We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay at in Port Isaac in Cornwall !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hathaway Guest House
Ranked #7 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay at in Port Isaac in Cornwall !”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely place in Port Isaac in Cornwall. Typical guest house (ie bed and breakfast) and the place and rooms were immaculately clean. A hearty breakfast was also included! The location is excellent especially if you are a Doc Martin fan as we are - they were actually filming when we were there! The walking path (with a lovely view of Port Isaac) along the cliffs runs by the front door.
We drove to various towns/villages in Cornwall and Port Isaac was by far the loveliest!

Room Tip: If you are driving YOU MUST HAVE a small car to get through a small opening between 2 houses at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautiful place to be in Port Isacc. Very nice host family. Breakfast was lovely each morning. Great to be right at the top of the bluffs. A trail up out onto the bluffs is next to the hotel. Lots of parking at the hotel (if you can fit through the narrow openning down at the bottom of the street). I wasn't the only person staying that weekend who had left some rental car paint on the building at the bottom of the street. :-)

The room we had was very nice and comfortable.

Nothing like walking past Doc Martin's "office", down to the "Moat" and having tea & warm scones on a rainy day.

Room Tip: Room 2, harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Arrived in Port Isaac on a whim and spotted this B&B from across the Pt Isaac Harbour. (It's a bit hard to miss with the giant BB sign hanging on its outside wall!) Despite misgivings about driving the narrow (NARROW) lanes around the harbour and especially up the hill to the B&B, I "felt the fear and gave it pepper"... It's proof that crossing comfort zones work because I loved this place - the view, the hostess Marion was lovely, and the beds were comfy enough. The only "sad face" moment was when the heating was turned off overnight and I was so cold I couldn't even get out of bed to search for extra blankets. This is perhaps due to me being Australian and not used to such biting cold weather? Anyway, I'd stay here again, for sure!

Room Tip: If you're a "cold" person ask for the heating to be left on overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaRevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending 4 nights at the Hathaway Guest House recently. Our stay was quite enjoyable and I would highly recommend the Hathaway. We booked room 2, which has a great view of the harbor. The room was very comfortable and clean. The en-suite bathroom (toilet and shower) was small, but more than adequate for our needs. Breakfast was served at 9:00 a.m. and was "full English" along with available breakfast cereals and yogurt. Marion Andrews, the B&B owner, was quite accommodating to deviations from the standard "full English" for those who might have a smaller appetite or preferred their eggs poached rather than fried. Driving in England in general is a bit of a challenge for an American, but the width of the roads in Cornwall and especially in small villages like Port Isaac elevate it from a challenge to a major adventure. Overall, we had a great time and would book at the Hathaway again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the harbor. I believe that these are rooms 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've just come back to London from staying in the magical Port Isaac for the weekend with my parents. We stayed at the Hathaway bed and breakfast and cannot recommend it highly enough. A gorgeous Victorian house, the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming and our room (1) had the very best view. Indeed, you probably couldn't find a better view of the village, beach and sea than at Hathaway anyway. Our host was so thoughtful and accommodating - we felt right at home. Also, the breakfast was very yummy. If you're planning a trip to this lovely village, you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaswa7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We saw this guest house whilst visiting Port Isaac for the day and it looked stunning. The house and the views were exceptional and we decided to stop for a cream tea.
The menu was basic, only offering Cream Tea, Tea, Coffee and cold refreshments. Given the simplicity of the menu you would think the cream tea would be wonderful but unfortunately not.
It was satisfactory, the scone was cold and quite flat, the jam from a standard jar and the clotted cream was very hard from being in the fridge. It is a shame that having such a beautiful house and wonderful setting they can't be bothered to make their cream tea match it's surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spectacular views and accommodation in Port Isaac isn't cheap, thanks to Doc Martin. But the bedroom and the bathroom were at least two years behind a much needed renovation. Shower head full of grime. Everything felt a bit dated. Breakfast was too average for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hathaway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hathaway Guest House

Property: Hathaway Guest House
Address: Roscarrock Hill, Port Isaac PL29 3RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hathaway Guest House Hotel Port Isaac
Hathaway Guest House Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing