We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectation....”
Review of Old School Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old School Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed at the Old School in late September for 2 nights to finish off our holiday in Cornwall, to celebrate a special birthday.
As it was a special occasion, we booked the Latin room.
The room itself was satisfactory, with a spectacular view of the harbour as promised. However the overall decor and standard of the hotel was not of a high enough quality to justify the £160 per night price tag. Breakfast was satisfactory, but again not of a standard which you would expect for the price, when compared to other hotels of a similar price, ie the Drunken Duck in Ambleside and The Wensleydale Heifer in West Witton (i know these are not in Cornwall, but both in similarly lovely areas). We didn't eat in the restaurant, on the first night becasue there was a wedding party, and on the second night because of the overall sense of disappointment with lack of quality and attention to detail.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, but seems to be being a bit cheeky with its prices in view of the standard of hotel and staff (all of whom seemed to be only in their twenties).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 441 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2008

My wife and I were staying in Devon and were due to drive home on 18th October, (my wife's birthday)
As a treat, I booked a room at the Old School Hotel, as we knew Port Isaac from a previous visit last year but never stayed overnight.
The only room available was the 'mathermatics' room, which was a family room priced at £137.00 per night B&B.
The price I felt was way too much but it was only one night & was to be a special occasion.
We arrived earlier than anticipated and enquired as to what time we could have our room. Luckily, the room had not been occupied the previous night and was already serviced for us to occupy straight away.
We started to get an uncomfortable feeling about our booking when we were shown to our room via a kitchen corridoor, then out the back of the hotel & up some rather steep and rickerty wooden steps (there is another route to the room, but you have to go outside the front & walk around to the rear and up the same slippery and rickerty wooden steps to the first floor level)

When we went to the room, no lights would work in the room apart from one bedside lamp. (we complained & this was eventually rectified)
The room felt gruby to both of us and upon closer inspection, we weren't wrong!
The carpets looked worn and stained and the sofa looked even worse- sagging and in desperate need of re-newal.
There was dried vomit all down one side of the double bed and on the floor.
The matress on the double bed seemed well over-due for replacing and the pillows on the bed were even worse...
The 'view' from the room was non existant as the only windows low enough to see out of were totally covered by overgrown shrubbery outside.
We complained for a second time and requested a full refund as we were not prepared to stay a minute longer.

Although we then had to drive home that day, we felt we had had a lucky escape.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Murfie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

A friend from Porthleven and I (from America) spent one night at the Old School house in mid-September and both of us were impressed with the property and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the "English" room which was beautifully appointed, and the view was breathtaking. Hotel personnel could not have been friendlier or more accomodating. Only one small request---wish they would pay a little closer attention to the coffee pot at breakfast! We were particularly impressed with the attention to detail and the fantastic renovation on this wonderful building. Despite some of the negative reviews I've read here (which made me very nervous, as I only came across them after I'd made our booking!) I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Port Isaac.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heart_in_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngatheart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NCT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.1 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#2 of 4 in Port Isaac
442 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,356 reviews
2 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
249 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Port Isaac PL29 3RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Isaac
Price Range: $116 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old School Hotel in Port Isaac offers various accommodation from singles to family rooms, all en-suite. The hotel provides free wireless internet access and offers hotel residents free onsite car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old School
Old School Port Isaac
Old School Hotel Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing