We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay in Port Isaac”
Review of Orion House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orion House B&B
Ranked #8 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Stay in Port Isaac”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We are great fans of the TV show, Doc Martin, and wanted to see Port Isaac (aka Portwenn) in real life due to the beauty of the scenes on TV. Port Isaac far exceeded our expectations in it's charm and beauty! It is a fairytale village next to the blue green sea. Lobster and crab are the local catch and we enjoyed both! And to top it off, we stayed in a lovely B&B not far from the Doc's Surgery, in fact, it could be seen from our room. The room is large and the bed is comfortable. The bath is very nice. There is even a patio outside of the front door that has views of the village and the sea. Everything was clean and it was very quiet. We could easily walk to the village and the bay from the B&B. Jill fixed us a delicious English breakfast. She also provided info about the village. We highly recommend this comfortable lodging when visiting Port Isaac. We plan to stay with Jill on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BedandBreakfastFan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran Wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just arrived back after great weekend in Port Isaac. Our stay in Orion House could not have been better. John and Jill were great hosts, full of chat, information and great cooks. We had a lovely warm en suite room with great views, own entrance and parking (which is a huge plus in a small Cornish fishing village). All facilities were very clean and in pristine condition. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel relaxed and at home, everything a good BB should be. Port Isaac itself has great pubs, restaurants and shops. It is in an area of outstanding beauty with walks to suit everyone. There are great places to visit by car nearby but if keen walkers you could leave the car parked up for the duration of your stay. We had a great stay in Cornwall made all the more enjoyable by John, Jill and the comforts of their Guest House. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adventure18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Orion House for a long weekend in April 2013. The room was perfect - clean and bright with a lovely view down to the sea. Breakfasts were delicious and more than plentiful and John and Jill chatted to us about the area and themselves whilst cooking, it was really lovely and friendly. A great base for exploring Port Isaac and Cornwall and a very welcoming homely B&B. We would love to visit again one day! Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liztopher500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spacious clean, and welcoming. Definitely recommend. Friendly, great breakfast, nothing too much trouble.
Helpful with recommendations for the area. Views are excellent, short stroll down to the harbour. Will visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcherry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this B & B several times now. We found it by accident and now always go back when we visit Cornwall. Jill makes us feel very welcome and that nothing is too much trouble. The rooms and en-suites are always immaculate with lots of little touches. The breakfasts are always fabulous. It is a really easy walk to local pubs and restaurants. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Our room was just lovely, fresh, clean and with beautiful views. Had the weather been better there is also a balcony to sit out on which would have been nice. Breakfast was just lovely and John and Jill were very welcoming. Would recommend it to anybody. John is a member of the Fisherman's Friends group and we watched/listened to them down at the slipway - a must for any visitor - Friday nights.

Room Tip: I believe there are only two rooms to rent out - ours was at the front of the house and had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

John and Jill are great hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there , we asked at the bakery about accommodation and 'the bush telegraph' went into 'overdrive' the girls there were fantastic . Had a great night at the local pub and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay. We had a lovely breakfast and enjoyed being in very homely B&B right down to their lovely old dog
Bob And Sue Queensland Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.1 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
1.9 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
504 reviews
4.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion House B&B

Property: Orion House B&B
Address: 11 Trewetha Lane | Port Isaac, Port Isaac PL29 3RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Orion House B&B Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing