We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outlaw's Fish Kitchen

Outlaw's Fish Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
newport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Liked!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Been going to the Harbour as it was known for a while. Previously it was also very nice but expensive. And now with the Nathan Outlaw name attached its nice but not quite so expensive. Different experience with tapas style menu. Never going to over fill you but its a pleasant experience that will satisfy most tastes. Thumbs up for me as we had the £35 per person taster. Only issue was the £40 for a bottle of Presseco. Come on Nathan £25 would be more than enough!!!!!
For that your getting a rating discount. Wine list too expensive for what you get in most places!!!

Helpful?
Thank gmjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    95
    45
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EAT BEFORE YOU GO”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's a small, small, world at Nathan Outlaw's Fish Kitchen.
A forensic scientist would not have been able to trace the salmon on my dish.
Yes, of course the service and presentation are excellent but it felt like the menu had been designed by an accountant minimising costs and maximising profits.
I felt like I was in a production of The King's New Clothes where no one actually wanted to say "There isn't any food."
When it comes to value for money I guess the clue is in the name!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Houndog200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I couldn't wait to try this restaurant but the portion size tapas style dishes were minuscule. It is overrated and pretentious. Even Victoria Beckham would have left feeling starving!
Chefs need to wise up to the fact, imaginative flavours and awesome presentation does not substitute your customers leaving hungry.
Stick to Rick Steins Seafood Restaurant.
Nathan should visit the Porthminster beach cafe and learn a valuable lesson in keeping customers happy and remaining loyal foodies

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lamaload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirmione
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Birthday treat for my wife whilst we were in Cornwall, worth the walk down to the picturesque fishing village. Great small dishes to choose from but gave in hot the tasting menu, good choice, a great selection of dishes which gave us a good overall experience of the kitchens ability, simplicity and quality ingredients.
A really good evening and great background music, good job I like the Blues!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking for the adventurous foodie!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The online booking process was a complete pain as it kept offering us times then saying they were no longer available. If I hadn't been so determined, I would have given up, but we were so glad didn't. The food was absolutely delicious!!! We went with the £25 per head meal - part way between tasting menu and Tapas, so a range of small plates of gorgeousness keep coming at you. Our teenage boys tried everything, we were full, happy and felt we'd had a great family experience at the end. Negative reviewers must be by fussy eaters not adventurous foodies. If the menu was only offered as a light tasting menu these people wouldn't go. Considering other reviews we think the menu should be presented as a £25 per head light tasting menu and a £40 luxury one with oysters/lobster. Currently the menu of individual dishes is misleading. Outlaws offers something special and unusual which is why it is about £35 per head plus drinks but it is worth it!!! You would pay double for this sort of food in a city!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Framily67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw's Fish Kitchen also viewed

 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to Outlaw's Fish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing