We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful building small and intimate interior suitable for couples and mainly adults wishing to enjoy freshly prepared food with friendly service
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Liked the fact that despite it being a very busy weekend they were happy to give a table to a single diner and made me very welcome. The food was high quality, locally sourced and very tasty( if ,just a little, expensive)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    37
    8
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We found this restaurant on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The reviews are spot on. Excellent service, friendly and warm (but not in your face kinda way!). Head chef actually came out of kitchen to discuss dietary requirements. Food was outstanding. A definite restaurant to visit when in Polperro! Thank you to Harry and Karen ftom Cat and Phil, Leeds

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatAki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“New to the village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently dined here having opened a business close by. The restaurant is small but perfectly laid out. Our food was stunning, both in presentation and taste.
Harry and Karen have managed to capture the qualities normally associated with large and expensive restaurants but located in picturesque Polperro.
We can only say go there and try it. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAULJOURNEAUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I always really appreciate it when a place really gets it just right. Faultless. Went here for part of my Mum's 80th birthday trip to Polperro. The rest of the family had been here last year and I wondered if it would live up to their glowing reports. It did. There were 7 of us, so we sampled a good range from the menu: scallops, crab, John Dory, rack of lamb, calves' liver and duck and all the dishes were cooked and presented to perfection. Chocolate puddings with Ferrero ice-cream, clotted cream cheesecake and a wonderful Cornish cheeseboard to finish. The ambience is relaxed and welcoming and the hosts are charming. I would very strongly recommend a visit to The Kitchen to anyone staying within the region.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dweeb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visit this restaurant everytime we come to Polperro. The surroundings are warm and comfortable a real home from home. Harry and Karen are awesome hosts and the food is to die for, I didn't want our meal to end. Make sure you visit it's the best restaurant I know. Wish that I could pick them up and move them to the Midlands.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie6892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing