We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant weekend at the Slipway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
llangollen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend at the Slipway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

This was the second time we have had a weekend in The Lifeboat suite at The Slipway Hotel. The views are stunning, the rooms are immaculate ,the breakfasts were consistently excellent and the Staff are ever so friendly.
Certainly recommend it, and we will hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docmartin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    129
    51
    34
    20
See reviews for
54
240
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was the best time our 11 year old boys had on our entire trip to England including nights in Bristol and London

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmgcgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The hotel was full when we arrived, we were given room 14 which is outside the hotel at the rear of the lifeboat station. Nothing was said when I booked over the phone about this. It was raining while we were there but no complimentary umbrella to get to breakfast. We had a tiny velux window in the room, therefore no views at all. The furnishings were new and very smart. The bathroom looked good except the shower alternately scalded then froze me, the blind at the bathroom window was falling off the wall and the lid on the pedal bin was broken.
We found it hard to sleep due to the noise from the hotel chiller unit below and the early morning rattling of the bins. In the morning, the smell from the kitchens was unpleasant (stale fat) and wafted in through the bathroom window.
When we booked out we mentioned the issues, we were told that they knew about them but thought they had been fixed!
The hotel exterior is in need of decoration, if I hadn't already booked and paid a deposit I would not have contemplated staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smiley098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Booked a sea view room via their website for Valentine weekend, received a confirmation email. On arrival (after 4 hour drive) we were told they had no trace of our booking, they could offer us a non sea view room for £120 and would throw in a half bottle of champagne as compensation, when we asked if we could have a FULL bottle we were refused. When pushed they said they would drop the price of the room to £100, The room was tiny with no view...and with no parking was not worth the money, so we left, disappointed and inconvenienced. The lady who dealt with us was pleasant and did her best, the manager seemed uninterested.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We were married on 2 January 2010 at The Slipway Hotel. Our 39 guests travelled from far and wide and spent an idyllic few days in the sunshine of Port Isaac. Mark, the owner of The Slipway, and Jonno, his son, the manager, could not have done more to ensure that we had the perfect wedding. The ceremony in the Residents' Lounge was intimate and emotional - a wonderful setting. Jon, the chef, prepared a delicious wedding breakfast and all our guests were stunned by the quality of the food - particularly the spectacular profiterole wedding cake pyramid. So many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to - we cannot thank Mark and Jonno enough for all the effort they put into making it such a wonderful, memorable occasion. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Charles and Dominique Norman

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Stayed here just last weekend for a night, during a four day tour of Cornwall, based on the desire to see the lovely place where ITV's Doc Martin was filmed.

Really enjoyed the stay, the hotel's comforts and service, and having read previous negative reviews, felt compelled to write a review to address certain elements which seem to be an issue leading to dissatisfaction by some guests.

Firstly, the hotel has no onsite parking?... if you want harbourside or village-located accomodation in Port Isaac, you will be unlikely to get a space for overnight parking.

If youve watched Doc Martin, you will be aware that the roads in the village are very narrow, and some are just about wide enough for horses.. Port Isaac is a 17th century fishing village which has retained its charm. (in the 17th century people rode horses and 4x4s were not yet invented!). So there is one car park at the top of the village, which is a ten minute walk from the hotel itself. Not ideal if you have small children or are infirm, however the hotels website does make it clear there is no car park. You can drop off your luggage at the hotel entrance though to make things a bit easier.

Secondly, the rooms are noisy.?. As Port Isaac is in a National Trust area, installation of efficient double glazing isnt a cheap option. It can be done, but has to be within NT rulings (keeping hardwood sash windows, etc). We stayed in the middle of a raging thunderstorm which swelled the sea, and yes, being located on the harbourfront did mean we could hear the waves crashing, but found it calming in a way to be tucked up in bed inside our cosy room, and drifted soundly to sleep with no problems.

Port Isaac is hardly Ibiza, so the maximum level of noise you will encounter is maybe delivery vans dropping off supplies and the odd clatter from the kitchens. And the waves crashing to the shore, of course.

The Slipway was built in the 16th century, 1527 to be precise, and was originally used as a chandlery. Due to its age, yes the floors are somewhat uneven and creak in places, but this all adds to its charm. Dont expect huge rooms with marble bathrooms and "Notting Hill" interiors.

We stayed in Room 1, which was spacious enough for the two of us, the bathroom area was small but modern and perfectly functionable. We also had a balcony with a great view. (Refer to the pictures I have posted).

Room 1 was akin to staying in a suite, as directly outside the door to our room was a lovely sitting area with TV & DVD player, with a good selection of DVDS and books/magazines. We had this to ourselves on the night of our stay.. wonderful!

Another nice touch was bottled water and biscuits in our room, and a really comfortable bed.

We paid £120 for our room including breakfast and thought this to be reasonable value, especially taking into consideration the standard of the breakfast. My husband had an ample "Full English" breakfast, this was served (as opposed to buffet-style). I ordered the scrambled eggs with snoked salmon.. have to say the salmon was the best I have ever tasted. There was also a good selection of cereals and fruit juices to help yourself to. The breakfast set us up for a day of walking and searching out all the "Doc Martin" filming locations.

I am basing my review wholly on my stay in Room 1. Didnt get to see any of the other rooms, but if you want to stay here, go for room 1 and you shouldnt be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobyjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I recently got married in The Slipway hotel and it was just perfect. We could not find fault with anything. The owner, Mark Fobes and his team were brilliant. We had 42 guests attending for the ceremony and a sit down meal and most of them traveled down from Berkshire and Gloucestershire. All of them loved it. The food was superb, The chef, Jon, has a real passion for what he does and it really showed.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.
The Slipway Hotel and all its staff will always be very special to us for making our day happen as we wanted.
Mr & Mrs Cahill

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrscBekshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: The Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving Traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing