We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“£9.50 SUN HOLIDAY.... check what your staying in before you arrive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polperro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Holiday Village
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“£9.50 SUN HOLIDAY.... check what your staying in before you arrive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Having booked a sun holiday 10 years ago and staying in an absolute dive we were very wary about sun holidays and after our stay i here i feel i should write a review........
We booked through the sun for a Monday to Friday break here, im glad i phoned before hand to see what accomodation we were going to be staying in as there were 2 families they had put us in 2 chalets....i researched online what these were and found them to have previously allowed people to take pets in, as we are non pet owners with 2 toddlers in the party we requested to upgrade this was not possible until the day of arrival, so on the day of arrival we did just that and upgraded to the jubilee caravan, this was a 3 bedroom "luxury" caravan, so we checked in and paid the £100!!!!!! upgrade fee and off we went .
we found our van, lovely view of sea, which is what the park states seaview! i think if you had paid full price for it you would be extremely disappointed, we appreciate they have probably had a very busy summer season but the caravan wasnt very clean, the carpets were disgusting, the furniture was grubby! and the van smelt very stale we were informed also that none of the accomodation is non smoking, so as non smokers we found the van to smell of stale cigarettes( this is not a negative just a point of view) ! im glad i took my dettol spray, bleach and flash wipes!
so after a good clean and all the kitchen equipment had been washed, the dettol spray had been sprayed we were happy!
top tip dont try and cook much in the ovens as we did sausage and chips 1 night that took nearly 2 hours to cook!
we took all our own bedding and towels too, as well you wouldn't want to use something that someone else has used!!!
the location is lovely, Looe is nice to walk around nice tourist shops, people all friendly and helpful and polperro is beautiful, we went on a wet dreary day but still found it lovely to walk around, there is a lovely pub in polperro called the crumplehorn( i think!) its a must but be aware they get busy so best to book and also they allow dogs in the pub, again we arent pet people so that put us off somewhat!

so the holiday village its self...., reception, we found was very clean and modern, the staff friendly and helpful, the other family travelling with us didnt have the same experience, so that didnt give the best impression! the facilities although i personally didnt swim, my husband took our son, he said the pool was nice the changing rooms were filthy and freezing cold! the little shop onsite is very overpriced, there is a little coop in Looe which is very limited but much better priced than the shop.

so to conclude...........
if your expecting cheap and cheerful, you wont get it if you want to upgrade, we stayed an extra night all in all our upgrade cost us £125, the upgrade was adequate after our little spring clean and the location is good as long. so just remember to call before hand to check what accomodation you have been allocated as the chalets reminded me of hospital day rooms.

Room Tip: ask to view the accomodation before checking in, there is then chance to complain and seek and upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jenniew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewPolperro, Owners' Assistant at Seaview Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We were sorry to read that you were somewhat disappointed with your Jubilee caravan - these lovely caravans have been let all season without any real complaint and we are not aware of anyone being disappointed at having to pay the full price. They are already booking up quickly for next year with guests who have stayed in them before If the standard of cleaning wasn't up to your expectations, I would hope that you reported this to reception - we are only too happy to put things right. After all, we want all our guests to enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    194
    113
    62
    91
See reviews for
443
185
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

i went with my family and stayed for 7 nights. we stayed in a chalet, big mistake. the chalet was dirty, stains on the walls, it had a bad smell aswell. we got moved the other chalet was a touch better, not a lot though. still same sort of problems. and on the last day we noticed one of the bedrooms was damp and there was mould on the duvet.would we go back would have to say no to a chalet. dont know about the caravans. we have twins and told staff in advance we wanted to hire 2 cots but when we got there they were travel cots and that cost £25 for the week, we expected proper cots for that price. the staff were friendly and helpful. barstaff were good and captain crumble is a gem. good base to get out and about. i did write a review on the questionaire that i got but had no reply to that. for what we paid expected a bit better but not bad overall stay.

Room Tip: dont stay in a chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have been two Seaview before and while some of the accommodation does need updating we have always been looked after so well we have just booked to go back next year. The owner is updating the accommodation over the next 2 years.
CC is great with the children as long as you don’t get the moody on..lol
The Swimming pool is great and club house has so much to offer all the family.
Well done Seaview and thanks for a great holiday again.

Room Tip: stick with caravans..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

sea view holiday village is amazing they are extremely helpful for intense on the first night i asked if they could play AC/DC as i am a fan of there music i was told they have none but will look for it then the next night was told they have none but the night after that one of the bar staff brought in there phone with some AC/DC on and played that

also the host 'captain crumble' is extremely friendly always handing out sweets and making the atmosphere generally happy

the views from the caravans are brilliant

although not many hangers in the wardrobe although lots of shelf space

the pool is brilliant

and in the games room everything is 50p this is helpful as you don't need lots of change

overall it is a very enjoyable place to stay

Room Tip: caravans further away from the club and pool have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hadriantrip908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We opted for the Jubilee 2 bed caravan (number 91). What a caravan!!! Everything was so clean upon arrival. A fantastic view of Talland Bay was easily available, just by opening the double glazed French doors on to the balcony/decking area. (plenty of room for the family!)
Table and chairs for those who want to 'chill-out' with a preferred drink or two!!
The kitchen was more than well equipped, the bedrooms were spacious, the shower was powerfulllllll! and hot! The central heating on a timer was great!! (We are talking October weather) Living room was also spacious (even with a five year old boy) T.V+D.V.D. Radio, proper sofas. Overall, absolutely FANTASTIC.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the swimming pool was very warm and inviting, the shop stocked most of the essentials for a break away from home.
I would not hesitate to book again as this was one of the best.
Thank you Seaview. See you next year!

Room Tip: Go for a south side Jubelee 2 or three bed caravan with balcony. Enjoy the view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just come back from a 3 night stay with my parents, toddler and baby.
The staff were all very nice and efficient, captain crumble was very good with the children and adults.
The caravan was a bit dated but then even the brand spanking new ones manage to look dated. But it was clean and fully functional.
My suggestion is don't be put off by bad accommodation reviews, if you get a bad caravan ask to move because ours, 115 was fine and it actually did have a lovely sea view.
Swimming pool was warm and big. Changing room and shower area is small and that's about as disappointing as the site gets.
Overall very nice small park with friendly staff and I will defo go again :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Have just been back to the Seaview for the second time this year, enjoyed every minute of it ,this was supposed to be a four night Sun break but due to unforseen circumstances we had to cut it to three,but when we arrived we were treat as though we were staying a month (wish we could) the welcome was great like it is always. The chalet was ready for us, clean as usual,the only downfall was the furniture was dated,very awkward to sit in,still we had the club in the evening very enjoyable.Onthe second morning,at 8 oclock i complained the television wasnt working properly by 8.15 it was fixed, now waiting for next years offers to come out.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mazdacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Holiday Village

Property: Seaview Holiday Village
Address: Polperro Road, Polperro PI13 2JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaview Holiday Village is situated between the historic fishing villages of Looe and Polperro, and is within walking distance of Talland Bay with its secluded beach and cafes. We offer self-catering holidays in a range of caravans, bungalows and chalets for families and couples. All of our facilities are on offer throughout the season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Holiday Village Hotel Polperro
Seaview Holiday Village Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing