We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Most Informative and Enjoyable Tour”

Port Isaac and Portwenn, Walk & Talk Guided Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“A Most Informative and Enjoyable Tour”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Walking around Port Isaac village is a treat but to do it with John Brown makes the experience exceptional.

John is a born and bred local to the village, a very likeable character who has spent most of his life in the town, knows all the locals and also most of the cast of the Doc Martin TV series.

The tours are run only once a day, beginning at 11am at the “May Contain Nuts” pastry shop on the main street in the village. John told us the tours usually have from 2 to 8 people, on ours there was about 14 but it was a nice group and as it was larger than usual John spent extra time on it taking nearly 2 hours from start to finish after which we were all given complimentary water or coffee back at the pastry shop.

John’s commentary was very informative and interesting, covering the local history to comments about the Doc Martin filming techniques and stories about the various actors and their interaction with the locals.

We walked around all the narrow streets and alleyways and learnt about all the buildings used for the TV series and many behind the scenes stories which were interesting and often funny.

Everyone on the tour seemed to enjoy the experience, though one or two struggled with the steep walks and we almost expected Doc Martin to appear with a defibrilator.

It costs 5 quid to park for the day so if you are in the area, invest another ten and front up for this one, the value is exceptional.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieWestCoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    22
    7
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

A quick tour of the location where Doc Martin is filmed and a cream tea to make the trip perfect. The people here are so friendly and really do make you feel welcome.

Helpful?
Thank monkeypoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great tour given by an interesting local resident”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The tour lasts around an hour and a half and is led by John. He grew up in Port Isaac and has been a fisherman, an extra in Doc Martin, runs a pasty shop and is one of the sea shanty singing Fisherman's Friends. He weaves his way up and down the narrow streets and alleyways of Port Isaac sharing stories of the village. If you are a Doc Martin fan he knows where the various scenes were filmed, which houses were lived in by which characters, which members of the cast were the most fun etc. If you want to know about the village history he knows about that too. If you want to go mackerel fishing his brother will take you out on his boat. He is an engaging and friendly tour leader who clearly loves Port Isaac and for £10 per person the tour is good value for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahjm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great insight into Life in the village and the TV show Doc Martin!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had an excellent tour this morning. The hour and a half was very informative, friendly and funny. John went out of his way to make us feel relaxed and at ease about having our two young children in tow. He offered information on the history of the village and individual buildings, providing an insight into how the village was in years gone by. John provided lots of interesting stories about the cast of Doc Martin and the filming process, using the local buildings and sights. We thoroughly enjoyed the time spent on this tour and recommend it to anyone who wants an insight into the village!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to spend the night in Port Isaac. Wow! What a fantastic place, we only wished we stayed longer...
We both decided to go on the Doc Martin tour. I can't recommend this enough, as you learn magical history about the port by John who has resided in the Port since he was a young boy. He also takes you around where all the scenes have been filmed in Doc Martin. Really enjoyed our stay, we will be back!!!! Tour is relaxed and funny. We loved it!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank mathew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Isaac and Portwenn, Walk & Talk Guided Tours also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
 

Been to Port Isaac and Portwenn, Walk & Talk Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing