We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good but not perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wayside Cottage

Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
A very comfortable lounge in Wayside Cottage
A very comfortable lounge in Wayside Cottage
A very comfortable lounge in Wayside Cottage
double bedroom
Shower Room
Outside Decking Area
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Marcelle...
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed over the festival and enjoyed it immensley, the cottage itself is situated up Tennant Hill so I would advise that is is NOT suitable for anyone with disabilities or has problems with steep inclines. We called it Cardiac Hill. The cottage itself is set over 3 floors with sttep stairs but is well equiped for all your needs. The one thing that lets this place down is the ouside patio, its NOTHING like the photo so please dont be fooled. The furniture is old and falling apart and the patio itself is filthy and has not been cleaned in months, dirt is ingrained in the slats and wed are all over the sides, this needs addressing ASAP. Overall we enjoyed our stay but next time will stay more central without the mountain climb to home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for your valued feedback on your recent stay in Wayside, I would like to clarify for future guests that the cottage is located on Talland Hill and approx. 100 yards from the bottom of the hill. The comments on the patio area have been noted and the owner is going to check the condition on the patio furniture of which there are two spare chairs in the cottage also. The patio was cleaned and weeded a week before your stay as the owner themselves stayed there so they are rather surprised you found it in the condition you describe. They have instructed the house manager to be more vigilant with regards to this area in future. We hope we can welcome you back to Polperro again and if you would rather stay in a cottage on the harbour we do have plenty of cottages to choose from.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable excellently equipped cottage.”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Located on Talland hill at the lower end and has the advantage of being able to park outside while you unload the car, which is a bonus in Polperro. The owner provides a parking permit for your stay which saves a small fortune as the only car park is rather expensive.
The property is arranged over 3 floors and is very tastefully and comfortably equipped. What's really interesting is the living room is on the top floor and has a terrace adjacent to it as it is built into a hill. It even has a glimpse of the harbour and the sea from there.
Everything you need is supplied and it's very clean and comfortable.
Before writing this I read previous reviews and a couple of them mentioned a damp smell, we didn't find this and we stayed during a cold wet spell and the house was warm and dry and the heat on when you need it.
Polperro is such a lovely fishing village with so much going on and great pubs and restaurants and friendly locals. Great walks from your doorstep!
This is our 3rd stay here and are looking forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knitwit20...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully decorated and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed very pleasant short stay in a charming well appointed cottage in a wonderful area. Lots of fantastic walks and places to eat. Short hop to Looe with great scenery. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and quaint in a gorgeous village”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

"My partner and I recently stayed at Wayside Cottage and had a very pleasant few days exploring this gorgeous area of Cornwall. There are excellent coastal walks on the doorstep and good pubs just a few minutes from the cottage which considering we stayed in January, were busy and welcoming. We found the cottage to be cosy, clean and one of the best equipped places we have stayed in. All in all we had a lovely stay at Wayside Cottage in this gorgeous corner of the country. We would recommend Wayside and Polperro itself without hesitation and now have a particular soft spot for the place!"

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kira8582
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pros and cons...”
Reviewed February 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Sept 2016 but I've only just got round to writing a review... I was prompted mainly as I saw another review which mentions damp & the owner/agent had replied saying no one had ever reported damp before.
Well, we definitely smelt damp, and no we didn't report it! Why not? Because we didn't see what could be done about it, so felt there was little point! The bathroom is built into the middle of house under the stairs & although it has an extractor fan out under the decking of garden it has no other window or ventilation.
The kitchen is road level at the front, but kind of built into the hillside at the back / side, so again - it's "geography" that's making it damp - much like it would a cellar. It's no fault of the home owner and I really don't know what the solution would be, hence we never mentioned it, as what can be done? However it did affect our stay & has meant we wouldn't book that property again, so in the interest of a fair review I'm writing this. I expect in warm dry summer months it would be no problem.

We also found it was nigh on impossible to get towels dry too (especially if weather not nice enough to hang outside). They simply will not dry in the bathroom, even with extractor going... the only option is to hang out on airer in lounge during day (since kitchen is also quite damp, so no point hanging down there!). We actually ended up doing a wash in the middle of the week because the towels smelt so fusty as we'd been using them a few days & they'd never got 100% dry. One thing that could help is spare / extra towels provided.

On a more positive note: the property IS lovely, well decorated & clean. Very well equipped - we ate in a couple of nights & had everything we needed to prepare a meal. The location was fine for us, yes it is on a steep hill but it is very close to shops and harbour etc, so no bother & as we expected.

Polperro itself very friendly, with some great cliff walks & excellent pubs and restaurants. On the whole it was the peaceful fishing village we expected, however we were unlucky enough to have a large group of friends staying in the property opposite who were very noisy a couple of nights, and another in the large property behind / above who felt the need to sit outside drinking & play Eva Cassidy (?!) on repeat at FULL volume til 2am on one night/morning!

This for us kind of ruined our Polperro trip - We are only early 30's and not old fogeys (!), but we work hard & value our rare time off on holiday to rest & relax, which includes a peaceful night's sleep! Due to this we probably wouldn't stay again, however I do genuinely believe we were just unlucky that week and I guess could've experienced it anywhere - we just didn't expect to encounter it in a quiet Cornish fishing village!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donloveri...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Winter retreat - or any other time of year!”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Title of review - "Perfect winter retreat"

A delightful cottage, beautifully and tastefully presented. Wayside is a really cosy cottage and has everything needed for a perfect holiday. We love the location of the cottage as it was so close to the harbour, shops and pubs, yet just out of the way enough for a very peaceful stay. We definitely recommend the cream teas at the cafe by the museum - such a nice surprise that they were open this time of year. The Blue Peter Inn was so welcoming and friendly.
Fun to see the Christmas light switch on and to see such a huge turn out for a small village. Loads of Christmas gifts from the little shops in the village too. Polperro is now our fave place in Cornwall and we are already planning our return for next year!" Great that we can bring our dog too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate W
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring beautiful Polperro”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay in Wayside Cottage. The cottage is so well equipped and is a really clean and comfortable place to stay in our favourite village. Such a great location - quiet, but only a couple of minutes walk to the shops and harbour. The Blue Peter is a fab pub - such a great atmosphere. Fantastic coastal walks from the doorstep - our dog loved it too. We will definitely return - in the summer, so we can make more use of the lovely terrace!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home at the end of the week!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing