We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location great for doc martins village” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Location great for doc martins village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not really approachable by car streets so narrow you can touch both walls with your arms out, car park quite a trek fifteen mins walk up steep hill, clean rooms but no luxurys here, appear more like staying in someone's house rather than hotel, breakfast restaurant not very inspiring clean almost but just an uncomfortable experience not very friendly waitress. Slipway is actually a pub with rooms if you expect a hotel you'll be disappointed up the hill is the old school hotel that would probably be a better choice , we paid £100 last minute wouldn't be at all happy if we had paid any more

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golflady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    129
    51
    34
    20
See reviews for
54
240
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel ( actually it's more like a pub with rooms) - we stayed here a few years ago, not long after it was refurbished, and I don't think any money has been spent on the place since then - it's beginning to fray at the edges - e.g peeling paint inside and out, bathroom door that is warped - it doesn't take a lot to fix such problems.Bathroom very small but clean with good towels. Bed rather hard and needs replacing. This is a shame, because the place has character, and is uniquely positioned in the harbour. The rooms are small and the en suite is not suitable for large people. Positive points are - location (apart from the parking), friendly and helpful staff, good beer (although not a massive choice), and excellent food. If you want lobster, order it in the morning for an evening meal as it is landed locally the day before - they don't send a boat out just for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived to stay at the hotel for 3 nights which is set in a prime location right in front of the harbour slipway . We were a bit disappointed as from the outside it was very tired looking and a bit shabby. We were staying in one of the two rooms which had a balcony at the front of the hotel. The room was clean but was very basic for the price we paid. The ensuite was a disappointment, although clean I am glad we didn't bring the cat as it would be difficult to swing one in there!! There was a Y shaped crack in the wash basin and whilst using the toilet your knees nearly touched the door. Overall we feel the hotel is in need of a fresh lick of paint and general update. The paint on the patio doors leading onto the balcony was flaking off and the wood on the bottom of the door was rotten. Having said this their redeeming factors were the staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a decent selection for breakfast. Great location but you are paying for it with no more than average accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The negatives were..
Expensive we had a really poor view on to roof of awning at front of hotel, the breakfast was ok but not 4 star we were were not asked if we wanted more toast or a top of of our tea or coffee, the plates were cold, it felt like a convyer belt and no attention to our needs. For the two nights we were there was a fold up bed in the corridor which was fire hazzard.. The matress was hard I woke with back ache

The positives the check in and check out was quick and efficient, the location was very close to harbour, the staff freindly this made up for the negatives.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveshack1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a one-night stay in the beautifully-located, small hotel. The room was very basic (for the price) but compensated by the view from the small balcony. Set right at the slipway, as the name implies, the hotel is at the heart of the village. Parking is a long way from the hotel because of the narrow streets but this is part of the experience of the old Cornish village. Friendly staff at checkin and at breakfast (which itself was basic but satisfactory). Everything is close by to the hotel including the beautiful coastal walks.our rating here is more for the location than for the hotel itself.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our trip to Port Isaac was made all the more authentic by our stay at this hotel. Nestled right in the centre of this charming village, it is the epitome of the Doc Martin experience. Seeing the locals start their day early morning was like watching the set unroll. What a lovely town. The world cup added to our fun, with all the locals cheering in open beer garden below.
Take time to walk the cliff paths with a picnic, or to Port Gaverne. Too often we flit in and out of the beautiful towns in an effort to see it all. Slow down, enjoy.
Such a magnificent area.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbourfront on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Not really a hotel. More a cafe with rooms above.
Good, fair, helpful staff & a great & VERY expensive location.
Nice & clean. Very hot water.
Was on the second floor, £160 a night.
Bedroom was one double bed & two singles under the eves - tight.
Little sitting / lounge area, TIGHT
Bathroom was really small, sitting on the loo & knees against the bath.
Did not eat there as menu was too limited.
Would go again, when I win a fortune.
Pleased I've been, overpriced but you cannot take it with you.
Mind you I'll find other places to go!

Room Tip: Go for the best, we had the 2nd floor overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spero_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
4.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Property: The Slipway
Address: The Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving Traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing