We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Port Isaac
Post
Inbox
Search

“Cosy Pub”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking for a place to have a drink which would welcome dogs.. The Golden Lion had a sign outside saying dog friendly so thought we would give it a go! It is a lovely pub with 3 open fires.. we arrived at half 4 and most tables were reserved already but they quickly suggested a table which wasn't reserved until half 7.. allowed us to order food 15minutes early and the burger was amazing!! Great views over the harbour and great staff.. would 100% recommend

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank R5521WXdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, nice staff. We did notice locals pay a cheaper price for their drinks. Rather disappointing when you visit every day as a group for a few days. We felt looked down on as tourists.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cfmspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central to the old port village of Port Isaac, the Golden Lion offers a welcoming feel in oldie worldie furnishings. A selection of local beers and ciders and a great selection of rums for the nautical types. Full of nooks and seats to make every visit different. It also boasts an outdoor seating area that overlooks the harbour, worth a look even in the worst weather.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank lacalladine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very welcome lunch away from torrential rain. The food was very good and we loved the friendliness of the staffs.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Ariane122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch today. Had mussels and a crab sandwich. The food was delicious and was brought out quickly.
My only criticism is on 2 occasions the gentleman behind the bar took our debit cards and did the contactless payment for us. I imagine he was trying to be helpful, but he turned his back or walked away from us with our cards (once when we bought drinks and once when we ordered the food). Due to horror stories about card cloning, this made us uncomfortable as it was unnecessary.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank emzt1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Little Petherick, Padstow
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing