We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage & great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oversteps

Oversteps is located in the heart of picturesque Polperro & is just 200 meters from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oversteps is located in the heart of picturesque Polperro & is just 200 meters from the harbour
Oversteps is located in the heart of picturesque Polperro & is just 200 meters from the harbour Lovely lounge with comfortable sofas and log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Oversteps is located in the heart of picturesque Polperro & is just 200 meters from the harbour
Oversteps is located in the heart of picturesque Polperro & is just 200 meters from the harbour
Lovely lounge with comfortable sofas and log burner
Super dining and kitchen area with feature fireplace
Master double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Luxury shower room with large walk in shower cubicle
Oversteps is located in the heart of picturesque Polperro & is just 200 meters from the harbour
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 3-4 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 3-4 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 5-6 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Oversteps
Photos of picturesque village of Polperro in Cornwall taken within 3-4 mins walk of Oversteps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage & great location”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Really reflect the comments made previously. This is a well fitted cottage, a few minutes walk from the centre of Polperro. Some lovely pubs with good food and beer very close by and access to the coastal path with stunning views.

Would suggest it would not be ideal for elderly or those with mobility issues as the parking is up a very steep hill, there are steps up to the front door and steep internal stairs.

Ideal for those wanting a quiet break. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SashaI103
1 review
“Oversteps”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely stay at Oversteps. The cottage was immaculate, nicely decorated and well-equipped. The only negatives ;that there was no washing machine ( we did know this prior to booking though- and who wants to spend their holiday washing?!). Also, there was no seating area outside but this wasn't a problem as we gravitated to the the benches at the harbour steps by the museum ( great value there and definitely worth a look) and also frequented the Three Pilchards almost every day to sit and try ales over- looking the harbour. We strongly recommend the Whitebait sharing plate. We went back for more. If you fancy treating yourself we also recommend 'The Kitchen'. At first glance it seems pricey, but when compared with other places it's only a few more pounds for real quality food and great service. We went for duck breast and fillet steak and both were really nice. If you fancy fish, go to Looe and grab some from the fishmongers by the car park. We had cod, samphire and crabmeat to make crostinis, lovely. Do NOT go to Polperro chippy. The worst fish and chips we have ever had!
Oversteps is ideally situated and was great for my kids to go out and explore by themselves. I had no qualms about letting my 11 year old out by himself...
it is lovely that Oversteps over- looks the stream. My son had fun walking up it to see how far he could get..
Finally, thought I would mention 'The Plantation' for cream teas etc. They do decent value breakfasts there too and it's a lovely environment inside and out in their garden by the stream. Kids loved the milkshakes!
The half hour boat trips were worth it too!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
slrneal
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at Oversteps Polperro”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a delightful week over Easter staying at Oversteps. Cottage beautiful, very we'll appointed. Polperro is a delight and my children loved climbing the rocks. Great food available at local pubs. Highly recommend a visit.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review although a little puzzled at the 1 star rating....perhaps a mistake given how much you obviously liked your stay....I wonder if you could contact Trip Advisor to amend the review, many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyceA240...
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“A gem of a cottage to relax and recharge”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Polperro is a fabulous little fishing village with a really friendly feeling. We spent a wonderful weekend here just before Christmas walking on the beach, pottering round the harbour, swimming in the sea! and them coming back to the cottage for hot chocolate in front of the wood burner. Oversteps has everything we could want and more, we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in great location”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our 3rd stay at oversteps and we absolutely love it. I have travelled this time with my wife and two children aged 5 & 2. The cottage itself is tastefully and sympathetically decorated and so well appointed. It genuinely feels like a home from home and we are always so comfortable here (if the owner ever sells we will be first in line).

The location is great for exploring Cornwall and very close to the harbour, restaurants and pubs. If you do stay here I would recommend the Blue Peter pub and their steak and ale pie is fantastic!

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
425gra195...
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage in a picture perfect location”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had the pleasure of staying at Oversteps for four nights.Booked online with Holiday Cottages Cornwall and had trouble finding the place (only because I couldnt access their precise instructions emailed to me, my fault not theirs), rang Giles who promptly put me onto Linda (the local contact).Everything sorted with minimal fuss, very helpful, great service.Having travelled from Australia tend to be a bit wary about booking accomodation online in another country ,but very professional.The cottage was great, a credit to the owners who have renovated it and left those little homely touches like helpful tips, magazines,books games etc.Nothing better than sitting in front of the fire after a home cooked meal with a good book.Had the feeling of staying in a friends home.Kitchen has everything you would want, free Wi Fi,bedding supplied etc.Located just around the corner from the beautiful harbour and close to great old inns and restaurants.
Everything that could be said about Polperro probably doesnt do justice to this postcard perfect Cornish fishing village. The only issue for some might be that the village is pretty much car free and so you need to park your car up the fairly steep hill (carspace provided) after unloading.Also a laundry in the village would be great as there are no washing facilities, possibly a great business opportunity for an enterprising local!
Been in the UK now for several weeks and this stay definitely a highlight.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quaint cottage and location
Liked least: Climbing up the hill everytime I had to get the car
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing