We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic week at Seaview”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Village
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic week at Seaview”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have recently returned from our 5th holiday at Seaview in 3 years. The site is in a wonderful position, with amazing views over Talland Bay. This time we stayed in Regent caravan 15 and had a large verandah from which to enjoy the views. The grounds are well maintained and all the staff are always really friendly.
We walked down to Talland Bay, and also on another day to Polperro. The lady on reception gave us a map and said that it would take about 1/2 an hour to walk. It did, almost exactly! Be prepared for a very steep walk back, but well worth the effort!
The entertainment is great for a small holiday village. Captain Crumble is marvellous with all ages, although he excels in children's entertainment and the children clearly adore him.
There are no neon signs or oversized furry animals to scare the children. There is good old fashioned entertainment and real bunnies in the next field, which wander around the site and delight with their antics.
This all makes for a really relaxing holiday. We purposely left all technology at home, and didn't even turn on the new flat screen TV. We have very hectic jobs and just wanted to escape from it all.
We are so glad we found Seaview 3 years ago. Each time we return, we know we are going to get a warm welcome and good service. The staff seem genuinely happy in their work.
Having read some of the reviews on this site, We cannot believe they are talking about the same place! We can only suggest they try Butlins. Please don't judge by some of the bad reviews on here. Visit and form your own opinion.
We will definitely be back next year (if not a late break this year).

Room Tip: Well worth getting a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of your most recent holiday with us. I am sure other readers will find it very helpful and our staff will be glad to read your kind words.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    198
    114
    62
    91
See reviews for
454
190
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester. U.K.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just left Seaview after a fab weeks holiday. All staff are very friendly and helpful. Bungalow 80 was spacious, clean and comfortable with a king size bed.We had patio furniture and good shower. Clubhouse is modern and above average entertainment including bingo. Captain Crumble works his socks off with the kids club morning and evening and takes charge of the adult entertainment. Restaurant food is plentiful, priced right and o.k. The park itself is immaculate and very peaceful, ideally placed between Looe and the beautiful fishing village of Polperro. Plenty to see and do in the local area. Added to this, weather was perfect. Looking to go back later this year. Could easily have stayed another week. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We really appreciate your holiday review and would thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you were more than happy with your accommodation, Consort 80 and we look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just got back from Seaview Holiday Park nr Looe Cornwall, we had a great time down there, Cheryl on reception helped us out with all that we needed as we had to have oxygen delivered to the camp site and she made sure that it was in the caravan when we arrived. We visited the club house every night as we had 2 little ones and they wanted to see Captain Crumble he was very entertaining and the grand-kids thought he was the bees knees.
The van was compact and small fro 7 people?? and only one loo?? We played bingo most nights but NO we did not win but we had fun, There was entertainment on every night we did enjoy Paul Sylvester he was great. I would come back again as we did enjoy it very much. The only draw back about the site is that it is in real need of some TLC!

Room Tip: Bring your own toilet paper and your own Tea Towels!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samson153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we thank you for your kind comments.
Our staff are only too happy to help guests who have special requirement and will do what they can to assist.
We are sorry that you found the caravan a little cramped. Most of our three bedroom caravans do have 2 toilets but unfortunately the one you were allocated for its position did not. Perhaps if you come back you could consider one of our Jubilees or Coronation as they are a bit bigger and would give you a little more space.
We are glad you enjoyed our entertainment - we do try to vary things to find something for everyone.
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just got back from our fantastic week at Seaview Holiday village in Polperro Cornwall and would like to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who works there for making it so !
We had one of the new Coronation caravans and have to say they are Wow! Great facilities and wonderful views. They have everything you could want including en suit to master bedroom and up to date kitchen with plenty of dishes etc. Only bit of advise to anyone coming is bring your own toilet roll as this is NOT provided but can be purchaed from the shop if like us you were not aware.
We do not have any children but found that if you have they are well catered for by Captain Crumble who runs the kids club in the morning and early evening - a great all round guy as he takes care of the adults as well with Bingo (top prize was £340 on Thurs). The other entertainment was also quite good with Paul Sylvester a soul singer as our favourite act.
As to other reviews I have read on this park - ignore them -you get what you pay for so treat yourself to a top rated caravan and enjoy a great holiday in the UK! We will return and recommend to anyone looking for a great caravan in a great location!!!!!!
we also chose the hottest week of the year so far and so visiting places such as Looe, Polperro and Fowey we got to see them bathed in sunshine! Bliss........

Room Tip: Coronation caravans are in quieter part of park with own parking space and great views - rabbits and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon_burford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that you had such a good holiday and want to share this with others. We really appreciate your kind comments and do hope you will come and stay with us again soon - watch our website for special offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I read a lot of reviews on here after I had already booked and was expecting the very worst! Well what a pleasant surprise we had. We were in chalet number 50 with outside sitting area with table and chairs and a magnificent sea view. The chalet was very clean and tidy and had a very comfortable kingsize bed. OK so the furniture was not to our taste and the outside did look a bit tired, but who cares when you are only there for a holiday. Another thing I read was about the electricity running away with money ..... we put £5 into the meter when we arrived and only used half of that amount in our 4 night stay and that included leaving the immersion on all day because I forgot to turn it off when we went out! The park itself is not too large and retained a fairly peaceful atmosphere. We didn't visit the clubhouse so I can't comment on that, but the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful and I think this place deserves a bit of credit. Ours was a last minute booking so we got an excellent price and the weather was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review - we really do appreciate it. We are glad that you, like so many others, enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on 23rd June for 2 weeks, wish we had not bothered!.
Arriving on the Sunday evening we where given keys to bungalow No: 5 (sorry shalet) because that what it was. Hoseasons market this on their website as a bungalow, don't be fooled by the very clever angled pictures to show you the best views.
Our patio consisted of an 8 x 4 concrete slab with a very tired green plastic table and 2 chairs covered in all sorts of crap, not even cleaned for our arrival!. On opening the shalet door we where hit with this god awful smell, looking around, the kitchen was circa 1950's furniture and the bathroom was just a cupboard with a 12inch window in the wall. We complained to the Duty Bar manager who then got hold of the site manager who informed us that they where fully booked and all he had left was bungalow (shalet) No. 80, right opposite the reception area and main entrance to the site and road access for everyone staying on the site. On inspection we found this marginally more acceptable. The kitchen was awful, draws screeched open, taps dripped, tops fell of taps and the meter ate £5 electricity cards like no tomorrow. The shower cubical needed urgent attention and the paint peeling from the walls. We tried to reduce the toilet smell
with all sorts of cleaners to no avail and used over 6 bottles of febreze on the lounge carpet to try and kill the odour. Bedrooms where not to bad apart from missing handles on the wardrobe doors and the small bedroom door did not fit the hole so you could not close it. The 5w light bulbs where interesting.
Final nail in the coffin was a lorry goods delivery at 4am every morning.
Apart from that, the reception, shop and bar area where pretty good although the sitting out area by the bar needs some serious attention with drab concrete and even more tired green recliners and the state of the wooden bench tables had to be seen to be believed 'when's bonfire night !'. The site itself was pleasant enough and probably the caravans are ok too but the site owners really need to up their game and spend some money on the bungalows (sorry shalets) all the need is some TLC and correct information put on the website. The entertainment was very loud and average performance plus the dance floor could do with some lighting on it as when the performers moved off the stage their faces where in darkness.

Room Tip: Be very careful to check out what you are getting as accommodation before you make any payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justtkts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry that these guests did not enjoy their holiday.

Firstly, all the photos on our website and Hoseasons' are genuine, but we do not claim that all the accommodation has good sea views - the views do vary around the park and although Bungalow No 5 does not have a sea view, it looks out onto a pleasant grassed area. The patio, which gets the sun nearly all day, is big enough for 4 people to sit out on but if it wasn't clean enough then we of course apologise. This could soon have been attended to. The kitchen furniture certainly isn't from the 1950's as the bungalow wasn't even built then. The bathroom is actually a shower room and has a shower cubicle, wash basin and WC.
Following their complaint these guests were offered another bungalow, which they seemed happy to accept and they even said that it was more private. Bungalow No. 80 is opposite reception and near-ish to the entrance to the park, but this has not proved to be a problem to previous guests - in fact this makes it appealing to most guests. The park is not huge so there isn't a large volume of traffic. With regards to a delivery lorry arriving everyday at 4 am, this can only be the van that brings the newspapers but we obviously haven't had lots of comments about this so it doesn't appear to have disturbed anyone else.
These guests weren't aware that they were going to have to pay for their electricity so perhaps it was a cost that they weren't expecting, but the meters are set at the normal rate and the cost will depend on how much cooking, hot water and heating is required.
We can't believe that if this holiday was as bad as these guests are making out, that they would have stayed here for 2 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Polperro hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend. We initially booked a chalet but was very disappointed. Small, dark with furniture resembling a bad Dr's waiting room. We managed to move to caravan which was perfect for us. Plenty of room to spread out, lots of storage space and a seaview.

It's a very kid friendly resort which includes both an indoor and outdoor pool. We were a group of young(ish) adults without kids and still had a good time. The entertainment starts off with kids club, followed by bingo and then an act. Ater all that, the night ends around midnight after some music. The adult entertainment could do with a bit of improvement, such as karaoke but since most of the guests have young kids, then there's not many people still around past 9pm.

We had picked probably the hottest weekend of the year so the caravan was a little on the warm side so it was nice to sit it on the grass outside the caravan or in the outdoor bar area near the pool.

We spent a lot of time outside of the resort as the area is just so beautiful. There are boat trips from polperro which will drop you off in Looe for a few hours. It's cheaper to get a boat than a taxi...plus, the view is more stunning.

This was a Sun holiday trip and we would definately return but only if we had a caravan.

Big thanks to the manager John, Cheryl, the lady in the shop (sorry we didn't get your name) and the very patient Mr Crumble.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clarky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
We were sorry that you were didn't like the chalet originally allocated to you, but were glad that you liked the caravan. Some people prefer chalets and bungalows and some prefer caravans.
We thank you for your kind comments and were glad to see that you enjoyed your time at Seaview and we do hope you come back again soon.
PS - the lady in the shop is called Anna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tencreek Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Village

Property: Seaview Holiday Village
Address: Polperro Road, Polperro PI13 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Holiday Village is situated between the historic fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, and is within walking distance of Talland Bay with its secluded beach and cafes. We offer self-catering holidays in a range of caravans, bungalows and chalets for families and couples. All of our facilities are on offer throughout the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Village Hotel Polperro
Seaview Holiday Village Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing