We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AN AMAZING COTTAGE”

Review of Ten Steps

Exterior of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of cottage
Polperro harbour Galley kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
5 reviews
Exterior of cottage
Polperro harbour
Galley kitchen
Looking into the kitchen area
Ten Steps - see arrow
Shower room
Kitchen and dining room
Living room at Ten Steps
Window seat in master bedroom
Double bedroom
View from the garden
Polperro harbour
Spring day in Polperro
Crumplehorn Inn Polperro
Polperro at sunset
Entrance to Polperro harbour
Village transport in Polperro
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky Fisherman's Cottage”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is in a fabulous location but is in desperate need of some TLC!! No attention has been paid to previous comments in the visitors book. I wouldn't normally write comments like this but feel the owners should take notice.

There are instructions on cleaning the property at the end of your stay... you are instructed to hoover before leaving the property but there is no hoover. You are asked to leave rubbish in a outside store but there is no key supplied. The place needs a very good from top to bottom - dusty, move furniture and clean behind!! Strip the beds of that you have slept in... does the cleaner actually do anything? No lightbulbs and no replacements! If you can do the basics and do them well then that would be a huge improvement.

Having said all this we have had a great week, so if the owners could please listen to the comments in the visitors book and give this beautiful little cottage the clean and care it needs we would love to come back! Recommendation only selected based on you making the changes and listening to people - if not then no recommendation given.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2017
Thank you for your review and we agree that the location of this quirky fisherman’s cottage is indeed fabulous. Following a similar review received last week, the owner has been made aware of the situation regarding the hoover, missing key for outside store and cleanliness comments and we can reassure you that measures are in hand to improve the above mentioned issues which include a brand new shower room planned for installation this winter.

We do hope that you will consider staying at Ten Steps again in the future and please keep in touch so we can keep you updated on the scheduled improvements the owner has planned for 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock1l...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
Reviewed November 11, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a quirkier little fisherman’s cottage , is in a fabulous location but it needs some TLC, normally I wouldn’t write comments like this but when reading back through the visitors books my comments below have been repeated all year and our findings were not just end of season blips, I felt the owners should take notice.

Firstly , you are instructed to hoover before leaving, no hoover. You are asked to leave rubbish in a outside store, no key supplied. The place needs a good bottom clean, we moved the single bed in the small bedroom to check nothing had been left, clearly no else had for months, there were crisp wrappers, socks, glasses case and a heap of dust and behind a small chest was sweet wrappers and a discarded biscuit. The skirting boards and ledgers were dusty and the bathroom well past it’s best. The clearly once cherish little garden was in need of maintenance and the steps lethal.

That all said we have had a great week, the little summer house at the top of the garden provided us with a lovely place to sip coffee and read and a prime view of the fireworks on bonfire night and the harbour.

So please owners, take heed of all the comments your visitors write in the visitors book and give this cut little cottage the clean and care it needs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you very much for your review of Ten Steps and we are pleased that you found the location of this historic fisherman’s cottage fabulous.

For your information, plans are in place over the coming winter months to further improve quality standards at the property and your cleanliness, garden and general occupation observations have been passed onto the owner for his immediate attention.

We do hope that you will consider staying at Ten Steps again in the future and please keep in touch so we can keep you updated as to the exciting improvements the owner has planned for 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleB_1...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING COTTAGE”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Ten Steps is an incredible cottage full of character and tastefully updated.
Ground floor has a fully equipped kitchen it has everything and more,
compact bathroom with a great shower. First floor is a beautiful lounge so
comfortable with great views of the harbour from the window seat, I watched
the tide roll in, so relaxing. Up the stairs to the top floor which has two bedrooms, front bedroom has a harbour view and a really comfortable bed. Back smaller bedroom has a second door that leads to the garden and summer house,
Do not miss spending time there it is an amazing space.
Great cottage and location and excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge and summerhouse, location and views
Liked least: Cleaning parts of cottage that had been overlooked
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you for your feedback and glad you found the cottage full of character with everything you needed and more, including the wonderful views. A loyalty discount awaits you if you wish to return to this or many other of the properties in our portfolio in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
240kathyc
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very memorable and special stay in ten steps polperro”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Ten Steps is 'compact' like most other terraced cottages in Polperro - it is well equipped, very central and nicely decorated - the benefit it has over most of the other comparable cottages is the outside space - from the elevated patio you can watch the whole harbour - all the hustle and bustle and the fishing boats coming in with their catch - the owner was very amenable and let us have access earlier than agreed as we had arrived very early due to our ferry from Dublin - we had looked at much more expensive ones and were glad we didn't bother as this was perfect - i would highly recommend it - very good value for money - Polperro is breathtaking - we found a Victorian tidal rock pool which we swam in after a very demanding walk along the coastal path to Fowey and back - a great walk in the other direction to looe is also great and not just as demanding - fabulous coastline. Boat trips leave several times daily from the harbour to looe and Fowey - the skippers are very friendly and the trips are good value Fowey is great for a day out - The best pub in Polperro for a drink is The Blue Peter on the harbour front - the atmosphere is great and the staff very friendly - a fisherman's wife has a little stall on the front of the harbour selling fresh catch of the day - the scollops were delicious. Visit the little 'car booty' shop in the village where a very pleasant local lady sells collectables - This place will stay with you long long after you leave and ten steps was perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rock pool
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thanks for the lovely comments, and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful harbour. Sounds like you had an amazing time and made the most of the local amenities, if you would like to book this lovely cottage again for next year don’t hesitate to get in touch with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing