We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and excellent company”
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful building small and intimate interior suitable for couples and mainly adults wishing to enjoy freshly prepared food with friendly service
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and excellent company”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited the Kitchen on 2nd November and had a great evening with lovely food .As the restaurant is very small ,you have to be prepared to join in the banter with the owners and other guests.This made it a very different eating experience and one which we hope to savour again.
Harry and Karen were so welcoming and friendly ,it was easy to have an enjoyable visit and that together with superb food made it an evening to remember .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    37
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited 'The Kitchen' in Polperro on our visit to the area on the 1st November. Read online about how great it was, so thought that we would give it a try. It was absolutely fantastic! The welcome we received was warm and very friendly. I ate the veal for my main course and it was gorgeous- perfectly cooked, a delicious sauce and the dauphinoise potatoes were out of this World. We were told that the cook's forte was her desserts.. and they certainly were. The clotted cream cheesecake was the best we have had in a long time, and the flourless chocolate cake was very yummy! This is an absolute must visit if you are in the area. The food is cooked from the heart, the atmosphere is relaxed.. and it is by far the best restaurant in the Looe/Polperro area which we went to. A wonderful evening!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Cosy restaurant with fresh food cooked to order. The wines were excellent and good value.
The menu is well thought out to be comprehensive while having a small range of dishes to reflect the small size of the restaurant and the need to have fresh produce We were told one dish alters every week. We queried the provenance of the veal and were reassurance by an oral explanation and a helpful leaflet from the veal providers.

I don't usually have dessert but was tempted by the home made desserts. The very light bread and butter pudding was well worth my venture.

Welcome was very friendly and the service alert and while maintaining an informal atmosphere.

On the night we rebooked to ensure we had a table for our last night in Polperro.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A memorable experience in all ways.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were so glad we found this restaurant. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly, and we immediately felt at home. All the food is locally sourced and cooked to order. Our meals were excellently presented and really delicious. Good food, good wine, wonderful hosts, we'll definitely come here again when we're next in Polperro. Thanks for making our visit so memorable!
Mike and Joyce.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dinning and Fantastic Company.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As I run my own company, my wife and myself get the opportunity to go away for long weekends together fairly frequently. During these shorts stays we indulge ourselves in our love for fine dinning so are always on the lookout for new and exciting places to eat.

Last week was no exception when we decided to go away to Cornwall for a few days. Our destination was Polperro which is a particularly delightful Cornish fishing village steeped in history and long ago tales of smuggling.

We arrived just before noon and as is often the case with us, it wasn't long before we were down in the village looking for places to eat. Polperro has a good selection of restaurants to choose from all displaying their various menus in glass fronted boards outside their establishments.

About half way down to the harbour we stopped at "The Kitchen Restaurant" to view their menu which is displayed in a nicely lit cabinet that stands outside. Your eyes are actually drawn first to their floral display which is quite stunning and the picture windows which create a very homely feeling instantly. We were very impressed with the menu. It was not huge but large enough to wet our appetites, and in any case, over large menu's normally dictate that a lot of the ingredients used will not be fresh but more often than not will be frozen?

Moving on to the harbour we stopped at the various eateries and restaurants to view their menu's on display. Each one in turn was scrutinised especially by my wife who is an excellent cook herself. After spending about an hour walking around the harbour area looking at various menus we both decided to go back to "The Kitchen" so see if we could book a table there for the evening. Fortunately for us they managed to fit us in as some regular dinners of theirs had cancelled at the last minute.

The evening arrived, we went to the Kitchen for dinner. At night with the lights on and floral display outside you are drawn inside to the warmest of welcomes from Harry who is one half of the Kitchen Restaurants owners. Karen his lovely wife is the other half and she does all the cooking. Harry works front of house and you soon realise why. He is very professional but with the distinct gift of making you feel relaxed very quickly. Indeed, when we booked our table Harry asked for our "christian" names and throughout service he referred to us both by our christian names, as we did to him. For us we found this to be a very nice touch. All too often the fine dinning experience can be marred by over pretentious behavior from front of house and staff waiting on tables. Harry's attitude towards his dinners fits in perfectly with the fine dinning experience which is supposed to be one of enjoyment and relaxation.

The general ambiance of the restaurant is very relaxed and informal which creates the perfect setting for fine dinning. The placings are intimate but spacious at the same time. Whilst there is plenty of room between the tables, they are not so far away from each other as to create "islands" for eating. Some of our most memorable fine dinning experiences have come from eating in similar restaurants where the food and great company from other diners complement each other perfectly setting the scene for truly great dinning.

Our first meal at the Kitchen Restaurant was simply sublime and faultless in every way. Karen insists that all of the produce for her ingredients comes from local suppliers who have a special emphasis in organically raised or grown produce. Harry and Karen are only too pleased to tell you where they obtain their produce from as they display them on black boards in the restaurant itself which is another nice touch. This of course is reflected in the quality of the food served at the Kitchen Restaurant which is divine. From the tenderness of the duck and a lovingly grilled steak, the wonderfully cooked vegetables, the dream pigeon on blackberry or the king prawns served with a heavenly sauce, would be enough to satisfy any gastronome. But to be topped off with a selection of home made deserts created and made by Karen herself is the pinnacle for what undoubtedly was, the very best of fine dinning experiences for us.

The food served at the Kitchen is very special as is the atmosphere it is eaten within. We will definitely be pre-booking a reservation the next time we go down to Polperro.

Good food served in the very best of company. What better recommendation could there be.

Kind Regards,

Liz and Lee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 
Polperro, Cornwall
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing