We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So special......”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So special......”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Slipway Hotel "ticked all the boxes" for what we were hoping to experience during our stay in Port Isaac, a quintessential Cornish fishing village, made famous as the location for the Doc Martin TV series. The village itself has an ancient, postage-stamp, rabbit-warren quaintness and this same ambience exists at The Slipway Hotel with its intriguing levels and stairways.....you really feel you are a part of the genuinely authentic scene. Room 5 was great, with its views out over the harbour. Meals were good, especially the excellent dinner menu. Staff were very obliging and friendly. A downside is the lack of car-parking adjacent to the hotel. Part of the charm of this lovely village is the absence of cars and it certainly is a plus to have cars parked well away from the heart of the village, but it would be good if it were possible to have a ticket issued for the duration of your stay to avoid the uphill climb to the public carpark on a daily basis to top-up the pay and display. The historic and 'Doc Martin' walking tour was worthwhile....we accessed little passageways and footpaths at the back of the village that you would never know were there....wonderful to think of how little has changed over the centuries and, hopefully, the possibility that nothing much will change in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merryl235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    136
    55
    36
    21
See reviews for
56
263
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

this hotel is located on the quayside and has lovely views of the harbour [rooms 1 & 2 have terraces]

the rooms are clean and airy but some people may find the bathroom small [think bijoux!]

service is charming and very welcoming. we did not eat as ate out but the breakfast was good.

there is no parking as this is Port Issac but you can drop off bags etc.

probably best to stay in May or September.

we loved it.

Room Tip: room 1 or 2 for a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Slipway Hotel was an excellent place to start and end our stay in Port Isaac, Cornwall. We did not rent a car as we wanted to explore as much of Port Isaac and it's surrounding areas as possible by walking. The Slipway is so authentic. I cannot remember the exact year, but I know that the building has been in Port Isaac since the 1500's. That kind of charm, the old beams, the wood floors, rock walls, small staircases and general ambiance was exciting and made our trip more memorable. Our room (9) was just ideal. A double bed that was very, very comfortable, small bathroom and a nice window over an adjoining street were picturesque and just right! We were also able to really enjoy watching the BBC, since were are from the USA, it was yet another point of interest and welcome perspective. Also: important for us: the wireless internet was very fast and allowed us to keep up on necessary issues at home. The cozy-ness of the entire premises adds so much flavor to your trip. It was special. The bar and restaurant have many options for time of the day (lunch, cream teas, dinner, and more) and food is fresh and delicious. Guests of the hotel enjoy a delicious breakfast daily from 8:30 until 9) It is delightful, as there are fresh fruits, juices, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms, eggs, local bacon and sausage, warm toast, jams, and more.) Also served for breakfast were several options that offer an unique experience of Cornish/British fare. Lovely. It was so pleasant to go down to breakfast and enjoy a cup of hot tea. ALL of the hotel employees are friendly, competent and simply cannot do enough to help you. All employees help each other and are exceptionally polite. From making the reservation online to checkout, the experience was seamless. I want to mention that each room is cleaned and tidied daily with a set of fresh towels too. The Slipway is centered right in the heart of the village of Port Isaac. It is right across from the harbour and all of its incredible beauty. A large variety of pubs, restaurants large and small, the best candy store in the world and shops with traditional Cornish Pasties abound. Many well-stocked gift stores with not only memorabilia of Port Isaac and Doc Martin but appealing clothing and much, much more. It is important to note that there are quite a few little streets that are hills. However, families were able to push wheelchairs up and down. Dogs are welcome and joyful! Just adds to the charm. Port Isaac was even more beautiful, charming and welcoming than I could have dreamed. Staying at the Slipway made each day even more special and memorable. Port Isaac is a must-see in Cornwall. You have to see it to believe it and immerse yourself in the village-all the winding streets, cottages, stone walls, fishermen and boats, sea birds, pubs and it's people. I will never forget it and I can't wait to come back. Thank you for a really enjoyable stay. It was our privilege to meet all of you and experience your part of the world. Thanks for sharing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the slipway hotel and we were having a great holiday ,then I had a heart attack ,no doc Martin but the staff immediately took me to the doctors at the top of the village,excellent surgery almost state of the art ,anyway they called an ambulance and had me on my way to Truro in no time ,the staff at the hotel and the doctors and staff at the surgery saved my life I would go back anytime ,food ok ,rooms what you would expect from a hotel in such a beautiful place ,thanks for everything.
Ft and wt
Ps The hotel even paid half of my taxi fare back to port issac ,they did not have to do that ,they are a credit to the village.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across Port Isaac after many trips to Cornwall lthough for what ever reason we never went to this beautiful place. We tried to get dinner at the last minute one beautiful evening and after waiting at the busy bar the girl asked another colleague who came out flapping his arms shout not more bookings were done no more bookings !

We booked then for the following night more for the view than the restaurant. The menu was good a lot of fish as you'd expect. The service from one of the waitresses was rather bit off and unwelcoming and you felt as if they didn't really want you there. The older chap on the night we ate (we assume the owner)was pleasant however he could really do with looking at his staff and how they come across.

Food was excellent in particular the crab and profiteroles with warm chocolate sauce were divine! We'd go back but we'd hope for a warmer welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Creditspree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We (Family 2+2) stayed in Room 16 above the lifeboat station overlooking the harbour. This room has 2 bedrooms a sitting room with a fridge and a large bathroom. This is a prime location in Port Isaac as it has wonderful views and is in the thick of the activity around the harbour, perfect for people watchers. The restaurant does nice food and there is a good pub and other restaurants within walking distance. The great thing is after a few drinks and a good meal you don't have to tackle the hill out of Port Isaac!!! The staff were friendly a helpful. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience

Room Tip: We only saw the family suite (Room 16) other rooms get differing reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telelynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After falling in love with Port Isaac on Doc Martin I had to visit there as it is the most charming place I have ever seen. A friend that is from Cornwall suggested we stay at the Slipway. While it is not a 5 star accommodation its character only added to our Port Isaac experience. Room #1 was clean and fresh though quite small with a double bed but enough room for a twin camping cot large enough for our 14 year old daughter. The bathroom was TINY and turning around in the shower was challenging as it was hard not to hit the water handle thus switching the water from hot to cold or visa versa. But that was OK. The view of the harbor was beautiful in spite of the striped canopy covering the outside bar area in front. Outside of our room was a common area with a TV and a door leading outside so that you didn’t have to enter or exit through the bar and restaurant. The breakfast was cooked to order and very good. We didn’t have a car so parking wasn’t an issue however, the car park is a hike... especially if you are carrying luggage. Unfortunately we didn’t have dinner there because we came in to eat at 8:31 and they said they closed at 8:30... even though the literature stated 9:00! This is the BEST location to experience Port Isaac.

Room Tip: Our friends (family of 4) stayed in Room #11... is not for tall people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
416 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing