We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break at Slipway Hotel”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Boathouse Suite was very comfortable, clean and well equipped, ideal for our family of four with views of the harbour to die for. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Excellent breakfast, loved the local smoked kippers. We tried the restaurant on the first evening but were somewhat disappointed: the local fresh fish was absent, perhaps the renowned chef was off that night? However, we did have an excellent break at the hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The view of the harbour is a great bonus.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for The Slipway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 413 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Slipway Hotel at a very difficult time due to the sad loss of 2 members of Port Isaac fisherman friends. Even at this tough time for the hotel, on arrival they made us very welcome, and took time to help us with our luggage.

The room we stayed in was room 5 at the front and had a fantastic view of the harbour & sea. The en suite was clean and very tidy. The room had everything we could ask for.

Breakfast has a large variety of fruit/yogurt/cereal/juices and the cooked breakfast covered smoked haddock/smoked salmon & scrambled egg to a full English. We had full English and it was all from local sources and tasted great.

During our stay we visited the bar and had a pint of Cornish Orchard cider which was fantastic and a glass of dry white wine. From reding earlier reviews I knew it was going to be expensive. These 2 drinks came to £9.60! This is the only down side to the hotel is the price of drinks but I won't mark them down for this as there are plenty of other places you can drink.

We had our evening meal at the hotel and it was out of this world. The steak was gorgeous and cooked perfectly. My wife's Duck was fantastic.

The staff are all warm and welcoming.

Reading this review back I haven't really left you to find anything out for yourself but I'm sure everyone's stay is different. We will be going back to this hotel and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank watts_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of Feb on a KGB deal. Thought we would end up with a tiny room at the back so was very surprised we got a great room on the 2nd floor with fantastic views of the harbour. Had a drink in the bar once we had got there and thought it was a bit too expensive £10 for a pint of Guinness & a glass of wine. Barman & staff were very friendly.
Breakfast was lovely, cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit etc to begin, followed by a huge cooked breakfast or other choices e.g salmon & omellette etc. Tea or Coffee plus toast.
The winds outside where 80miles an hour so the windows in our room where a bit worrying. The curtains were blowing at least 6 inches away from the pane and water was coming in at the middle. The en-suite was a bit small but not too bad, you just had to be very careful with the towel rail as both myself & my husband burnt ourselves when getting out of the shower. Your best bet is to leave a towel over it at all times. The shower was a bit touch and go. You are best to set it to just going onto the hot mark and leaving it for a bit as it takes a few minutes to get to the correct temperature. The tv was on the dressing table beside the bed so you couldn't sit in bed to watch it. There was only one chair so the other person had to sit sideways on the bed to watch it. Not that it bothered us really as we were out most of the time. That was the only bad points. The bed was very comfortable, the room was nicely decorated & cosy, plenty of storage space, plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, etc.
Port Isaac itself is a lovely quaint little fishing village.Very hilly so not good if you have walking difficulties. Parking is not that good. It wasn't too bad for us because of the time of year we went. We were able to park further into the village than you would if it was high season.
I would love to visit this place again and would also try to book this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had an ideal view of the harbour but the room below also had a balcony you could...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinywillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited Slipway Hotel several times during our recent stay in Port Isaac. The staff were friendly and went the extra mile to help us when we had problems accessing our accomodation (not at this hotel) when we arrived. The bar serves good local beers and is full of friendly chatty locals. We both had local seafood for lunch - fresh and beatifully cooked with a superb bottle of wine. During a week when the Cornish weather threw everything at us, this became a home from home. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris64Aylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the food very good.
Quaint oldie worldie and full of character with its slopping floors low ceilings and beams but doesn’t rate as a £120 per room per night hotel!
The en-suite is no more than a cupboard. You sit on the toilet with your knees against the door, which doesn’t close! The basin is cracked and there is a split in the shower tray. You can’t turn around in the shower without knocking the shower control and either scalding yourself or depending which way you turn end up under a freezing blast of ice water.
Didn’t live up to our expectations!
You can see all there is to see in a day trip and it is worth the visit. There is no parking in the harbour area even for the hotel. You can stop to unload but you have to park at the top of the village and walk down. All the restaurants in the village are priced much the same £15 to £20 for the main course but veg is extra and up to £8 plus for a cheese board!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CameronMark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in December and had a lovely visit. The room, although a little small (bathroom was very small) was very clean and comfortable. Unlike other hotels I have stayed in there are ample teas, coffees, hot chocolate and milk in the room together with some toiletries. We had a harbour facing room which even in winter was still wonderful and calming. To get to your room you walk into the bar where you are greeted with a lovely smile. A key is provided so you can use the side entrance should you wish to. There was plenty of choice at breakfast so you won't go hungry. Port Isaac is a lovely little place, easy to walk around, no traffic, some nice little shops, and a good location for visiting some of the other beautiful places nearby (Tintagel, Rock). There is cheap parking at the top of the hill, two minutes walk from the hotel, so not a problem for drivers or for those with suitcases. For Doc Martin fans you will easily notice all properties used in the show. I can't wait to go back again and recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Harbour view with balcony
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanandShen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

While visiting the UK, husband and I decided to make a spontaneous trip to Port Isaac (it looks so pretty on the telly). We had made no plans and just turned up at the Slipway and they were able to provide us with a room. The room was quite small, but very comfortable, and warmed up very nicely. It is winter here, and as we are traveling from Australia, we feel the cold ... But not at the Slipway Hotel. The room, the bar and the staff were all very warm and welcoming. It was dark when we arrived, so we couldn't see much ... but were given a room with a view over the harbor, which we enjoyed very much in the morning.
We had a drink in the bar, and then dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was fantastic! And I would highly recommend it. We then retired to the bar, and found it very welcoming and friendly. It is a cosy bar and invites chatting between other guests and the bar staff. All and all, a lovely evening.
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic - it came with the cost of the room and was everything you could ask for. A lovely large pot of fresh coffee, al la carte cooked breakfast, as well as cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and juice. It set us up wonderfully for the day.
After exploring Port Isaac - which lived up to everything I had hoped for in a port town in Cornwall, we left with a cheerful farewell, and I would love to visit again. And would definitely stay at the Slipway again.

My only negative would be that there is no parking - but as it is a small port town, this was to be expected. And in a lot of ways it was good ... As there were no cars cluttering up the photos we took, giving the village an even more rustic look.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Smudge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
956 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
242 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: $95 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing