We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding venue”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently had our wedding ceremony at the Longcross Hotel and the day couldn't have gone better. The staff were very helpful throughout especially Jane the wedding co-ordinator. The Longcross pulled out the stops and delivered fantastic and unique canapes. The setting is perfect for weddings with fantastic vues across the Cornish coast. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. The breakfast lady (sorry forgotten her name) was very helpful and accomodating to the wedding guests. Very happy memories and would recommend as a wedding venue or weekend away. Thanks again to all who made our day fantastic!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discoveradventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    102
    54
    29
    9
See reviews for
87
220
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windlesham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Family and friends recently descended on the Longcross Hotel for a Weekend Wedding and I believe our party booked every room. The staff were absolutely superb and could not have been more accommodating. Everything about this hotel is to be commended. The wonderful memories of a magical weekend will remain for a very long time for many personal reasons. Even the sun shone for us! There are original beautiful Victorian gardens to investigate as well as the surrounding area of Port Isaac.
For the cat lover, the hotel also has two most wonderful laid back black and white furry brothers to seek out. Children are warmly welcomed. The full Cornish Breakfasts certainly set us up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dksit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at The Longcross for the first time and were very impresed. The location is superb with the best panoramic views ive ever seen. The room was lovely, exactly as we wanted and reasonably priced too. But the best part by far was the way the staff treated us. On arrival a very charming young man (Local lad Sam) greeted us and explained everything in great detail. He invited us to the bar where the combination of the open fire and wide selection of spirits made it very much like home. Sam sold us the dream of a dinner in the beautifull resteraunt where we found the menu modern and exciting. Because of the choice we asked him to choose for us and the reccomendations of the duck and the "proper" fish pie were bery good indeed. In the resteraunt we met Dan (Not so local but still very charming man) who again was very attentitice to our needs. Between the teo gentlemen they made our expiriance on of great enjoyment and ultimate relaxation. We will be revisiting because of these two lovely boys.

G & G

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love-Cornwall-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In the country
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in Room 1 with superb, panoramic views out to sea. We'd opted for a superior room as we were celebrating a birthday and it was only £20 extra a night. It's a lovely big room with a huge and very comfortable bed.

The service was great from booking, through to check in and right the way through to check out. We has dinner in the restaurant on Sunday evening and the food was great especially the mussels and the boeuf bourguignon and very reasonably priced. Some good wines as well in the £15 - £18 price bracket. The bar prices are sensible too.

This is a dog friendly place and so we took our big German shepherd with us. There are some quiet lanes for dog walking (just don't forget a torch).

Overall we'd definitely stay here again, probably in late spring / early summer to take advantage of the terrace and the gardens. A wonderful relaxing break. Thank you Dan and the team!

It's worth mentioning that the hotel is closed between 4th November and March (although the bar is open at weekends until 15rh December).


  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshiregirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I are tragic Doc Martin fans, so we set aside two nights to allow us plenty of time to explore Port Wenn (er, I mean Port Isaac) at leisure.
The Longcross is actually a couple of miles inland from Port Isaac, but that is no disadvantage. You get wonderful views of the countryside from your room with views of Port Isaac that are much nicer than the views from the port itself. The view at sunset is especially spectacular.
Dan and his staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times.
Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you would expect, while the included breakfasts were outstanding with individual meals made to order.
For the Doc Martin tragic who would like to dine at Bert Large’s restaurant, you will be disappointed to learn that it does not actually exist in real life, although you may notice the Large restaurant van parked in the township. Luckily the Longcross has its own restaurant where we ate on the two nights that we were there. The food was excellent and the prices reasonable. It was nice to be able to have a glass or two of wine and not have to drive home afterwards.
Our stay was very pleasant and we are definitely happy to recommend the Loncross.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs then don't book a room on the third floor. On the other hand, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieDerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Exquisite food, amazing views, lovely rooms, warm friendly staff and locals, very clean, reasonably priced bar.... you would be silly to pass this place by! The gardens are lovely, the Hotel itself is a lovely Victorian building. The staff clearly enjoy their jobs and are always happy to help in whatever way they can. Port Isaac is within walking distance on a nice day. I have to disagree about comments about the manager, he was a genuine nice guy and as there was a function in the hotel on the saturday night (which we were invited to by a lovely local gentleman) he advised us to book somewhere else to eat that evening when we booked the room, and even gave us a free drink to apologise for any inconvenience. We had the perfect weekend....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, on the first floor. It was spacious and well decorated, lovely views from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I recently visited this hotel for the first time with a group of friends to celebrate a 'special' birthday. Between us we spent a considerable amount of money on food and drinks, not to mention the rooms. The waiting staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. It's a great shame that the same cannot be said of the manager, a young man from Newcastle, who was surly and unhelpful to say the least. When friends of ours queried what they were getting for their upgrade fee, he was unable to answer and became rather confrontational. A conversation took place about reviews on Trip Advisor. The Manager said he was not bothered about Trip Advisor. Oh dear! He should be.

We did not let this spoil our enjoyment of our stay, but nevertheless it was disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe building seems to be superior to those in the main building of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2goodDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
2.3 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
222 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
381 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
408 reviews
1.1 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
492 reviews
7.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longcross Hotel & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longcross Hotel & Gardens

Property: The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Address: Trelights, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longcross Hotel & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful converted Victorian residence, now s stunning boutique hotel with 3 acres of gardens overlooking port Isaac Bay where Doc Martin is filmed starring martin Clunes in the fictional village of Portwenn. Overlooks some 30 miles of coastline ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Longcross Hotel & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longcross Hotel And Gardens
Hotel Long Cross
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing