We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Haven Cottage

Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro View from lounge window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
View from lounge window
Lounge with view into the harbour and a log burner
Lounge with view into the harbour and a log burner
Fully equipped kitchen
Double bedroom with harbour views. A child size 'put up bed' can be used upon request
Double bedroom with harbour views. A child size 'put up bed' can be used upon request
2nd double bedroom with harbour views
2nd double bedroom with harbour views
2nd double bedroom with harbour views
Shower room, there is a separate cloakroom
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Haven Cottage is located overlooking the historic, picturesque harbour of Polperro
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 4-5 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Photos of picturesque Polperro in Cornwall taken within 1-2 mins walk of Haven Cottage
Polperro Fireworks held every November
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rolandChi...
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Haven Cottage exceeded our expectations. It has been refurbished beautifully and nothing has been overlooked. Everything in there is to a high standard which is quite unusual for a holiday let. Top marks to the cleaner of Haven Cottage, everything is spotless. The views are amazing. We felt like we had stepped back in time. The people of Polperro are friendly and welcoming. A truly lovely short break.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucy f
UK
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“First time at Haven”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I've been coming to Polperro for 26 years so have stayed in many different cottages here. This is my first time at Haven but it won't be the last. It is by far the best of all I've stayed in. Very well equipped for self catering, obviously fairly recently refurbished to a high standard so you get a traditional cottage with a modern feel. Location is excellent (thtough not my favourite but that's because I've been spoilt at another one!) Right on the harbour. Only two tiny niggles (just to keep it balanced). We stated on the booking we needed a cot so it would have been nice not to have had to search cupboards and put it up ourselves when we arrived at 1am with a 4 month old. Secondly its not brilliantly heated as only lounge and bedroom has heating so a bit cold at this time of year. Overall though I'm highly impressed.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anon1974
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage will stay again”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect cottage, querky, very well looked after. Has everything you need plus amazing views of the harbour. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SianH694
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Be brave and bring car to the Quay to unload as if you have a lot of luggage it is a good 6 to 10 minutes from the cottage to the car parking space, which is not easy to find with the map we were sent, but once there it's fine although a little nerve racking if you are not used to such narrow streets.
The cottage is beautiful and well presented. Great views over the harbour and everything you need for a comfortable stay, but perhaps not for very tall people as very low ceiling from lounge to kitchen. I love Polperro and have been coming here since I was nine and I glad to stay it hasn't changed to much although there are lots more holiday cottages.
Lovely flowers and milk and cream tea to welcome us and now wish we had booked 2 weeks.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpolites
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cleverly designed retreat in an amazing location”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is located right on the harbour in Polperro. It comes with a dedicated parking space, which is useful and saves money, but be aware it's a narrow way in with very tight turns. It can seem daunting but is doable. It is worth emailing the rental company for detailed instructions on how to find the parking spot as the first instructions we received were not very clear (although this may have been fixed after our experience). The parking space is about 6 minutes walk from the cottage so you need to carry luggage from there. The cottage is tiny but has been cleverly fitted out to a high quality - although small it has everything one needs (except somewhere to hang washing - we had to be a bit creative about that). You need to watch your head going through doors and upstairs as there are low beams. There are two good sized double rooms. We were three adults and a three year old (who loved the adventure of being in a tiny harbourside space and pretending the cottage was a boat). It really is an incredibly picturesque place - the house is right on the harbour, in the heart of things, overlooking the water directly with seagulls perching on the window sill. This makes it one of the best places to stay in Polperro, and I recommend it. Polperro is a lovely town and a good base for exploring Cornwall.

Date of stay: May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing