We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family room”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A group of five we booked the family room at the top of this small hotel. This is an old building so the room was quirky (slanting floors, low ceilings) but fun. Situated at the harbour right in the middle of the village. There is no parking but you can drive to the hotel to drop off luggage. The charming staff directed us to a car park at the top of the village which is free after 6 pm. The village is so small that all accommodation is in the centre of things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia_31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    140
    55
    36
    22
See reviews for
57
273
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are huge fans of the TV show "Doc Martin" and I took my wife there on a surprise visit. She cried as we entered town and came across the "Large Restaurant" van.

First off, do not drive your car down the hill to the hotel. There is no parking and the narrow road (which is about 6 inches wider than the car) squeezes between the buildings on either side. If you have enough courage to drive all the way to the hotel, you will find that there is virtually no place to turn around, leaving you with the daunting task of reversing back up the hill, scraping the sides of the car against the buildings. Take this advice to heart...park in the public car park at the top of the hill (overlooking the ocean) as you enter town. Then wheel your bags down the hill to the hotel.

The hotel is clearly a couple of hundred years old. It is old and creaky and leaning. We stayed in a room right above the blue-and-white awning and which faced the slipway. We looked down upon Mrs Tishell's Pharmacy. For Doc Martin fans, we had died and gone to heaven!

But the furnishings in the room were FAR below the price of the room. The curtains and the mattress were of mom-and-pop motel quality, dating back maybe 30 years. The innerspring mattress lay on slats. It had a scooped appearance, a ball would have rolled from the head of the bed down to the center of mattress and then stayed there forever. We peeled the sheet off the mattress and saw that it was not old and stained; it was simply a low-budget, "student dorm room" grade mattress. I have never complained about a mattress before, but this was bad.

There was no choice but to pull the curtains, or else all the passers-by would have opined on my body as I exited the shower. The curtains were probably made by someone's nanna....in 1972!

The little bar was furnished in a blond wood and hence lacked character and warmth. We did not drink there but instead headed across the slipway to the place that has been a pub since 1715.

We enjoyed our stay. We loved being in "Port Wenn". The staff at this hotel were pleasant and helpful. Somehow, though, this tiny little place lacked some soul. I got the feeling that maybe the hotel was owned by some faceless investors in London, or Moscow.

We are sure the room price was a reflection of supply and demand, and I knew that going into it. But it was not money well spent.

Overall, the room was way overpriced, but this little village is inundated with Doc Martin fans and there is definitely a supply and demand issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExNeddiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel if you call it that more of a B and B rooms were like a cupboard the bathroom was even smaller, you had breakfast with the ironing board and washing basket! Food was passable but how they can charge £150.00 for one night I'll never know, we had stayed in Cornwall for the previous week and stayed in some lovely hotels cheaper being this one was the most expensive and by far the worst accommodation!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin - USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Yes, the hotel is old. Yes it has crooked walls and slopes floors. But that is what makes it so charming! The staff is wonderful and the views fantastic! It is in the center of the Doc Martin world. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill0400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

First time to this area and loved it. The Slipway is a quaint little place in need of a bit of a spruce up, but that doesn't distract from the location right on the water front and the excellent staff.Any 'Doc Martin' fan needs to experience a stay.The views are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjb272003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We went for our wedding anniversary because I adore Port Isaac. Slipway Hotel is in a stunning location right on the harbour front - unfortunately it is overpriced for the size of bedrooms (I kept kicking the end of the bed as there isn't enough space to walk around the end of the bed). The ensuite is tiny and it really does need a facelift - too numerous to mention! The staff are lovely and friendly but unfortunately I will never stay in there again - £150 per night for a tiny box room!! We didn't get a lot of sleep as the generator/extractor fan from the kitchen kept going all night. The hotel is on the market (has been for 9 months now) so hoping somebody will buy it - do a complete refurb on it but keep their current staff!!

Room Tip: Pay extra (£150 per night) and have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Paid for the suite as it was the last room available and it stood up to scrutiny, although the double bed seemed a little small in a room that cost £180. Food was okay, however, only a couple of other diners as they couldn't get any staff to work on this Saturday night, so atmosphere limited. Bar was good though. Port Isaac is very small and very steep and the car park is at the very top of the hill.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
422 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,276 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing