We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just slip inside and relax”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just slip inside and relax”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Brilliant location looking out on the harbour, so relaxing with the sounds of the sea. A room with a small balcony , beware the seagulls and their bottoms ! The rooms are small and in need of some tlc. and overpriced.We guess this is all to do with the cashing in on doc martin. The staff were so friendly and the breakfast were just what you needed to kick start your day. No parking so be ready for a walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    133
    54
    35
    21
See reviews for
56
254
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Slipway Hotel is in a superb location. We had a room with a balcony looking out to sea which was wonderful. Our room was clean and charming, and considering the age of the property, it makes good use of space! The staff were very nice and gave us plenty of warning about the England game and their late licence for the match - we didn't mind one bit! And to top it all off, we got to see some Doc Martin sights. We would advise anyone visiting to park in the main car park(s) and not attempt to drive to the hotel - the lanes are a tight squeeze - watching people drive very slowly with wing mirrors folded in is quite entertaining!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have balconies - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A group of five we booked the family room at the top of this small hotel. This is an old building so the room was quirky (slanting floors, low ceilings) but fun. Situated at the harbour right in the middle of the village. There is no parking but you can drive to the hotel to drop off luggage. The charming staff directed us to a car park at the top of the village which is free after 6 pm. The village is so small that all accommodation is in the centre of things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia_31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are huge fans of the TV show "Doc Martin" and I took my wife there on a surprise visit. She cried as we entered town and came across the "Large Restaurant" van.

First off, do not drive your car down the hill to the hotel. There is no parking and the narrow road (which is about 6 inches wider than the car) squeezes between the buildings on either side. If you have enough courage to drive all the way to the hotel, you will find that there is virtually no place to turn around, leaving you with the daunting task of reversing back up the hill, scraping the sides of the car against the buildings. Take this advice to heart...park in the public car park at the top of the hill (overlooking the ocean) as you enter town. Then wheel your bags down the hill to the hotel.

The hotel is clearly a couple of hundred years old. It is old and creaky and leaning. We stayed in a room right above the blue-and-white awning and which faced the slipway. We looked down upon Mrs Tishell's Pharmacy. For Doc Martin fans, we had died and gone to heaven!

But the furnishings in the room were FAR below the price of the room. The curtains and the mattress were of mom-and-pop motel quality, dating back maybe 30 years. The innerspring mattress lay on slats. It had a scooped appearance, a ball would have rolled from the head of the bed down to the center of mattress and then stayed there forever. We peeled the sheet off the mattress and saw that it was not old and stained; it was simply a low-budget, "student dorm room" grade mattress. I have never complained about a mattress before, but this was bad.

There was no choice but to pull the curtains, or else all the passers-by would have opined on my body as I exited the shower. The curtains were probably made by someone's nanna....in 1972!

The little bar was furnished in a blond wood and hence lacked character and warmth. We did not drink there but instead headed across the slipway to the place that has been a pub since 1715.

We enjoyed our stay. We loved being in "Port Wenn". The staff at this hotel were pleasant and helpful. Somehow, though, this tiny little place lacked some soul. I got the feeling that maybe the hotel was owned by some faceless investors in London, or Moscow.

We are sure the room price was a reflection of supply and demand, and I knew that going into it. But it was not money well spent.

Overall, the room was way overpriced, but this little village is inundated with Doc Martin fans and there is definitely a supply and demand issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel if you call it that more of a B and B rooms were like a cupboard the bathroom was even smaller, you had breakfast with the ironing board and washing basket! Food was passable but how they can charge £150.00 for one night I'll never know, we had stayed in Cornwall for the previous week and stayed in some lovely hotels cheaper being this one was the most expensive and by far the worst accommodation!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin - USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Yes, the hotel is old. Yes it has crooked walls and slopes floors. But that is what makes it so charming! The staff is wonderful and the views fantastic! It is in the center of the Doc Martin world. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill0400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First time to this area and loved it. The Slipway is a quaint little place in need of a bit of a spruce up, but that doesn't distract from the location right on the water front and the excellent staff.Any 'Doc Martin' fan needs to experience a stay.The views are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjb272003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
408 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing