We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cambridge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stumbled into the pub on a Saturday evening to find it full of jovial locals who had probably been drinking most of the day. Lots of noise and joking going on but did not feel threatened in any way and the bar staff were very helpful and friendly. Was quite difficult getting a seat downstrairs but more seating upstairs with good view of the harbour. Selection of real ales from St Austell brewery on tap and a couple of local ciders. Traditional bar meals around the £10 mark (fish and chips were excellent) but more sophisticated meals (eg scallops) on the specials board around the £15-18 region. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    229
    74
    22
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had just arrived in Port Issac and was a bit early to get into our room. We had a little stroll and found ourselves in the Golden Lion. The Haddock and Chips with Pureed Peas were the Best. That evening we had a few drinks in the bar, the locals were very friendly telling us stories about the Dc.Martin filming. Highly Recommended...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An evening in Port Isaac”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff were really welcoming and helpful. The choice of food was good and we were all happy with our meals. Good value for money.
A delightful village and clearly a popular eating and drinking place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went to this pub and ate downstairs in the bar as it was a very busy night. Booking advisable if you want to eat in the upstairs restaurant. We were greeted by a friendly chap who was obviously run off his feet but nevertheless took time out to be friendly and helpful. The menu was lovely, good old fashioned food but also lots of lovely twists such as the fish pie made with local Davidstow and horseradish mash. The fish burger is to die for. A lovely soft roll lined with pea shoots, tartare sauce (good quality), fresh crushed peas and a battered piece of fish. Came with side salad and chips. Lovely service. Even the poshest restaurants still continue to clear the table of our plates when our 8 year old is still eating which is a pet hate of mine, BUT not here. They waited for all of us to finish! Food took about 10 minutes from ordering which was amazing considering how busy they were. Child and dog friendly. Prices so good compared to the restaurants in the area who take advantage of the Doc Martin/Rick Stein profit to be made.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco21SouthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fab place, great food, good service, excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Love this place, great location. What every village needs a true village pub, good honest food and excellent service ... The only problem is we just wish we could take it the 250 miles home with us! Thanks for every happy hour we've spent here!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlegem911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing