We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cornish Arms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Cornish Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Cornish Arms with my family during February half term. Pleasantly busy and was told we would have to wait at least half an hour for a table. We took a drink at the bar but as the hour mark approached we were all getting pretty fed up. We saw people coming in after us being seated before us. To be fair the manager did buy us a round of drinks as an apology
When we did get a table there was no burgers or steaks left. 8pm and a pub serving food runs out of burgers?
To sum my experience up. Disappointing.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    18
    27
    23
See reviews for
57
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Most enjoyable stay and will definitely be going back. The proprietors - Felicity and Jonney were excellent hosts (very warm and friendly). The room was very nice and light and the bed very comfortable. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere in the bar was very friendly. I would highly recommend and very much look forward to going back. Sharon and Alan

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 422Sharonlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked 4 rooms for a couple of nights. Wow what differing standards.

Our room was fine, not outstanding but ok for the offering and price. Other rooms not so...

I can totally agree about noise issues from other reviews. Our room was used by 3 couples for a really good shower. It looks like it depends on the building your in.

Other than that the bar and evening meals were good. Our party had the breakfast but it wasn't outstanding for the price.

Overall get a room above the bar but accept the noise and room will be great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avatar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Greeted warmly on arrival, nice comfy room , easy access to most areas from hotel in 10 mins we ate a few evenings there as the chef lovely Liam was absolutely brilliant, I have a special diet, and what that man could make me to eat , he made the very best porridge I've ever had made for me , that's why I had it every morning. And his lovely son Brendon can play the piano fabulously ,very gifted
Will definitely be returning on our next visits to the area
John & Barbara from Hastings

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Lavington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Friendly on arrival and were helpful. The room was nice however had a tiny tv on the wall. The problem I had was that for the amount we paid for our room we were kept awake till well after 1 am on the Saturday due to the noise from the pub( constant beat of music and laughter.) I fully understand it is a pub however the noise was so loud we were unable to sleep for nearly £100 I would have expected a good, peaceful nights sleep. Then on the Sunday morning we went down for breakfast, it stated that if we wanted anything that wasn't on the menu that we wanted they would their best to custom us. My partner asked if with his breakfast he could have beans, they said that wouldn't be a problem, however I was appalled to see when his plate arrived, they had swapped beans for HALF his sausage! There was only half a sausage on his plate! We were not happy and in shock! Wouldn't go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our first time in Cornwall, the main reason for going was to see Port Isaac. We were not disappointed with the location of the Hotel, 10 mins drive away from Port Isaac, also only a short drive from Rock with access to the Ferry across to Padstow.
We only ate once at the Hotel but the food was excellent, Liam & Brendon ( Father & son chef's) also Jonney & Felicity (owners) were perfect hosts.
Our room was clean and spacious.
The only problem with the room was the fact it overlooked the smoking area.
We WILL be returning as we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having had holidays in Cornwall for the last 45 years and eaten in many pubs and resteraunts it's so refreshing to find one that actually serves food and service to be proud of.
We ( so far ) have eaten here five times now and every time have been so satisfied, excelent tasty fresh food ( do try the beef and ale pie ...fantastic )
So a big thanks to you all at the Cornish arms we will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
2.2 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
6.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cornish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornish Arms

Property: The Cornish Arms
Address: | Pendoggett, Port Isaac PL30 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cornish Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felicity and Jonney Hawkey offer you a warm and friendly Cornish welcome at the Cornish Arms in Pendoggett. Being situated near to the popular and now infamous (thanks to the television series Doc Martin) fishing village of Port Isaac makes the Cornish Arms the ideal base to make your stay in Cornwall a memorable one. Our seven comfortable and stylishly decorated rooms guarantee a great night's sleep and in the morning enjoy all the best that a traditional Cornish breakfast has to offer. We have an enviable reputation for serving fabulous homemade food which include all your traditional favourites. Explore this beautiful area of Cornwall and enjoy the stunning scenery and coastal walks as well as all the local attractions Nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cornish Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornish Arms Hotel Port Isaac
Cornish Arms Port Isaac
The Cornish Arms Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing