We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend break in Polperro. We had a lovely room overlooking the road. As very little traffic passes down the road, this was not a problem at all. Breakfast was lovely, I ordered poached eggs and bacon every day and these were cooked to perfection and served on hot plates, which is wonderful. My husband had the full English, which was also perfect. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We have just read the two latest reviews, yours being the first and it has made us both very happy. Thank you so much for your very kind words and in particular about the room facing the road, as this sometimes worries guests when they see the hotel is close to the road. Your are quite correct, not much traffic passes down this road as only permitted vehicles and deliveries are allowed and the road is narrow so traffic moves slowly and the hotel is high up so little or no traffic noise reaches the rooms. The main advantage with our hotel is that we have a car park immediately opposite the hotel and therefore our guests vehicles are permitted into Polperro. Some guests do not realise how important it is for our hotel to have a private car park, until they arrive that is, and see the true situation. Your further comments about the room, breakfast and recommendation are equally appreciated and we really hope that we will see you and/or your friends in the very near future Thank you again. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    47
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
143
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porirua
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were travelling through England and were told to go to Polperro. We booked in with this very friendly welcoming young woman. She made our stay a joy. She was helpful,happy and bubbly the whole time. Her partner was the cook and his breakfasts were great. The rooms were spotless but a little tired and in need of a make over. A very pleasant stay. A town well worth viking for its quaintness and history.

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same but if you find stairs a problem then not to far up would be the thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revs1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words. Polperro is very well known for its history, quaintness and friendliness to visitors and has been the subject of many television programs highlighting these qualities which is why Polperro is so popular to visitors and locals alike. We try our best to make your stay in our hotel equally as satisfying as your visit to Polperro and we are very pleased to note that your review confirms this.We hope that we will have the pleasure of you staying with us again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location for this hotel in Polperro and has it's own car park for residents too. Saves trudging up and down the big hill or getting the trolley bus with your suitcases. Although the buses are fun ! Friendly service and very clean rooms, although slightly dated but completely in keeping with other hotels and Inns in the area. The Breakfast was 'ok', pretty standard and edible - nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your very good review and for mentioning in particular the items about our hotel that you liked the most. We are sorry to read that you were not so impressed with our breakfast as opposed to our other guests according to their reviews. We do try to choose the best available local ingredients and perhaps it was our breakfast style or service that was not suitable to you. Perhaps for example you like some items cooked more well done such as a hard egg or crispy bacon. We hope that you will return to give us another chance to serve you and if so then please tell us how you like your breakfast served and we will do our very best to oblige. Thank you again for your honest review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from my fourth stay at this hotel, and the reasons I keep returning are still in place. Lovely well presented rooms. Immaculately clean hotel throughout and the charming Carina to top it off. I think the breakfasts have actually got better too.

I'm going to make a special mention about the cream tea at the Claremont. It's huge, tasty and from what I can see, the cheapest in Polperro (£2.99). Freshly home made warm scones, tonnes of jam and clotted cream and enough tea or coffee to raise the titanic.

We're already considering our next visit

Thank you to Carina and Arpi

Mike and Louise

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are extremely pleased and very happy to welcome another of our regulars back for another stay. It was really great to see you again and made all the better by the lovely weather we have been having recently. What more could we ask for, returning guests and lovely weather, it makes our work so much easier and pleasant. Thank you for your excellent review, such kind words and knowing you from your regular stays we know that your words are genuine and we really appreciate them. Thank you for also mentioning our breakfasts and cream teas, we do try to do our best in all areas and we are particularly proud when our breakfasts and cream teas are mentioned in particular as we seek out good ingredients from local suppliers and then it is down to us to do these ingredients justice, in the main we hope we are successful! It is very pleasing to note that you are already considering your next visit and we are looking forward to that very much indeed. See you soon. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with parking space and excellent breakfast.

We stayed there with my fiancé, we love the atmosphere and the warm welcome. Carina and Arpi always treats us very well.

We had a nice room on the top. It was clean and very spacious.


Well done and thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunglish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your continued support , it was our great pleasure to welcome you both back once again. It is always very rewarding to read such positive feedback and to know that we made your stay so memorable.Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on the site following your stay,we can not wait to see you very soon.Kindest Regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying at Looe and walked to Polperro. I had been recommended this hotel for cream teas. They were huge scones, and lots of jam and cream. Really 1 between 2 people is enough. The cost is very good value
did not stay there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patmason24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your "Cream Tea" review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed them and also that you visited us by way of recommendation. It is a beautiful walk between Looe and Polperro and we try to ensure that those that partake in a cream tea refreshment find them equally enjoyable.The walk in the other direction from Polperro to Fowey is perhaps even more beautiful but certainly longer and more strenuous. Thank you for your custom and perhaps next time we will have the pleasure of you company for a stay at our hotel but if not it will still be our pleasure to welcome you again for another cream tea. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for one night only with my husband, but we would definitely go back. We liked the private parking (without it you would struggle on the narrow roads) and safety cameras.
Staff is very friendly, rooms are nice and clean, excellent breakfast.
It`s a good location too.
I put only 4/5 for sleep quality, as you expect the sea gulls are all over the place....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiralyCsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for highlighting the facilities that you considered beneficial to your stay. Yes, "OUR" Seagulls can be a little noisy at times but we do have Seagull friendly guards fitted to restrict the number that can actually land on our hotel but still their calls, as they fly around, can be disturbing in the mornings if you are a light sleeper. However many find the Seagulls part of the charm of visiting and staying at an active fishing village but we must admit they are not every ones favourite bird, especially if they steal your ice cream! We are delighted that you will return and we look forward to you become one of our many regulars. Thank you for taking the time and trouble in writing your, very much appreciated, review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing