We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place lovely people lovely dog!”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely place lovely people lovely dog!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the aforementioned "doc Martin party weekend" yes it was a bit noisy when a couple of the guests came in late after a wedding but that is not the fault of the owner! We found the welcome lovely, we turned up early so couldn't check in as the room was being cleaned. That was no problem as we had been told 3 anyway so just checking on the off chance. We were able to park in the car park and go and enjoy lunch in the restaurant opposite. Room comfy and warm with shower gels and shampoo etc. breakfast lovely and served with a smile.
It clearly states that the dog lives there so to criticise for "smell of dog" is slightly unfair!
We would recommend this b&b and will definately be visiting again. We can also recommend The Moat for dinner and The Golden Lion for a friendly atmosphere and as said previouslyThe Edge was great too!!
Thanks Paul & Gino - see you again soon

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenks3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    81
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
220
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

When you have the opportunity to stay in a hotel, in a room with a balcony that offers you a view like this one, you consider yourself fortunate indeed. Paul and Gino (the great dane!) made excellent hosts. Whilst the wi-fi was a variable commodity, it was nice to be incommunicado for a couple of days to be honest. Breakfast was hot and plentiful (and came with the same view that we had from our balcony!!) and the location was incomparable - it was great to have such a central base from which to explore Port Isaac.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 or 6 to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzy_Blonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

In our opinion this is a substandard B&B masquerading as a very shabby (and incredibly smelly) HOTEL.

We have two dogs at home and are dog lovers however this place stank of dog....and no wonder when you see the size of the hound! Upon arriving at the "hotel" I really didn't appreciate being slobbered over by the giant mutt, although Paul thinks its "wonderful" how Gino likes to greet his guests. Well, these guests weren't so impressed to be told that we had to wait to be shown to our room because Paul had to let the dog out for a pee first! We should have made a quick exit there and then as this really was not the place for us!

Paul ever so proudly showed us to our room which he had managed to upgrade for us as he'd had a cancellation. Jeez....if Room 7 was an upgrade then we dread to think how bad room 12 must be!
Damp patches across ceiling and above the balcony doors, black mould around windows and in every crevice in the bathroom! Holes in bed linen, a condom wrapper under bed (YUCK!), dusty surfaces and dirty windows.
We love mismatched furniture but the decor of Room 7 was seriously dire - my husband referred to it as cheap and tacky car boot quality furniture - not what one would expect to find in a "hotel".
The bed was comfortable however the micro fibre quilt was incredibly thin and lumpy!
There is obviously a problem with the plumbing in the building as when another guest let out their bath water we had water gurgling up in our plug hole!

Not feeling comfortable at the "hotel" we headed out at 5.30pm to discover the delights of Port Issac - would recommend The Mote as the food, service and atmosphere was amazing. We returned to the "hotel" at 10pm and spent the remainder of the evening wishing we hadn't bothered!

The Edge Restaurant was directly opposite our room which meant we had to contend with very noisy drunken party goers entering and leaving the premises between 10pm - 3am. Despite us having the dirty curtain drawn, the excessive lighting from the restaurant floodlit our room until 4am when the staff locked up, turned off the lights and left.....once having finished their very loud conversation!

After just three hours sleep we were really miffed to discover the hot water was only tepid and certainly not warm enough to bathe or shower :( Disgruntled we headed down for breakfast....passing an open door which obviously lead to the room where Gino slept as the over powering waft of stale dog hit us!

Breakfast was just as we expected - rubbery undercooked bacon, overcooked dry tasteless sausage, over heated cheap baked beans, 1 shrivelled up mushroom, 1/2 tomato and one tiny burnt offering which we think was supposed to be back pudding?? Who knows? The toast was good, although it was a shame the "waitress" took our butter before we had chance to use it!

In our opinion The Bay Hotel is tired, tatty, dirty, worn out and really not worth the over inflated price we paid for one nights stay. There are much nicer bed and breakfast establishments in the area - we know because we booked one for our second nights stay in beautiful Port Issac.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SWGl0beTr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul w, Owner at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
we are very concerned about this review, we always ask guests on departure if there stay was ok, to say yes then go home and hide behind there keypad and write this is beyond me .if the problems mentioned were pointed out on departure and were true I would have not heisted in refunding the guests in full, and also severely reprimanded my cleaning staff. First I would like to point out we are listed on trip advisor and our web site as a guest house not a hotel (this has been the name of the building since 1898) we also mention Gino the Great Dane on the web site so as to warn guests he lives here, he is the village mascot for the RNLI and raises thousands of pounds for them. We have checked the room and are amazed by your comments, the only answer I have is that the hundreds of guests that have stayed in that room must be blind, and have no sense of smell, I do agree it was noisy until 1.45 that morning due to Doc Martin productions having a start of filming party which you could have gone to like most of the guests here did, this only happens every two years. Reading the review you left for the hotel in Majorca in October I think explains all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Bay Hotel is a lovely hotel Paul the owner very friendly Gino the dog a big softy.
All in all a very nice break.
Port Isaac very hilly but worth seeing. Fantastic views. Very good **** star b/b
Never saw Doc Martin Perhaps next time

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjthome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fantastic little guest house, owners very welcoming and big dog greets you at the door. Room has everything you need and breakfast has choice for everyone. Perfect location with a sea view from the front of the hotel and private car park. All in all very relaxed feel about the whole place. Plan to visit again, Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleylprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and owner ... and dog too! Location was fantastic. Worth every penny. Parking space included which is essential for location. Think the last negative review by Richard was v unfair. Would definitely recommend this place and will return soon. Richard & Wendy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuarttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Bay Hotel is a rather grand old building with beautiful high ceilings and with many interesting features and memorabilia.

We stayed upstairs in room 11; a double room with an en-suite. The bedroom offered a view of the coastline and the bed was comfortable. Despite the weather being bitterly cold, the room was well heated.

The en-suite was spacious with a spa bath. I think it’s worth mentioning that the spa bath was about waist deep and more designed to recline in. There was a hand held hose on the edge of the spa bath, but no overhead shower. A decent front facing mirror was lacking, but this was only a minor annoyance.

We had a TV, coffee and tea making facilities and complimentary soap and bubble bath etc., free Wi-Fi and free off street parking.

There were other guests staying at the hotel, however we didn't hear them! We only saw them at breakfast, so this was a real bonus as so often in hotels the walls are thin and you are constantly aware of your neighbours.

Breakfast was served downstairs in the dining room and offered continental and cooked breakfast options.

The guest lounge was just off from the front door and opposite the dining room. It was large, well-furnished and had beautiful big windows that filled the room with light. There was plenty of seating available including comfy couches and interestingly, it offered a good selection of musical instruments for anyone so inclined to enjoy!

The resident dog is Gino; a great dane. He is one HUGE dog, but do not be intimidated by his size as he is a gentle and timid pup! He also keeps to himself and does not encroach on the hotel guest’s space.

Overall the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the quaint fishing village of Port Isaac and this convenience is reflected in the somewhat inflated hotel rates. It is the location you are paying for, but having said that, I would pay it and stay again…location, location, location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DormouseTidings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
1.9 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.2 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
408 reviews
4.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 1 The Terrace, Port Isaac PL29 3SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing