We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively pub, decent food, lousy service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mote

The Mote
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Port Isaac
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh, local, simple. Good Food.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lively pub, decent food, lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

They were out of my first two dinner choices at an 8pm seating, but my third choice was quite good. Service was nonexistent. I won't go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasl0nimne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    252
    70
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best capuccino ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Called in for coffee during a brief visit to Port Isaac and both my wife and sister thought it was the best capuccino they had ever tasted.
Unexpectedly stayed in PI a bit longer as they were filming Doc Martin so called back at The Mote for lunch which again was excellent.
Would drfinitely recommend and will g back if we are ever that way again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Perfect Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We prebooked the Mote in Port Isaac as it gets very busy in the evening for our recent trip to Cornwall.The welcome was a warm one and the service was very attentive by all the girls there.The meals all four of our party had were first rate,cooked to perfection and so full of flavour and the desserts were wonderful.A first class evening was had by all of us and we even saw Bert Large in there which was a bonus for everybody so I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smilerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a nice restaraunt with a few nice surprises on the menu.
Very limited vegetarian dishes as you would expect being in a fishing port!
Very pricey for what you get, however, the food is excellent and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited port isaac in April 2013 and had dinner in The Mote. Fish was second to none. I can thoroughly recommend the honeycomb layer cake for pudding, it's like nothing I've ever tasted!! Lovely atmosphere and to be able sit outside under a blanket when it gets chilly looking out to that stunning view was fantastic. Will definately be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenks3665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mote also viewed

 
Port Isaac, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing