We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, bright, well equipped, traditional Cornish...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wayside Cottage

Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen/Diner, well equipped inc. dishwasher and washing machine
A very comfortable lounge in Wayside Cottage
A very comfortable lounge in Wayside Cottage
A very comfortable lounge in Wayside Cottage
double bedroom
double bedroom
Shower Room
Outside Decking Area
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
Wayside Cottage is located in picturesque Polperro & just 3 mins walk from the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Culture50...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, bright, well equipped, traditional Cornish cottage”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Exceptionally clean comfortable cottage in the heart of beautiful Polperro.Everything you need for a quiet relaxing break in a well cared for cottage.Brilliant Blue Peter and loads of lovely walks to keep you fit right on your doorstep.Well stocked shop just 5 minutes down the hill. This is the second time that we have stayed in this cottage .First time was a wet stormy week in March so we were really grateful to return to lovely welcoming Wayside.
The complimentary cream tea when we arrived was a real treat.We will definitely be back.thankyou!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in an unspoilt cottage in an unspoilt location.
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience at Wayside Cottage, Polperro. We look forward to you returning soon and thanks again for your lovely feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint, very clean but a few difficulties with its description”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The positives - This is a Lovely quaint cottage in Polperro, on arrival very clean with all of the items needed to make a comfortable stay. Lovely décor, very in keeping with the area. The managing agent very efficient and helpful and even supplied info on things to do.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the village is lovely but we really felt the description of this property was missing important detail, when searching google for a last minute deal this appeared in google as being listed on ebay, the ebay listing was brief description but it is important before booking that you read all of the details and that you look at the website for the letting agent as details are missing from the literature and on the ebay listing.

For information purposes - The property is on a very big hill called Talland Hill which is one way only (recommend you view on Google Maps satellite before booking) at least 20-25% gradient, it is half way up so quite a climb, the car park is 3/4 mile from the property, a long walk each way if you are planning on going site seeing in day and out for meals at night!! including climbing back up the hill each time. You block the very slim road whilst you unload the car and it is a 1.5 mile round trip in the car to circle back round and drive by again.

When it has been raining it can smell of damp in the cottage it would really benefit from central heating but the convecter heating installed does work well and clears any smell once it has been going for 15 minutes. The toilet is situated under a sloping ceiling below the stair well to the 3rd floor in a tiny bathroom and can be awkward to use especially at night.
There is a big cupboard on the landing housing only a washing machine, this would make a much better separate toilet.

Overall we enjoyed our break the village is beautiful, the pub The Crumplehorn inn serves wonderful pub food with huge portions, nice cafes and shops and with Looe not far away a great place. If we were to return to Polperro I would book a cottage without a hill and the long walk to the car park but that is personal choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy living room when it was warm.
Liked least: The distance to the car park and the difficulty with unloading
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2016
Thank you for your feedback on Wayside Cottage. Just to clarify matters for future guests........the owner WAS listing unsold breaks on eBay......they are no longer. This resulted in the confusion regarding the description. Now to the location.........the cottage is 0.5 mile from the car park and ONLY 100 YARDS UP TALLAND HILL.......as the agent we offer detailed arrival instructions to make arrival and unloading etc as simple as possible, including details of the local luggage taxi service for those who wish to use it. We recommend suitcases with wheels to all guests but these seem to be the norm now in any case.
Damp.....this is the first mention of damp in the cottage with 38 bookings this year.....I can't comment any further than the other 37 sets of guests have not reported it. We are glad you enjoyed your break despite it getting off on the wrong foot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda_D_1...
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holiday with husband”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had the best holiday. Polperro is a beautiful fishing village where the locals are warm and welcoming. We had our best ever week here. Blue peter. Three pilchards. Crumplehorn. Fish and chips. Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
Hi Lynda,
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a great time in Wayside & Polperro. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards Giles
Holiday Cottages Polperro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt P
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic get away”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just had the best anniversary weekend away in Polperro staying in Wayside, a quintessential fisher mans cottage nestled towards the harbour in the heart of Polperro. It was beautifully presented and our welcome hamper of jam and scones was a lovely touch. Even though the weather was testing at times the cottage was warm and cosy and deceptively spacious. We ate at the Blue Peter which has fab food and atmospher as well as a great pint of Guinness. Will all mod cons you won't want for anything and it's fair to say we'll be back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overal feel of he property just add to the occasion
Liked least: Parking is an issue but it's the same for everyone
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie P
Rochefort
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie P
Rochefort
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing