We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish pie”
Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Previous review made us wonder but we thought give it a try, in we went and the fish pie was great, and sea bass didn’t disappoint, staff are friendly and polite and it’s a pub serving good beer and food and nothing else.
Well worth a visit

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank U1570ARandyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We only live an hour away so come pretty regularly to Port Isaac. The Lion is usually one of our “go to places” the pub seems to be run by a bunch or kids from the Youth Hostel. Service terrible. A waitress seated us as the back of the bar, we watched while 3 X staff members gossiped and laughed behind the bar - we asked if we could see a menu, she looked at us and said “do you want me to get you one? They are just over there” and pointed to another room. We had to ask for cutlery & sauces when the food arrived.. everything seemed to be a struggle for them, If they spent less time having a laugh and a-bit more time with the customers they might notice what’s going on. Fish pie is usually awesome here, both myself and partner described it as 4 pieces of square fish (like the type you get from the freezer isle - fish pie mix) watery, lacking flavour sauce and load of mash on top. This pub needs to up its game, or has become a victim of its own success?

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank WarringtonF00D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

Elevated above Port Isaac harbour there is a wonderful outside area with great views to the Harbour Walk. Popular pub and good for drinks & dinner.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

A very big Thank You to Marc, Gary, Matt, James Alana and all of the staff at the Golden Lion for making us feel very welcome, again.
This really is the one of the best pubs in the country.
Stunning views, friendly locals, old world charm and fantastic beer!.
The food is very, very good and not expensive (by Port Isaac standards).

Absolutely first class!.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevinpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

I’ll be honest, reading that this is the only pub in the village and wIth film and TV associations we didn’t have particularly high expectations for this little gem of a place! Beer was good according to my other half, who is very particular about how the stuff is kept being in the trade. Wine was very nice indeed (my own experience). Food was lovely particularly the chips, reasonably priced and quickly served. Service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. And of course the location is totally exceptional in this beautiful village.
I decided to read some of the other reviews, any not so good ones, as I couldn’t imagine how anyone could come away with a bad word to say. All I can say following that is that all such places have a finite amount of space the fact that they have been full with no space for you is bad luck, next time get there earlier or pre book.
For me a wonderful experience and hope to repeat in the future.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank juliewL266WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Little Petherick, Padstow
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing