We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, food not up to scratch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cornish Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cornish Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice service, food not up to scratch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Visited for an afternoon meal with the family, lovely greeting and very friendly. Food wasnt that brilliant sadly. Caramelised Gamon steak was very sweet, steak pie was very tomatoey, lasagne was cold in the middle and steak was asked for medium rare and came well cooked.

Couldnt fault the service thou very welcoming

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    52
    19
    27
    24
See reviews for
58
107
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have never stayed somewhere so cold, the radiators were on but the room was freezing, so much so, that me and my husband didn't want to have a shower when we woke up as it was so cold. It also felt like the people next door were in our room as the walls are so thin I could hear everything they were saying at 05.00am!!!!! The menu they advertise on line is very misleading as no Thai menu, and this was one of the main reasons we booked. Due to the building being old you have to go out to the car park to get a reception as mobiles don't work inside. The whole place felt old and in need of a complete re-vamp. The only positive I have is that the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: If not a hot time, take your thermals
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priorino44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Isaac hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Gadger68, please clarify for me: did you really go through near identical experiences at around the same time at both The Cornish Arms, Pendoggett and The Cornish Arms, St Merryn? Or is it a case you're not bothered by the damage a report like yours can do to a business and being unsure which Cornish Arms you visited you felt comfortable applying your review to both even though one of the two has probably never had you visit?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Cornish Arms with my family during February half term. Pleasantly busy and was told we would have to wait at least half an hour for a table. We took a drink at the bar but as the hour mark approached we were all getting pretty fed up. We saw people coming in after us being seated before us. To be fair the manager did buy us a round of drinks as an apology
When we did get a table there was no burgers or steaks left. 8pm and a pub serving food runs out of burgers?
To sum my experience up. Disappointing.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Most enjoyable stay and will definitely be going back. The proprietors - Felicity and Jonney were excellent hosts (very warm and friendly). The room was very nice and light and the bed very comfortable. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere in the bar was very friendly. I would highly recommend and very much look forward to going back. Sharon and Alan

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 422Sharonlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for a couple of nights. Wow what differing standards.

Our room was fine, not outstanding but ok for the offering and price. Other rooms not so...

I can totally agree about noise issues from other reviews. Our room was used by 3 couples for a really good shower. It looks like it depends on the building your in.

Other than that the bar and evening meals were good. Our party had the breakfast but it wasn't outstanding for the price.

Overall get a room above the bar but accept the noise and room will be great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Greeted warmly on arrival, nice comfy room , easy access to most areas from hotel in 10 mins we ate a few evenings there as the chef lovely Liam was absolutely brilliant, I have a special diet, and what that man could make me to eat , he made the very best porridge I've ever had made for me , that's why I had it every morning. And his lovely son Brendon can play the piano fabulously ,very gifted
Will definitely be returning on our next visits to the area
John & Barbara from Hastings

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
2.3 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
6.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
5.8 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornish Arms

Property: The Cornish Arms
Address: Pendoggett, St Kew | Bodmin, Port Isaac PL30 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornish Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New owners, Geoff and Karen offer you a warm welcome at The Cornish Arms in Pendoggett. Being situated 3 miles from the popular fishing village of Port Isaac makes The Cornish Arms an ideal base to make your stay in Cornwall a memorable one. We offer a variety of rooms including family, triple and double that will guarantee a great night's sleep. Lunch and dinner menus are available and in the morning we offer a traditional Cornish breakfast. Our bar offers a wide range of Cornish beers, lagers and ciders plus an extensive range of gins. Our gins collection includes gins from Cornish distillery's and from across the world. Explore all that this beautiful area of Cornwall has to offer including stunning scenery and coastal walks as well as all the local attractions nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cornish Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornish Arms Hotel Port Isaac
Cornish Arms Port Isaac
The Cornish Arms Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing