We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View of Doc Martin village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Isaac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hathaway Guest House
Ranked #7 of 12 Port Isaac B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful View of Doc Martin village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Hathaway Guest House is a quaint, picturesque place to stay in Port Isaac. The view from the sea facing rooms is beautiful and peaceful, allowing you to lie on your bed and listen to the sea and gulls, overlooking the beautiful Port Isaac. The hotel is one of the few in the village that has parking facilities but be careful accessing the car park if you are a nervous driver or have a large car, as you have to turn into a very tight bend, drive past public toilets where people walk out straight in front of your car and up a very narrow hill (past Doc Martins house) to the car park.

The rooms are basic but very very clean and cleaned daily and have tea, coffee, hot chocolate & biscuits as well as a TV. I found the bed to be too hard, but others may not have a bad back so may be unaffected. We apparently had the best room on the front of the house which sleeps 3.

There is no negotiation on the cooked breakfast served at 9am on the dot (we did push the time to 9.10 but daren't go any later). The eggs are freshly laid each morning. Marion and Nigel are a lovely couple and serve cream teas on nice afternoons in the front garden but as we went out we didn't try these. They can also update you on what it is like to live in Port Isaac when the filming for Doc Martin is happening (normally 3 months April - June).

Port Isaac itself is overpriced and you will get better value for money from walking to Port Gaverne for your evening meals (1 mile up a large hill but great sea view). Book early if you want to eat in a restaurant in Port Isaac as during busy periods we found they were all fully booked. The Fishermans Friends performed every Friday night this summer, on the beach, which was great entertainment. They just ask for a donation to charity. If you want to have a seat to watch them, grab a seat on the balcony of one of the pubs - very very early (approx 4pm). The Port Gaverne hotel food is exceptional, no need to book and very good value.

I would definitely stay at the Hathaway hotel again as looking out your window is one of the best sights you will see of a beautiful cornish bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracynics_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This Guest House/B&Bl was recommended to us by some people while we were staying in London, so decided to stay a night here. It's not an easy place to find as it's up a very narrow steep road, but once there the view from the clifftop is stunning. We found Port Isaac a bit dearer than some of the other coastal villages in England. Our room was OK, but the bathroom/toilet was tiny, looked like it had been built in a cupboard. We enjoyed our stay here, but the room was at the top of our price range

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed two nights and found Marion to be extremely helpful, cheery and friendly. However, the room was basic to say the least, and reminded me of a hotel room set in the 1950's. if you stay here, make sure you bring your own hairdryer,
Kleenex tissues, soap and face washer and don't expect fresh towels daily. The "en suite" was more like a corner cupboard. The cooked breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are the only sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendychivas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

My mother, sister and I stayed at Hathaway earlier this year. We had a triple room, which was pleasant, but the bathroom, is basically the size of a cupboard, and the room itself quite small, so we felt a bit cramped. The views from the bedroom were wonderful, overlooking the harbour and township. Breakfast was fine, but we did find Marion to be a bit "prickly", whereas her husband Nigel, was extremely obliging and helpful. Overall, though, it was a very nice place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwmbran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Wonderful location in a beautiful fishing village where Doc Martin and Saving Grace were filmed. The guest house is run primarily by Marion Andrews who is like a female Basil Fawlty in that " breakfast is at 9a.m" not between 8 and 9,everyone is served a full english breakfast which is cooked en mass regardless of whether they are veggie,caeliac etc, if you decide not to have breakfast( 5 full english is a lot of stodge) you are huffed at and god forbid if you ask for anything different, she will comply but with a comment such as "I WILL HAVE TO GET MORE EGGS NOW" when asked for scrambled not fried eggs. Also towel changing is not forthcoming same towels for 5 days.
Otherwise nice room beautiful location, friendly village. Must see

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairy55Cwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Hathaway guesthouse must have the best views of Port isaac town and harbour as it is high on the hill overlooking the town. There is parking available but be warned you have to drive down into the town through the narrow, winding streets in order to get to Hathaway. If you do not want to do this then park in the council park on the outskirts of the town and walk down. The information on the guesthouse does not warn of the need to drive into the town. The owners were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were great but unlike most b&bs there was no lounge for the guests. This meant that you had to stay in your room or sit on the terrace, weather permitting. If you stay in the attic room which looks out over the harbour then you have a washbasin but your bathroom is on the floor below which is a bit of a disadvantage. You also need to watch for the roof beams as I had trouble and I am only 5'2'' tall. I loved my stay in Port Isaac and at Hathaway but feel it necessary to write of the above points as a forewarning to any future guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoeLoveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

we had the double room in the loft . The view fom the window seat was just magical. the room was quite small (which the proprieters had pointed out to us) but it had every thing you needed. Along the same landing our son 16 had a small bunk bed room ideal for older children as long as they get on in small places, it was so cute. There was no ensuite but we were allocated our own bathroom on the 1st floor which was massive. Breakfast was very enjoyable, so to the cream teas that they serve at certain times.Lovely walks from the B&B both ways. A most pleasant two night stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Isaac
0.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
2.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
6.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hathaway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hathaway Guest House

Property: Hathaway Guest House
Address: Roscarrock Hill, Port Isaac PL29 3RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Isaac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Port Isaac
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hathaway Guest House Hotel Port Isaac
Hathaway Guest House Port Isaac, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing