We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter weekend stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our first time here having normally stayed elsewere in polperro and we were not disappointed. The service from Karina was exceptional nothing was to much trouble even waking up to easter chocolates at breakfast. Lovely clean,traditional room,large spacious ensuite bathroom also spotless,tasty well cooked english breakfast with cereal choices available.Location with the added bonus of spacious carpark on site made the stay our most enjoyable yet in polperro. Will definately return to the claremont.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenl242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and your very kind words. It is also very nice to know that you have stayed elsewhere in Polperro but after you first stay with us you will return. This gives us a good indication of how we compare to other accommodations as we really do try to be the best and ensure that our guests are happy with our hotel and service. We very much look forward to your return and thank you again for taking the time and trouble to write your review. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    47
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
143
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 781 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've stayed here now 3 or 4 times since my first review and I'm so pleased to say that nothing has changed. Karina is still the perfect hostess, the rooms are still cosy and warm, breakfasts are delicious and filling and the rooms and bathrooms are spotless.

My most recent stay was in room 6, spacious and airy even though it does face the rear of the building. The bed is just right for me, firm without being hard and as with all previous stays here, the only problem was getting out of it in the morning.

Parking is still free and opposite the hotel and the hotel itself is just a few minutes walk from the village's pubs and restaurants.

The ideal place to stay in Polperro.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay and for all the lovely things you have mentioned. We was glad you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you again for your 5th break. Kindest Regards Carina Marta Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

spent four nights at the hotel in December. really nice. great breakfast at a really good time. service very good. room really cleaned and looked after. the hotel has lots of character. its old fashion feel makes it really homely. the lady that runs the hotel is just lovely so helpful, down to earth and friendly. our mattress was to soft for my bad back as it was memory foam.(it was good quality and not the hotels fault) I ask if it could be changed to help my back it was changed within an hour. which is really good service and very helpful. nothing is to much trouble. the car park is a great feature. excellent hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibbers72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review in general and in particular the items that you mentioned. We appreciate that a good mattress is essential for a good nights sleep and we have only purchased the best memory type that is recommended for guests that have different requirements. However on this occasion it was too soft for you but we have spare mattresses but unless guests inform us, as you did, we cannot help to make your stay more comfortable. Unfortunately some guest say everything is fine and then complain after they have left when a simple request would have allowed us the opportunity to help. Thank you again for your review and we really hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Were it not for Carina this review would be much less positive. She is fantastic and works tirelessly to make your stay as comfortable as possible with a joyous smile.
Other good points are the car park (parking is very difficult in Polperro) a decent breakfast, good location and very clean.
Unfortunately the hotel (it is really much closer to a B&B) is very dated and shabby. The smaller rooms on the top floor are small,cold, damp and dingy.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you did not find the room to your liking. We fully appreciate that guests tastes differ and while you found the room to be dingy, other guests find the room romantic. We try to vary the internal style and decor of many rooms to give guests a wider choice as opposed to chain hotels where each room is the same. We also have photos of each room on our Website to let guests decide what is more suitable to them and to say that all the rooms on the top floor are small cold damp and dingy is certainly not correct and not supported by the many favourable reviews we receive. Regarding the room being damp we are very surprised that you mentioned this as we ask our guests everyday if everything is OK and you were provided with additional heating as you stayed in your room most of the day. When we serviced your room on the 3 days that you stayed with us we always found the room windows to be open and of course at this time of the year the atmosphere is inclined to be damp. Our hotel is indeed a old building as are the majority of properties in Polperro which is part of the charm and why Polperro is so popular. We do however take note of all comments, both positive and negative and would also like to thank you for your generous tip that you gave us on checking out. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the many positive reviews it received and I must say they are totally deserved. I have stayed in quite a few b&bs over the years and this just may be my favourite. Carina the landlady was so welcoming, cheerful and helpful. This can't be said for many of the places I have stayed in. I booked into one of the single room for three nights; it was spotlessly clean,comfortable and good value for money. The hotel is perfectly placed for a very short stroll to Polperro's quaint little harbour. I don't have a car but the hotel car park is directly opposite. I would definitely stay here again, and I can recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Carina for making it such an enjoyable stay.

PS. If you are a lover of traditional pubs, try the Blue Peter on the harbour. In my opinion the best pub in the village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 742Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review. Such reviews helps us to gain new customers in the same way as you found us and by adding your review will hopefully help the cycle to continue. We do try hard to please and to make our hotel clean and welcoming and to keep our costs as low as possible in these difficult economic times and to read what you have written makes it all so worth while. Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to write your review and we very much look forward to your next stay when we can thank you in person. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A lovely welcome by the owner and made us feel really at home. Very lucky to have a carpark directly opposite the hotel. It is my first visit to Polperro and I fell in love with the hotel and village in a matter of seconds. The breakfast was lovely and served hot with warm plates as well...always a plus for me. Perfect service all round and lovely room....Crows Nest right at the top. I would definitley recommend this hotel and commendations to the couple who run the hotel....just perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkiegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you ever so much for your "Fantastic" Review. We are so pleased to read that you loved our hotel and Polperro. Yes, we agree Polperro is a wonderful village that is easy to fall in love with and you experienced what the majority of first time visitors feel when they explore our village for the first time. No matter what time of the year Polperro offers a unique experience of an historic village with its narrow streets and friendly residents and the changing sea conditions complement the seasons from flat calm to waves breaking over Peak Rock at the harbour entrance. Costal walks to the east and west of the village offer breath taking views. Our hotel is centrally situated to enjoy Polperro and as you mention the hotel car park is indeed a bonus and our guests are just some of few permitted to drive into Polperro. We thank you so much for describing our hotel as Perfect and we are not going to disagree. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ideally situated for me there really no other hotel to stay in Polperro. We we greeted by a very friendly young lady with a bubbly personality who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, even to the point of taking our cases up to the room before we were due to check in. The room was very clean and tidy and had a lovely relaxing atmosphere. I used their website to preview the room so was well aware of what I was getting before I got there. Bed was comfortable and bathroom clean. The cooked breakfast was of a very high standard and the sausage very tasty, unlike cheap catering sausages you often find in many hotels. We had a very pleasant stay, it's a great location and being able to park is a real bonus.

Room Tip: All rooms can be viewed on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Country_Gent_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mont2rgclare, Owner at The Claremont Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are very pleased to receive your excellent review, and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to submit your review to Tripadvisor. All your comments are very much appreciated especially that you mention our Website which is often overlook in many reviews. We are proud of our Website and have had it carefully constructed to give as much information as possible, supported by photos, floor plans and a video, so that past, present and future guests can be assured of getting the room of their choice. We are very happy to note that you previewed your room prior to booking. We hope that you will become one of our many regulars and we hope to have the pleasure of having you again as a guest in our hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Carina Marta, Partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polperro
1.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: The Coombes, Polperro PL13 2RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polperro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Polperro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Claremont Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Polperro
The Claremont Hotel Polperro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing