have if you want a good nights sleep. It is above the bar and entrance hallway. You can hear conversation and the hotel phone ringing very well. The offer of access to the Roserrow sports complex doesn't mention the additional £10-00 per person per day fee.
The breakfast was very good and the staff helpful. All in all an overpriced average hotel in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdsjjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here in july 2010, This hotel is lovely, very peaceful, excellent breakfast, lovely room stayed in rm 1, friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean. It was an absolute pleasure to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleigh9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel is in a great location with wonderful views to the coast across fields viewed from a very comfortable terrace. We were part of a large group and the attention we got from the staff was excellent with all requests attended to straight away. The hotel has large grounds which are worth a walk around and the hotel itself has clearly been refurbished and does not deserve the poor reviews of a year or so ago. The only complaint would be that it is a little bit further than the advertised 10 minutes from Wadebridge but the short walk down to Port Issac is worth taking and avoids all of the parking problems there. The menu is excellent and well worth trying. Overall, a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viatori-lasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed for four nights B & B. Everything about the Hotel is to a very high standard. All the Staff are friendly and helpful. The Room (No4) we stayed in was very well appointed and the Housekeeping standard very good. We had a very high quality meal in the Resturant on our final night at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Having seen the last review simply had to write. We stayed (for a 3rd time) having really enjoyed our previous visits and were again enchanted by the Longcross and its setting. All the rooms we have stayed in have all been really nicely done with quality furniture and bedding along with spotlessly clean bathrooms. Its all a matter of taste but we thought the stripped, varnished floorboards look great and really like the feature walls. Yes there are a couple of carpet stair treads need attention but having seen the improvements to the public areas since our last visit, I'm sure this will happen before long. It must be an age thing but thanks to the staff again for the laid back but friendly and attentive service - nothing seemed too much bother. Great food, loved the cocktails and cant wait until our next visit!! Keep it up guys!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joby_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
434 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
544 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing