We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class welcome”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at the Claremont Hotel and we felt that we really must comment on this hotel, it is very comfortable, very clean and the breakfast very nice but the most lovely thing about the Claremont is the welcome everyone receives from Carina the lady who runs this hotel she is always smiling and friendly nothing is too much trouble so thank you Carina for being so nice

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2over65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It was really nice to see you again, all our guests are special to us but returning guests give us that extra special feeling that our efforts and the hotel itself are appreciated and we find this very rewarding. Your review and your very nice comments are the icing on the cake and so much appreciated. We very much look forward to your next visit as you have become part of our ever growing list of regulars. Thank you so much. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    47
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
145
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about this hotel that hasn't already been said before? This hotel is wonderful by every metric.

Immaculately clean. Lovely comfortable beds and a great, good quality breakfast. This is all complemented by the lovely Carina and her partner Arpi. They both work very hard to keep this hotel as good as what it is and it's a credit to both of them.

Other reviews have mentioned this but I'd also like to make a special mention about the showers. I stay in a lot of hotels with my job and quite often get a luke warm trickle. At The Claremont, they are excellent. Very powerful and there's always plenty of hot water.

Thank you to Carina and Arpi, we hope to see you again later in the year.

Mike and Louise

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It is very difficult to put into words to express our gratitude for having such wonderful and regular guests as yourselves. Your very kind comments about my Partner and I, and the hotel with the special mention about our power showers are very much appreciated.You really are one of our regulars with five stays and we are delighted to read that you are already thinking about your sixth. We are truly thankful that you have taken the time and trouble to write your review as such kind words not only makes our day but will hopefully encourage others to visit and help to grow our business in these somewhat troublesome financial conditions. Thank you so very much and we now look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a last-minute overnight stay at the Claremont and can't fault the welcome we were given - Carina even insisted on taking my bag up for me (thank you!). Carina is one of the loveliest people we have had the pleasure of meeting. We enjoyed chatting to her and learned quite a lot about her native Hungary; you couldn't meet a friendlier person. The room was large enough, the bed comfortable, I loved the bathroom which was small but made excellent use of the available space - the shower produced a ludicrously large amount of water for just a quick wash. The room was warm, clean and well-appointed.

Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order, plus the usual fruit and cereal, plenty of toast, and short as our stay was, we enjoyed it. Would definitely stay there again. The hotel has its own car park which is an added bonus as there is no parking in the centre of Polperro. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so very much for your excellent review and your very kind comments which are very much appreciated. We often get verbal comments from our guests about how good our showers are and not having to jump around in the shower just to get wet as they experienced in many other places. However it is not often that our showers get a mention on Tripadvisor but each room has a power shower, our owners accommodation also, so we fully understand what you say and your comments make us very happy. We hope to see you again and thank you once more for your review and for your recommendation. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsagers Bank
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Claremont for 5 days in August 2013. We had a fantatic stay. Carina was great and nothing was too much trouble for her. Breakfast was served hot and plentiful. Her afternoon tea of scones was worth arriving home early for. Will stay again when in Polperro. Elsie Baddeley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you so very much for the review of your "fantastic"stay at our hotel last August. As the saying goes "better late than never". Your review indicates that we still do our very best even at the busiest time of the year and not just when it is quiet, so your review is very much appreciated. We are also very pleased to note that you will stay with us again when you next visit Polperro and hopefully you will become one of our many regulars. We hope to see you soon and thank you again for your review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I adore polperro and decided to stay here for a romantic break for his 40th birthday. We couldn't have picked a better hotel. The service from the ever smiley Carina was second to none, the room was warm, clean, cosy. The breakfast was gorgeous, everything was perfect. We got engaged while we were there so we will be back as it has become 'our special place'

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dozie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
You also prepared and submitted a "Truly Beautiful" review! Thank you so very much for putting your thoughts into words, it is really very much appreciated. We would like to offer you our very best belated birthday wishes and many happy returns. Like you Polperro is adored by many who return time and time again as regular guests of our hotel and we hope to see you many times in the future. Congratulations on your engagement and we wish you many, many years of true happiness and "your special place" will always have a warm welcome waiting for you. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have recently returned from staying at the Claremont Hotel with my fiance for the 2013/2014 New Year period.
This hotel/B&B is really brought to life by the very lovely Carina.
In today's competitive business economy, customer service is a big & important selling point & Carina very much exceeded our expectations.
As soon as we arrived, Carina was already half way down the outside steps to greet us with a friendly smile & immediately grabbed my heavy suitcase from me (& carried it up 2 flights of stairs to my room for me once we'd checked in).
As I have special dietary requirements (vegan), Carina happily stored my soya milk & vegan sausages in her fridge/freezer. Each morning my soya milk was waiting for me on our table, & my sausages were cooked seperately from the meat as part of my lovely vegan cooked breakfast.
The breakfast was a pleasure. 3 courses; cereals & juices first, followed by coffee/tea with toast & marmalade/jams, then a full cooked English breakfasts (unless a special cooked choice had been pre-ordered with the hotel's simple system of filling in one of their slips of paper at the desk, at any time of day, with your breakfast requirements).
We stayed in room number 6 which was warm, clean, comfortable, & a lovely size. The bed had a memory foam mattress which was very comfortable. The room was also made up really well each day.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the centre of the lovely village of Polperro, and, as many others have mentioned, the car park is also extremely convenient.
Polperro itself is really beautiful & particularly came alive on New Years Eve! I think we were the only ones in the very busy, bustling pubs that weren't wearing a fancy dress costume!
We would certainly return to this lovely B&B for Carina's amazing & very friendly customer service again.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a lovely, large size & the memory foam mattress was a comfortable added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarems S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your excellent review and for highlighting the many advantages of staying in Polperro and our hotel in particular. We also firmly believe that good customer service really enhances guests stay, making them feel welcome and relaxed and we do our very best to achieve this. Good customer care is a cost free service and only requires willingness and effort on behalf of the provider, unfortunately this seems to be going out of style with many accommodation providers especially larger hotels and budget hotels. We believe that such service is still essential and guests still appreciate being treated as an individual and that is important to the continued success of any business.We appreciate it very much that you mention it in your review. Yes, Polperro is a beautiful place and very popular at all times of the year for different reasons and most guests are pleasantly surprised by this and New Year is a prime example. We really hope to see you again and that perhaps you will become one of our many regulars enjoying both your stay at our hotel and the delights of Polperro in either summer or winter. Many thanks again for taking the time and trouble in writing a long and detailed review which mentioned many of the points we are proud of. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a long weekend in the quirky Crow's Nest room at The Claremont. Fantastic. Great position, lovely Karina looking after you and lots of winter sunshine! Thoroughly recommend the coastal walk to Looe it was amazing views and exhilarating! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your "Fantastic" review. Yes, the 'Crows Nest' is an unusual room and very popular with many guests who request it time and time again. Your kind words are very much appreciated. Thank you for also mentioning the coastal walk to Looe. Polperro is very central for those that wish to use Polperro as a base and explore other parts of our beautiful county, however for those that want to remain in Polperro and wish to do something more energetic during the day then the coastal walks each side of Polperro are really beautiful and scenic wise it is very difficult to find better. The other coastal walk is to Fowey, somewhat more tasking but in our opinion even more scenic. In the evenings you can relax in one, or several, of the local pubs or restaurants all of which are only a few minutes walk from our hotel. We hope that your "can't wait to return' will bring you back very soon and we very much look forward to that and also hope that you will become one of our many regulars. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Claremont Hotel The Claremont Hotel is a privately owned and family run hotel centrally positioned in the heart of Polperro, offering very comfortable accommodation, and less than three minutes walk from what is probably the prettiest fishing harbour in south east Cornwall, if not in the whole county. The Claremont Hotel faces south overlooking the valley and rooftops, and is ideally positioned for a short walk to all the village attractions and facilities. The hotel and its accommodation has been modernised so that our guests enjoy the comfort that is expected these days, yet it still retains its character, as parts of the hotel date back to the17th century,when it was most probably a fisherman's cottage. Please note that the Hotel does not have views over the harbour. With effect from 1st June 2016 Introducing a new concept in providing low cost accommodation. Bed and Breakfast is being replaced by Bed on a Budget. Breakfast will not be served and will not be available. A saving on up to £20 per night over the previous Tariff. A cooked breakfast is becoming a thing of the past as people are becoming more health conscious but when available, as on holiday, it tends to be eaten as it is included in the price. Also it is tempting to remain in bed so either forego the lie in or get up for breakfast. Now you can stay in bed as long as you wish knowing that you have already made a saving on not having breakfast. Further savings have been made by reducing the amount of room service normally provided. In effect all this means is that we no longer change bed sheets and towels on a daily basis, however the bathmat will be changed each day, tea/coffee/milk will be topped up and your waste bin will be emptied each day. For stays of one week or more a full room service and change of bedding, towels etc will be carried out after 3 or 4 days at managers discretion. We have also reduced the reception hours and we no longer accept check-ins after 6.30pm and if guests do not arrive by 7pm the booking is classed as a no show and therefore cancelled. These cost savings in laundry, wages and materials are part of the cost reduction that Bed on a Budget is able to provide guests and the saving can enhance your holiday experience by using these cost savings as you wish. Children under the age of six years are not normally accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing