We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reiteration”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westaway Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reiteration”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

As a regular visitor to Westaway albeit I am unable to visit this year and therefore express an accurate review as of today, my comments here are based on fairly recent past reviews over the last 3 or 4 years and as such I am amazed at the review written by SJSmithy and the opinion expressed. I do not understand how anyone who is of sound mind could possibly think that Westaway is anything but 5Star. The opinion of this visitor is either misplaced, stupid or vindictive, or indeed the person has such high standards that they feel that perhaps Westaway should have gold plated taps, now that would be stupid. As for value I have stayed at some hotels over the past few years that would not even score a single point on the above rating chart and have cost considerably more, sometimes in excess of £110 per person per night, therefore £80 per room per night at Westaway is exceptionally good value.

I wish to reiterate that Jocelyn and David are the perfect hosts and run a spotlessly clean and efficient guesthouse with top quality food and refinements. I still believe that this place deserves 6 stars.

Of course SJSmithy does indeed have a right to express his or her opinions, but negative opinions such as this could seriously harm this business and could therefore be unjust.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, are well equipped and are comfortable with top quality furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Without question, Westaway Guesthouse is a 5 star B&B and the only place to stay when visiting Port Isaac and North Cornwall. We did our homework thoroughly before finally settling on and booking Westaway and were most impressed with the rave reviewst . We also made sure that we made our booking well in advance to secure the room we wanted at the time we wanted heading into peak season. As it was, a little juggling was required and we ended up with a three night rather than a two night stay but this turned out to be a blessing and could happily have stayed a week and not regretted a moment!

We managed to find Westaway with little trouble thanks to the satellite navigation system in the car and photos of the house on the internet. We were greeted by Jocelyn and David and shown inside their beautiful home. We had chosen "Rosemary" in which to stay as the dormer windows, cosy sitting area and the separate shower in the bathroom appealed. We weren't disappointed. The room was large, light and airy, had a beautiful view over Jocelyn and David's pretty, manicured garden, the rolling farmland and out towards the sea and in addition to all this had a large, well-appointed ensuite bathroom.

David had brought our bags upstairs and then we were invited to enjoy a Cornish cream tea in the sun room as a welcome. Jocelyn joined us armed with maps and brochures and enquired as to our wish list regarding things to see and do whilst we were there. She showed us on one map where we were in relation to Port Isaac and Port Quin and explained how to get there on foot - the walk we did the following day including Doyden Castle was one of the true highlights of our entire visit to Cornwall. Jocelyn also had some great dining suggestions in the area. Incidentally, the Cornish cream tea we had at Westaway was also the best we had in Cornwall with Jocelyn's standout homemade strawberry jam (truly the yummiest we've ever eaten!).

David's breakfasts served in the sun room each morning were incredible. The choice of fresh fruit and creamy yoghurt followed by the most delicious cooked breakfasts were a real treat and set us up for most of the day. We had read in other reviews about the crab cakes and can vouch that they are every bit as good as everyone has said!! There was no problem to mix and match various menu items to our taste and there was an amazing number to choose from.

The bed in "Rosemary" was large and extremely comfortable. The pillows were plentiful and also wonderfully comfy and to top it all off there were cosy, fluffy bathrobes - ah luxury! The bathroom had lavender bath bombs which were a nice treat and our room was also stocked with tea making facilities and had the added extra of delicious homemade shortbreads.

The sitting area is an inviting mix of deep, comfortable couches and lovely antiques and there is plenty of reading material if you can actually find time to sit and relax. The sun room is also the perfect place from which to watch the beautiful Cornish sunsets to which we were treated.

All in all, Westaway Guesthouse is an outstanding B&B, spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained and extremely good value and which we could not fault. There are only three rooms and our advice is that if you wish to stay here, plan ahead so that you don't miss out! We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: "Rosemary" is a lovely quiet room and being upstairs has an even better view than those do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A case could be made that Westaway is the finest B&B in all of Great Britain--I obviously haven't sampled them all, but I have been in well over a hundred B&Bs over the years and twenty on this trip alone. Jocelyn was extremely helpful including making reservations at Rick Stein's restaurant for us (which cannot be done from the United States and must be made well in advance.). The breakfasts were the best we have experienced. Westaway is "out in the country" not located smack in Port Isaac or Padstow, but that should be clear from the location map. The view from two of the rooms is fantastic. (I can't say about the third room). The rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. I cannot recommend it higher.

Room Tip: The two more expensive rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Several years ago our son and daughter-in-law introduced us to Westaway, assuring us that we would love it. We did, and have just come home from our 6th visit. If you read all the 5 star comments on Trip Advisor you will understand why we love it so much. Everything they say is true. Jocelyn and David are, indeed, the perfect hosts and we would recommend Westaway to anybody who is looking to stay in this area. We would like to echo the comments by Anne and Roger about the one low rated posting - there must surely be some mistake here. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Westaway. As always, we had a wonderful few days in this luxurious and comfortable B&B, and Jocelyn and David are the most delightful hosts. The breakfasts were amazing, the room was superb - couldn't fault a thing. I am truly amazed by a previous comment that it was 'average, dated, etc etc'. I can only assume that the writer had selected the wrong establishment to comment on, as those descriptions are totally misplaced. Westaway is absolutely worthy of its 5 star rating, is easily the best B&B we have ever stayed in, and we would recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie_10SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Westaway in August 2011 and have booked again for this year. This B&B is absolutely wonderful and Jocelyn and David completely know how to spoil their guests. Jocelyn's breakfasts are so, so good, even down to the homemade muesli and preserves. My husband requires a gluten free diet and was catered for without any hassle whatsoever. In addition, high quality, beautiful bed linen and towels and the most comfortable bed imaginable made it hard to leave. We moved on to a 5 star hotel for the rest of our holiday and with hindsight we much preferred the relaxed, quality time we had with Jocelyn and David. This place is a gem and we consider ourselves very fortunate to have found it. We will continue to visit for many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AMREngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westaway, Owner at Westaway Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Westaway at the end of August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed here with my (now) husband for a few nights a couple of years ago (August 2010 but it won't let me select it) and we thought it was wonderful. Beautiful part of the country and lots of lovely walks and beaches to explore. The hosts, David and Jocelyn were excellent: cream tea on arrival (delicious), helped us get to know the area and locate places to visit, were very welcoming and friendly and served probably the most amazing breakfast we've had - it filled us up way past lunch time! The room was really comfortable and nicely decorated. We stayed in 'Rosemary' and had lovely views from the huge window. I would definitely recommend this B&B and would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.9 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westaway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westaway Guesthouse

Property: Westaway Guesthouse
Address: Westaway Westaway Main Street, Port Isaac PL29 3TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Westaway Guesthouse Hotel Port Isaac
Westaway Guesthouse Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing