We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Brilliant!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bark House

Bark House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bark House
Port Isaac Harbour, a short walk from Bark House Bark House, Lounge/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Bark House
Port Isaac Harbour, a short walk from Bark House
Bark House, Lounge/Kitchen
Bark House, Lounge/Diner
Bark House Lounge
Bark House Kitchen/Diner
Bark House Kitchen/Diner
Bark House Double Bedroom
Bark House, Double Bedroom
Bark House, Single Bedroom
Bark House, Single Bedroom
Bark House Bathroom
Port Isaac Harbour, just around the corner from Bark House
'Doc Martin's House', just up the road from Bark House
Port Isaac Harbour, just around the corner from Bark House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Port Isaac, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
844nichol...
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

Port Isaac is just the prettiest fishing village imaginable. Excellent walks, stunning scenery, and flowers everywhere. The harbour is seconds away and full of attractions - lifeboat station, excellent coffee shops, restaurants and a proper pub!
The cottage is wonderful in every respect; very well appointed with all the facilities one needs on a self-catering holiday. The interior is really tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The bedroom is a good size and it's very easy unpack and store clothes so you don't need to live out of a suitcase. The smaller bedroom can be used to overspill luggage if you are not someone who travels light!
We slept very well in a comfortable bed - and you get used to the seagulls - you're at the seaside so what do you expect?!
There are some lovely shops in the village, which is quite busy during the day as folk come to stroll about and take pictures of every angle of Doc Martin's surgery. They go away quite quickly however and from late afternoon the village is fairly tranquil.
It's easy to unload stuff on arrival and then turn back to the car park on the road to Port Gaverne. You book this online for the week and pay about £40. There were always plenty of spaces. The walk down/ up is steep but you get very used to it and there are wonderful health benefits. If you want a stunning view of the coastline, walk into the village along the cliff.. its actually much easier walking up from the cottage that way but longer and definitely wimpish!
Other stunning places are nearby, such as Padstow, Tintagel and the Camel Valley Vineyard is a must!
We stayed for a week and didn't manage to do half the things we wanted , so we'll be going back.
It is such a relaxing place for a holiday, i cannot recommend it strongly enough! Bark House is like home from home only better!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheMSmith
1 review
“Lovely cottage, beautiful surroundings, perfect location.”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our week stay in this cottage was beyond expectations, we had everything there that we could possibly want to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and we found everything very pleasant.

The location was amazing and we did book into Fisherman's Kitchen and also had a lovely Sunday lunch at Port Gaverne Hotel all which was within walking distance.

The cottage was extremely clean and tidy and the decor was lovely, we went on this holiday for our silver wedding anniversary and it turned out to be a brilliant choice. Would recommend this stay to anyone.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannapor...
Scawby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant holiday.”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our holiday in Port Isaac surpassed all expectations, it is a magical place and the accommodation has been perfect. The house is cozy and quaint and only seconds away from the sea, the pub, lovely shops, breathtaking views and Nathan Outlaw's Fish Kitchen! The accommodation is well equipped and clean with freshly laundered bedding and towels. It is a perfect base for sight seeing and if you don't fancy cooking there are plenty of fantastic places to eat within walking distance. A great experience all round. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynsay b
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our little slice of heaven”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our 4th visit to a very special place for us. The cottage is lovely, a previous review mentioned a few little issues but we didn't see these. Water was fine, cottage was clean, there was a slight musty smell in the utility cupboard but as we didn't sleep in there we didn't care felt very comfortable and cosy, just love the place. Setting is perfect, nice pubs/restaurants,gift shops, beach perfect for treasure hunting as our 2 year old advised. Krab pot do the BEST sandwiches and cream tea. All in all we'd highly recommend the cottage and Port Isaac.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee P
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic ”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I have recently visited the bark house for the 8th time, and will continue to do so. The house is tastefully decorated, charming and fits in perfectly with the historic surrounds which it is set in. It is 300 years old and just beautiful and full of character. The location is ideal, seconds from the beach and a stumble from the pub! Seagulls have become associated with relaxing happy times to me, I love how untouched the village is and wouldn't change a thing. think previous reviewer must have got wrong house?! I will long continue to be a guest and love it here. Thanks for another fabulous break :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobHalsey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely location and a lovely renovation - once. But well overdue for some TLC now. Door handle falling off the master bedroom door, fridge compartments fall out when you open the door, heated towel rail doesn't go, a really musty/damp smell from the kitchen cupboard and no hot water in kitchen, or bathroom handbasin (shower ok due to power shower unit) - reported this to the agency who acted surprised. Promised to sort it but we never heard from the agency again. We now realise from reading other reviews (the people that stayed after us had the same issue - and undoubtedly the people that stayed before us did also as the hot water was out from the day we arrived), that this was probably an ongoing problem that the agency simply responded to with a 'really - oh, thank you for telling us. Have you checked the fuse?'. Either that or the owners are unmotivated to look after their guests who are paying good money to stay there - we stayed over the bank holiday period so paid top end.

The location was brilliant however - so close to the harbour that we got to see the Fishermans Friends twice and Sunday night bands. And the beds were very comfortable.

However, if we stayed in Port Isaac again we would find another place to stay. There is a feeling of 'no care' by the agency and/or the owner. If you are taking money for a service - you should provide it!!

PS: The compendium gives you info about Padstow - not Port Isaac. Not helpful when we wanted to recycle. And the sofa actually smelled. Overdue for a steam clean - but that's being kind - it needs replacing!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very central to pubs, restaurants and the harbour. Bed very comfortable and hotel standard linen. A few things let it down slightly though, not all of which can be avoided. There is no parking in the village and quite a steep walk to the car parks. We had absolutely no mobile phone coverage and were told there was a phone in the cottage. This we discovered on arrival could only take incoming calls. It would have been helpful to have known this in advance. There were no instructions how to get hot water - in fact the rental agent had to contact the owner. The timer seemed to be faulty. Directions where to find wifi router would have been helpful. The bottle shelf in the fridge was broken so when we put milk in it it fell out - would have been messy if we had the wine there first! Towel rail had a push button to turn it on but this did not work so damp towels. Downstairs was cold and damp - could benefit from a low output heater of some kind on all the time. It was thoughtfully and attractively furnished however and these few things did not detract from a pleasant stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing