We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Women staff were rude”
Review of The Mote

The Mote
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fresh, local, simple. Good Food.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to have lunch today with my husband and I was obviously the butt of some private joke between the ladies that were on the till at this restaurant. They made me feel very uncomfortable and I wouldn't go there again. The food was ok and the setting beautiful

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank hatters38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caeron, Owner at The Mote, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sincerely sorry you felt this way but as the proprietress I can assure you that each and everyone of the ladies that work for me are the most polite, hardworking and delightful bunch I’ve ever had the privilege of working along side. Kind regards the Mote team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for lunch. Fairly pricey, which I don't mind if its value for money but when the service is poor such as bringing the drinks over with distinct gaps in between, forgetting to bring a spoon with the coffee, then serving up a faulty coke, no syrup in but it clearly looked wrong as soon as she out it on the table then I grumble. Food was ok, I had a crab sandwich but it looked like a specified weight had to be spread out as a corporate place would serve up rather than the quality, privately owned place I prefer to use. There were 5 of us and the consensus was it was "alright"

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmattdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love everything about this lovely, quaint restaurant. We chose two crab Rarebits from the special menu. Incredible. You will
Never be disappointed eating here. Staff are happy and full of smiles. Unlike some of their other rivals in the village

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank WarringtonF00D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had take away fish and chips from here, as well as several coffees, hot chocolats and a wonderful last minute Cornish gin and tonic. Perfect position. Great staff. Fish and chips were perfection.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank margjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best place in port Issac food staff and beer what more could you want and the love our spanial and douge de Bordeaux sit outside on a hot day

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Happydays1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mote also viewed

 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing