We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet break before easter.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Newtown,Powys
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet break before easter.....”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband & I booked a very good KGB deal here for two nights 9th & 10th March.A couple of days prior to our arrival I had a telephone call to advise that scaffolding had been erected and so we would not be able to use the balcony with our room.This wasn't a problem for us,being early March.When we arrived we were booked in and shown to our room (room 1).There is no car parking available in the village and after unloading our bags my husband took the car back to the car park at the top of the village (approx 10 mins walk).I must admit this worried me a little about our visit as I am disabled ,but as it turned out it was ok as I could be picked up and dropped off outside the hotel whenever we used the car.However,when the village becomes busier during the filming and summer months I would imagine this to be pretty much impossible.
So what about the hotel...?Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely harbour view and just overlooking Mrs Tishells pharmacy.We could see the Doc's surgery and Louisa's school from the bedroom window-a bonus if you are a fan of the programme.
Breakfast was excellent-good choice of juices/freshfruit/cereals/yoghurts with a cooked selection of your choice and toast and preserves.
We dined in the restaurant on both nights.A lovely restaurant-had a nice atmosphere.I chose duck the first night and I had to ask for it to be cooked some more as it was a little too pink for my liking it.However,on the second night I ordered steak and it was perfect.My husband's choices on both nights were lovely.
The hotel staff were pleasant,friendly and helpful,and I would definately stay here again.I believe that in the height of the summer and also when filming is taking place, the village would not be as nice as it would be far too busy and packed but thats just a personal opinion-some people may prefer it that way.

Room Tip: Definately pick a sea/harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtown_PowysMrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    130
    53
    34
    20
See reviews for
54
245
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

we decided to stay overnight in the village featured in the Doc Martin series. The hotel is opposite the bay snuggled at the bottom of the hill. The hotel is rustic & homely but clean. The staff are very friendly and the food is lovely. We were the only residents in the hotel because of heavy snow in the area yet the restaurant was full with locals on the Saturday night. February was a good time to see the sights because in high summer its heaving, especially when the filming is going on. Its quirky and old fashioned but just right for the area and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a wonderful, relaxing break in Port Isaac. The Slipway hotel was excellent, nice clean room with exceptional views (room 5, fab) & even though the scaffolding was up to undertake some renovation works (which is unfortunately unavoidable) it didnt hinder our view too much. The bar was nice and bright and breakfast was very good, unfortunately we didnt get a chance to dine in the restaurant but will definitely try it next time. My only criticism is the price of the rooms are a little steep but in the same breath i think you can get away with it with the jaw dropping location, so not really a criticism just wanted to keep you on your toes, lol! & it certainly wouldnt put us off staying again. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Location dictates you MUST have a sea view. Room 5 is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Slipway Hotel. We had a nice warm, comfortable room overlooking the harbour. We found the staff very pleasant and helpfull and the food was superb. We would have no hesitation in recomending the Slipway Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Boathouse Suite was very comfortable, clean and well equipped, ideal for our family of four with views of the harbour to die for. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfast, loved the local smoked kippers. We tried the restaurant on the first evening but were somewhat disappointed: the local fresh fish was absent, perhaps the renowned chef was off that night? However, we did have an excellent break at the hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The view of the harbour is a great bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Slipway Hotel at a very difficult time due to the sad loss of 2 members of Port Isaac fisherman friends. Even at this tough time for the hotel, on arrival they made us very welcome, and took time to help us with our luggage.

The room we stayed in was room 5 at the front and had a fantastic view of the harbour & sea. The en suite was clean and very tidy. The room had everything we could ask for.

Breakfast has a large variety of fruit/yogurt/cereal/juices and the cooked breakfast covered smoked haddock/smoked salmon & scrambled egg to a full English. We had full English and it was all from local sources and tasted great.

During our stay we visited the bar and had a pint of Cornish Orchard cider which was fantastic and a glass of dry white wine. From reding earlier reviews I knew it was going to be expensive. These 2 drinks came to £9.60! This is the only down side to the hotel is the price of drinks but I won't mark them down for this as there are plenty of other places you can drink.

We had our evening meal at the hotel and it was out of this world. The steak was gorgeous and cooked perfectly. My wife's Duck was fantastic.

The staff are all warm and welcoming.

Reading this review back I haven't really left you to find anything out for yourself but I'm sure everyone's stay is different. We will be going back to this hotel and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank watts_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of Feb on a KGB deal. Thought we would end up with a tiny room at the back so was very surprised we got a great room on the 2nd floor with fantastic views of the harbour. Had a drink in the bar once we had got there and thought it was a bit too expensive £10 for a pint of Guinness & a glass of wine. Barman & staff were very friendly.
Breakfast was lovely, cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit etc to begin, followed by a huge cooked breakfast or other choices e.g salmon & omellette etc. Tea or Coffee plus toast.
The winds outside where 80miles an hour so the windows in our room where a bit worrying. The curtains were blowing at least 6 inches away from the pane and water was coming in at the middle. The en-suite was a bit small but not too bad, you just had to be very careful with the towel rail as both myself & my husband burnt ourselves when getting out of the shower. Your best bet is to leave a towel over it at all times. The shower was a bit touch and go. You are best to set it to just going onto the hot mark and leaving it for a bit as it takes a few minutes to get to the correct temperature. The tv was on the dressing table beside the bed so you couldn't sit in bed to watch it. There was only one chair so the other person had to sit sideways on the bed to watch it. Not that it bothered us really as we were out most of the time. That was the only bad points. The bed was very comfortable, the room was nicely decorated & cosy, plenty of storage space, plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, etc.
Port Isaac itself is a lovely quaint little fishing village.Very hilly so not good if you have walking difficulties. Parking is not that good. It wasn't too bad for us because of the time of year we went. We were able to park further into the village than you would if it was high season.
I would love to visit this place again and would also try to book this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had an ideal view of the harbour but the room below also had a balcony you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinywillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
469 reviews
4.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving Traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing