We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Penrose B & B Port Isaac... Spot on !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penrose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penrose
Ranked #9 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penrose B & B Port Isaac... Spot on !”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Penrose bed and breakfast, from the 31st of october 2012, for 3 nights for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We were welcomed straight away by Ed and Sean and little Griff, we were treated to fresh milk and shown to our room which was perfect, large and clean with a bathroom, we slept soundly in luxury. The Full English that was served for breakfast was fantastic. They were very informative about the area and about the best places to visit while there. We felt very welcomed and at ease when staying with them, and would recommend staying here when visiting Port Isaac.

thank you Ed and Sean for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Botany, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My sister and I spent two nights at Penrose B&B, Port Isaac in a twin room. The room was large, clean and comfortable and private with an ensuite. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming. On arrival we were given a jug of 'fresh' milk (not those horrible little long life things you get in hotels). Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order by our charming hostess. We were given loads of information on what to do and see which was really helpful. Port Isaac itself is picturesque and a must see. We were lucky enough to see the Fisherman’s Friends perform on the beach which was a highlight. We even saw a couple of mermaids swimming in the bay! I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Port Isaac and would recommend Penrose B&B as an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ed and his wife Sian's home is beautiful and the perfect base to explore and enjoy Port Isaac and its stunning surroundings and to walk along the Coast Path. Ed is most helpful and the best Port Isaac tourist guide and restaurant critic you will ever find. Their dog Grif made my day when he decided I was worth one of his treats. Make sure with stay at Penrose when you are in Port Isaac next!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We walked in off the street just as it started to rain (!) and we were welcomed by Grif, the dog, as though we were long lost friends! My daughter and I had a wonderful 3-day stay and Ed was extremely helpful as we didn't have a car. He was an excellent guide and seemed to know everyone and everything. Sian produced the most wonderful breakfasts complete with homemade breads and local produced sausages (a wondrous thing to us Americans) and we set off each day stuffed to the gills.

We would recommend this B & B to anyone who is traveling along the northern Cornish coastline. Anne and Melissa, Florida

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a shower so if this is important to you, make sure you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limeywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I have been travelling bit by bit around the southern coast of England. Penrose B+ B in our opinion is the best B+B we have stayed in to date.

Penrose is owned and run by Big Ed who is also a very talented musician and his equally talented wife Sian, who is a local artist. Some of Sian’s work is being auctioned to raise funds for the extremely worthwhile cause, The RNLI.

We found it a warm and welcoming stay from start to finish. We stayed for a weekend break Fri/Sat 27/28 April 2012 to look around the idyllic Port, Port Isaac or Port Wenn to those of us who like/follow our wonderful Martin Clunes and crew in Doc Martin. The B+ B is perfectly situated to explore P.Issac with fantastic views from the superb room, decorated to a high standard. In our room, there is a balcony where in summer evenings you can sit and chill overlooking the sea view. Perfection for us!

There is a lovely restaurant/pub dining place a short drive-3 mins or approx 15-20 min walk downhill to Port Gaverne Hotel http://www.port-gaverne-hotel.co.uk/ where you will find a 10/10 warm welcome. We ate there Friday night in the bar, great bar food with cosy fire and warm friendly locals. On the Saturday evening, we returned and tried the main restaurant. Again excellent dining with very friendly staff. You can't go wrong eating either side.

Penrose left Lorraine and I with many fond memories and one very special memory courtesy of Ed and his Fordson Major tractor. Something I will treasure always. Thank you Ed and Sian for a wonderful time.

Penrose B+B…11/10.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnyfreddie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hubby booked us here for an anniversary weekend and what a good find. The Penrose is lovely and clean, just at the top of the village. Our room had a gorgeous view, the breakfast choices were wide and the cooking phenomenal. And Ted was kind enough to drop hubby and I off at a place or two (as there were some, ahem, planning shortfalls on our part ;) We even liked their cute as a button dog. We would happily stay hare again.

(Note: there is not actually a pool, but I seem to have clicked it by accident and TA won't undo it!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptesinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I/we have always wanted to visit Port Isaac and decided to do this in Nov. Eddie and Sian were good hosts and kindly let us park on their drive way past checking out time when we wanted to go into the main town to have a roam around. If I/we ever return to PI again we will certainly try and stay here again. Chris and Maria

Room Tip: Comfrotable room nice dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.2 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.2 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
469 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose

Property: Penrose
Address: Penrose New Road | Port Isaac, Port Isaac PL29 3SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious B&B 150 yds from the harbour with stunning views in a newly built home with ample parking. All rooms are en-suite and some have stunning panoramic coastal views. Food is excellent- bread cooked daily fresh ground coffee etc and all local produce where available traditional continental or vegetarian. Double rooms have king size beds and tea coffee biscuits etc and all rooms are serviced daily. Laundry facilities. Secure bike storage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penrose Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing