We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome and very enjoyable stay in Fantastic location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crumplehorn Inn & Mill
Ranked #5 of 12 Polperro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and very enjoyable stay in Fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a lovely time here and can't find anything bad to say. ALL GOOD! The accommodation was nice and the restaurant was that good we booked a table for every night of our stay. Parking is fantastic as an individual parking space is reserved for your room. And what more can I say about Polperro?????? It is an hidden gem that sould make you think you're in the med. Lovey place.

Lovely inn, Fantastic Hosts and Wonderful Place...Who needs to go abroad?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul00769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    15
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
136
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in the Crumplehorn at the end of June.
We stayed in a self catering apartment but had B&B.
It was lovely & quiet, situated at the back of the pub.
The apartment was very large, with a wonderful sized living room.
Breakfast was served in the pubs restaurant, with a nice choice of cereals, juice & a cooked breakfast.
We also eat most nights in the Crumplehorn as the food is very good quality & quantity.
With the weather being good, we often sat outside in the evening having a beer & watching the world go by, if it got a little cooler, Sonja was straight out to put the heaters on. A very pleasant spot to spend the evening .
Alan & Sonja work really hard looking after everyone & all the staff do a very friendly & professional job.
The Crumplehorn is right next to the small roundabout at the top of the village & has it's own parking for the guests, with the apartments name on it.
There is also a guests washing machine & tumble dryer, which can be very useful.[ pop the clothes in,have a pint & they're done!]
A great place in a lovely Cornish village.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My fiancé and I visited this pub during a week away at a nearby cottage. I have got to say this was our favourite night of the whole holiday! The pub is so lovely, a proper traditional English pub! The staff were so welcoming and friendly, the tables were all nicely spread out for privacy and the food was absolutely top notch! My fiancé has eaten a lot of steaks in his time and he said this was by far the best he has ever tasted. I also had a gorgeous meal. We will definitely be coming back to this place some time, we even brought a Crumpy The Bear as we fell in love with this place and wanted a lasting memory. Beautiful. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of places over the years, most of them OK, occasional disasters, and sometimes very nice indeed. The Crumplehorn Inn and Mill is definitely on my very nice indeed list. This was my first visit, but will not be my last.
The atmosphere is friendly and informal, something the staff obviously like and enjoy. The bar and restaurant areas are typical old country pub style (the Crumplehorn dates back to the 13th century), the only nod to the 21st century being enough lights to counteract the sometimes dark effect of low beamed ceilings.
They have a good menu + a decent daily specials board with enough choice to satisfy most tastes, including a decent range of vegetarian meals and enough kids choices to keep the choosiest of young diners happy. Evening meals were a joy. Nicely priced, well cooked and presented, and always to a high standard, including the service. If you are not staying at the inn itself, but are near Polperro, I would recommend an evening meal here.
My room was spacious and clean, and most important, the bed was comfortable. I had a great few nights sleep. Anyone who has walked around any small Cornish towns will know about the narrow streets and absence of parking spaces, well handled by the Crumplehorn by having a named parking space for each room. A thoughtful touch, and a very welcome one.
The town itself is a typical Cornish seaside town, set in a small valley that leads down to the harbour. Walking from the Crumplehorn to the harbour could be a short walk, unless you are distracted by the myriad small shops that sell all manner of things tourist, and more.
I had gone away for a few days of no hassle quiet time, and that is exactly what I got, and is why I recommend this place so highly. Definitely stands out for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place is amazing!! The staff are friendly the location is beautiful and the food well the food is cooked perfectly!! We stayed in polperro for a week ended up here 4 times in that one week!! 3 times to eat and once to have a thew drinks. They even helped us plan a 50th birthday meal with decortating our little corner of the pub with banners. The even helped us with our surprise with the cake at the end. The food is to die for especailly the lamb shanks, the meat just fell of the bone and the mash was so tasty!. The portions size are brilliant!!! And youe not waiting to long for food. One day i hope to return here for some more great english food. Oh and we even ended up buying a crumple horn bear to :)!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Boswe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at The Crumplehorn for a few days in March. This was our 4th visit in as many years so it's becoming a bit of an annual pilgrimage ! The weather wasn't very welcoming but the room was, as someone had already switched the heating on before we arrived. As in all the rooms we've stayed in, there were also plug-in air fresheners in use which seems like a small thing, but it's lovely to walk into a room that smells nice ! The rooms are kept very clean with towels & toiletries provided. You can stay on a self-catering basis if you wish but we always go B&B as the breakfasts are really good - juice, cereals & full English with toast & tea or coffee. If you don't want the full breakfast, the staff are more than happy to make scrambled eggs, poached, boiled or pretty much any other combination you want ! The bar & dining areas are typical old-world with low ceilings, beams, horse brasses & in cold weather, a blazing log fire. Meals are sensibly priced & very good value with generous portions. Suffice to say, i haven't tried the desserts yet because i'm always too full-up by the time i've eaten the main course ! Outside, there is a patio area where you can eat in better weather, right next to the sound of the water-wheel turning. Another big plus is that The Mill has its own car park, with each room having its own allocated space - a real bonus in a village where cars have to park in the main car park at the entrance to the village unless you have a reserved space. The Crumplehorn is within easy walking distance of the pretty little harbour & the assortment of pubs & shops. All the staff are polite, helpful & welcoming & it semms that nothing is too much trouble. The owners, Alan & Sonja, work very hard to maintain the high standards they have set & i would recommend The Crumplehorn to anyone who just wants to relax & unwind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8jenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire,england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited in march 2013,Polperro is a lovely little village,the Crumpehorn Inn serves lovely food,the room(couch) was warm,welcoming and very clean,the bath was a bonus as we only have a shower at home.The staff were lovely too.Nearby Looe has loads of shops and a lovely beach.Dogs were welcome in all the pubs,all in all we had a lovely short break and certainly recommend the Crumplehorn

Room Tip: `couch` is on the second floor,has a bath and there was no noise at all from the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.1 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cottles B&B and holiday apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crumplehorn Inn & Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crumplehorn Inn & Mill

Property: Crumplehorn Inn & Mill
Address: Crumplehorn, Polperro PL13 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Polperro
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and cosy B&B and self catering accommodation at the Inn where you can enjoy a great selection of local Cornish real ales, beers, wines, spirits, soft drinks and hot drinks in a comfortable and cosy oldy worldy pub atmosphere. Our freshly cooked, homemade food is served all day until 9pm at night and includes breakfast, cream teas and a specials board featuring our team of chefs’ specials of the day including local fish dishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crumplehorn Inn & Mill Hotel Polperro
Crumplehorn Inn And Mill
Crumplehorn Inn & Mill Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing