We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crumplehorn Inn & Mill
Nearby Hotels
The Claremont Hotel(Polperro)(Great Value!)
$116
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
161
59
19
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
59
19
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubspecials boardcottage loafpiemixed grillsunday lunchpiping hotcurrywarm welcomefish and chipsvisited polperrolong weekendnew ownerslovely foodcar parkwe've stayedfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 259 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent food and service - bedroom was a little disappointing up 2 flights of fire escape, bit cold and damp, cobwebs,peeling wallpaper and lacking in electric sockets

The Couch Room according to the owners is due for refurbishment.

I think we would try for a lower level room when we almost certainly revisit

Room Tip: Go for ground floor level with better views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madonmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alancrockford, Owner at Crumplehorn Inn & Mill, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your review.
Yes, Couch is being completely refurbished and the work is expected to be completed by the end of next week.
You will recall that you had to move your booking has a result of personal circumstances and we did our best to accommodate your altered dates. We did make it very clear at the time that the change in dates meant that you would not be in the preferred room we had originally allocated to you. For us, it also meant that Couch’s refurbishment had to be delayed.
Interestingly, Couch is in fact one our most requested rooms and as such, we’ve not been able to take it out of service quite as quickly as we ourselves would have preferred. It’s such a fine balance to keep everyone happy – as it is some of Couch’s regulars are actually objecting to the room being changed or updated ...
You did mention you felt the room needed more electrical sockets and this has now been programmed into the room's refurbishment works.
Extra heaters are always available if you are still cold with the room's heating on - all you need do is ask. Some guests turn all the heating off and some prefer more. It is difficult to know guests exact preferences and we do rely somewhat in any issues being communicated to us at the time so that we can resolve them.
There is no damp in our building as it has been checked. It's simply unfortunate that guests tend to use the words 'cold and damp' as a pair without really considering the accuracy of what they are saying. It was perfectly accurate in terms of the weather perhaps, but not necessarily of your accommodation.
We check our rooms for cobwebs every day and it is possible that the odd one will reappear in between our checks. We are in the country and it is impossible to guarantee a spider free environment, but we do our very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Another fab stay at the Crumplehorn with our 2 terriers. We have been visiting for about 6 years now and always feel at home here (Du Maurier suite is like our little mini house!). Lovely welcome from Alan & Sonja, All the staff so friendly (loved the barmaid with the pink hair!) Breakfast excellent, loved the black pudding :) We will be back again in the spring.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagpuss36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Crumplehorn Inn. I agree with many of the comments already given, both good and bad. On the plus side, the food is very good,the staff are efficient and friendly and the location is excellent.We were, however, dsappointed with the standard of the room ( Couch). It may be that this is one of the less favourable rooms to occupy and it does sound similar to the description given of Bligh by a previous reviewer.Perhaps both these rooms are rooms to avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Crumplehorn inn with a group of friends to celebrate a special birthday in March. The staff were very welcome and the rooms had all of the facilites that were needed. Although the decor was a bit dated it was clean and pleasant.

There were unexpected extras provided like tea and coffee and toiletaries and the breakfast which was served in the pub was excellent. We also ate in the bar on occasions and the food there was brilliant too.

There was free parking on site and it was in close walking distance to the centre of Polperro. The break was excellent value for money and I hope we can go back there again soon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Second time we have visited but with an extra night, room was great ,we stayed in the Harding suite very clean and spacious ,overlooking the front of the pub. Management and staff were more than helpful and very friendly at all times.We ate at the inn three out of four nights and the food was excellent with a great choice and excellent value for money. Breakfast was also great. look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Harding and job suites and they are very large and comfortable, which although we are only a couple we prefer to have spacious accommodation.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard&allyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews