We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic location”
Review of The Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Slipway
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a one-night stay in the beautifully-located, small hotel. The room was very basic (for the price) but compensated by the view from the small balcony. Set right at the slipway, as the name implies, the hotel is at the heart of the village. Parking is a long way from the hotel because of the narrow streets but this is part of the experience of the old Cornish village. Friendly staff at checkin and at breakfast (which itself was basic but satisfactory). Everything is close by to the hotel including the beautiful coastal walks.our rating here is more for the location than for the hotel itself.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 421 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our trip to Port Isaac was made all the more authentic by our stay at this hotel. Nestled right in the centre of this charming village, it is the epitome of the Doc Martin experience. Seeing the locals start their day early morning was like watching the set unroll. What a lovely town. The world cup added to our fun, with all the locals cheering in open beer garden below.
Take time to walk the cliff paths with a picnic, or to Port Gaverne. Too often we flit in and out of the beautiful towns in an effort to see it all. Slow down, enjoy.
Such a magnificent area.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbourfront on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Not really a hotel. More a cafe with rooms above.
Good, fair, helpful staff & a great & VERY expensive location.
Nice & clean. Very hot water.
Was on the second floor, £160 a night.
Bedroom was one double bed & two singles under the eves - tight.
Little sitting / lounge area, TIGHT
Bathroom was really small, sitting on the loo & knees against the bath.
Did not eat there as menu was too limited.
Would go again, when I win a fortune.
Pleased I've been, overpriced but you cannot take it with you.
Mind you I'll find other places to go!

Room Tip: Go for the best, we had the 2nd floor overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spero_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had one night's stay here recently. We have been to Port Isaac before and I found it so beautiful, I wanted to stay again. I struck lucky when booking this hotel using booking.com as it had been advertised at a £1 for one night's B&B instead of £150!!! Luckily for us, the hotel had to honour the advertised price so there is absolutely nothing I can say is wrong with this hotel!!! We had a room with balcony and en-suite overlooking the harbour. There is a lounge just outside the room which you can use if you prefer not to sit on your bed watching TV. The hotel has a side entrance up some steps for the residents to use so they don't have to enter via the pub every time which was useful. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast was lovely. We used a side street at the top of the village for our first day and then parked in the car park overnight. Try not to drive into the village as it's really hair raising!!! I definitely wouldn't have paid £150 for this hotel but the staff are lovely and welcoming even though they were probably cursing us under their breath!!! Thank you Slipway Hotel :)

Room Tip: Have a room on the first floor with balcony overlooking the quay as it's fairly modern and my pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliep010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Both my husband and myself have just returned from a weekend in port Issac and stayed at the Slipway hotel and found all staff to be very friendly and accomodating. Although the beams were rather low in the room especially as my husband is 6ft 2 ins we found the room and bedding to be clean, something which we are both fussy about. The food was excellent and location was perfect. I would definately reccomend choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Sunday, our last day staying in Cornwall ,my wife suggested to try different restaurant that closer to where we stayed and decided to pick Slipway hotel restaurant as our choice.When we arrived there we then realized that the roads in the village are really narrow just about for one car passing through,It should be one way system .but it was not,We gone passed our restaurant without finding a parking space,and had to drive up the steep hill to come back to the restaurant again,while driving up the hill .there were 2 cars coming down from the hill,they cannot reversing back up,so we had to reversing back down,Because the road is so narrow,it was very scary to reversing back,So do not drive your car through the village if your have a family car like me ,best park your car on top of the hill where parking space are provided,We arrived the restaurant more than half an hour late due to parking problems,the gentlemen at the reception was happy to see us and escorted us to our table.We ordered King Prawns,Scallops with black pudding,and deep fried Squids for starter to share,very good and tasty.Before the main course we were told that they have run out of lamb, pork, and lobsters which I was a bit of disappointed.At the end,I had Risotto,it was just right to my taste.My wife ordered Sea Beams,it was very fresh without over nor under cooked.My elder son order Crab meats on shell with salads,same fresh and tasty.The best was for my younger son who ordered the Steak which cooked perfectly that melted in his mouth.The bill came to £101.15 without Desserts and Service charge.No wines with 3 bottles of Sparking waters.Friendly staff,good atmosphere,good food and reasonable price.We definitely would go back again in future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank EAT886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

At the slipway the setting of the hotel is indeed lovely but the hotel does not match it. The whole experience of staying here was therefore expensive and underwhelming. The accommodation is very low standard. We stayed in the hotel for one night (room 3). The room was drab and cramped and the cushions and the floor were dirty. Two people cannot move around the room easily making it quite uncomfortable.
Food in the evening was good (not exceptional) and expensive for the quality. Shame that with so many good breweries in the area they only had one choice of beer. The breakfast was mediocre in size and taste.
We had expected a special experience of staying in a special hote in a special place. Port Isaac is indeed lovely, but our stay was at the hotel was poor value for money and a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,314 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slipway

Address: Harbour Front, Port Isaac PL29 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: $96 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slipway is a licensed cafe, serving traditional seaside lunches and afternoon teas. Above the cafe is a 7 bedroom Bed &Breakfast. Evening meals are served for B&B guests and a limited amount of reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slipway Hotel Port Isaac
The Slipway Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing