We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is probably one of the best value for money hotels I have ever stayed in even on business.
Great staff,accommodation,location and the breakfasts were superb.Highly recommended.And the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: If you don,t like the stairs book into the annex with huge wet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

As this hotel was only 500 yards from the place we stayed at during our 2 week holiday in Cornwall we thought we'd have a family meal.
And the service was excellent as well as the food which although being mainly fish and I'm not the biggest fan of fish I can honestly say I was very impressed at the portions sizes and the standard was more than I expected.
It was that good I'm now a convert to Crayfish for the starter i certainly recommend it.
The staff are certainly a credit to the hotel and restaraunt they were very helpfull and nothing was to much trouble.
In fact it was that good we went twice over the two week period.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0ckyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose to stay at the Longcross Hotel following an internet search for a hotel with a car park near to Post Isaac. We found the hotel easily even though it is located in the countryside with access via a narrow road. When we arrived at this lovely hotel we were greeted warmly by the staff and shown to our room which had a fantastic view of the beautiful countryside and Port Isaac. The room and ensuite bathroom was adequate in size and extremely clean. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant that evening but thought that we would dine out for the rest of the week. The dinner menu, which was moderately priced, the service and quality of food was so good that we ended up dining there every night throughout our stay. The breakfasts were equally as good and served by the hardworking and very pleasant waitress Sylvia. During our stay the owners introduced themselves and were anxious to know if everything was satisfactory. We were able to assure them that we were very happy with everything.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so be prepared to carry your suitcases upstairs. Be aware of the narrow roads lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just come back from a 3nt break at the Longcross and would recommend it very highly. We stayed in the Love Shack, a converted potting shed set in the gardens, separate from the hotel, which has been reburbished to a very high standard. A lovely wetroom and the most comfortable HUGE bed!! Tea and coffee making facilities, tv, hairdryer all in room. The gardens are just beautiful and the little seating area outside the Love Shack is just perfect with its sea views. Breakfast was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and helpful - gave us tips for a great day out at Boscastle (well worth a visit) and even advised on the best route home (which was correct!) Restaurant in the hotel was lovely - enjoyed our meal but think the sea bream with sweet chilli sauce just tasted like a huge glug of sweet chilli sauce from a bottle had been tipped over everything and couldn't really taste anything else ?! May need to adjust that dish!! However the views from the restaurant and the beautiful decking area are simply stunning. All in all would definitely recommend. Port Isaac harbour is very closeby - saw all the Doc Martin buildings although the film crew have recently left. Very pretty in any event. All staff friendly and helpful - a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Love Shack if you want to feel a bit more secluded and private. Close enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GILL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the "Love Shack" which was actually a restored cottage separate from the main building of the hotel in the garden. The cottage was lovely but the bed was quite lumpy and we would have appreciated a bar fridge.The views from the main building, restaurant and it's deck are beautiful and the 30 minute walk down to Port Isaac through the fields is wonderful. Breakfast in the hotel is efficiently served and well cooked. There does seem to be a little lack of interest from the staff - to find someone to ask questions of at reception was difficult and we had to carry our bags ourselves through the garden to our cottage, but overall we enjoyed our stay. The area is stunning, especially as we found it - in bright summer sun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our party of ten visited the Longcross Hotel for a meal in the restaurant on a Thursday night in July. The hotel is situated in North Cornwall and offers beautiful views in an idyllic location. The food is not cheap and the drinks are costly compared with other premises in the locality. However we felt that if the food and wine were good that it would be worth paying for the fabulous views to the sea.

When ready to eat we were led into a large conservatory/ Garden Room. This room has vaulted ceilings that are decorated with cotton drapes. Unfortunately there were a collection of dead flies and insects which had been trapped behind them. The management need to ensure that this area is cleaned effectively as the effect is not pleasant in an area where customers consume food.

Everyones first course arrived, bar one starter which didn't. Apologies were offered by the waiting staff and finally all starters were present and found to be tasty and enjoyed by everybody. However when the main course arrived one of our party was concerned that her 'Proper Fish Pie' had no prawns and a very small amount of fish contained within it. This compared with the same dish presented to another member of our party.

The issue was brought to the attention of a member of staff who then consulted with the hotel manager. As a result the guest who had been presented with the inadequate meal was offered a free drink to compensate. We did not consider this to be an acceptable solution and asked the waitress if a member of our party could discreetly speak to the manager. We were told that the manager was too busy, but we could talk to a senior member of the waiting staff who would be able to resolve the issue. The nominated member of staff offered to deduct the cost of the unacceptable meal from the bill and also informed us that the cost of the wine that we had ordered would also be deducted. We were happy with this. However when the final bill was delivered to our table only a proportion of the wine had been deducted. We once again asked to speak to the manager who told her staff that she did not want to speak to us. Again the waiting staff had to speak to us on behalf of the manager. This was very unfair on the staff concerned and unacceptable to us as customers. It was then explained to us that the manager was not aware when the offer was made to deduct the wine that we had purchased three bottles of wine for our party and this would result in a reduction in price which was too large. We pointed out that offer was made after we had ordered the wine so the information was readily available to the manager at that point that the offer was made. After further negotiation we did agree a final bill.
Overall most of the meals that we had at the Longcross Hotel were well cooked and well presented. It was such a shame that one poor meal and the complete failure of the management to engage with us took the edge off a nice occasion wen the problem could have easily been resolved. Would we go there again? Well the answer is no. The customer service standards provided by the Longcross Hotel were abysmal and completely unacceptable considering the prices being charged for food and wine. The management must seriously consider changing their approach towards customers who present them with service delivery problems that require resolving if they are to attract a loyal customer base.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Treoesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Last week we enjoyed a wonderful evening meal in the restaurant after a heavenly pre-dinner bottle of the local Camel Valley Brut leisurely consumed on the deck against a breath-taking landscape and sunset.

The menu was excellent as was the food and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were only passing through this time, but have stayed at the hotel a number of times. It is a delightful, almost secret, place, hidden and sheltered from the world yet close to all the wonders of North Cornwall and its amazing coast line.

It’s well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank crosby_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#2 of 4 in Port Isaac
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,356 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
982 reviews
10.4 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: $103 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now a stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing