We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pub grub”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Polperro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“good pub grub”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

They serve huge portions for main meals. Very reasonable price meals. Great beer, nice atmosphere, friendly, good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    131
    41
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fab steak,Wife loved her crab good price great meals”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The service was second to none polite and fast waitresses.
Food was really nice.
Also nice to see the history about the restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A cheerful place to visit”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went in here for a drink on a cold and rainy day. The dog was welcome too. The lady who served us was very chatty and pleasant so we stayed awhile talking to her. The menu looked very good and it is on my list of places to try when we next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous pub food, incredible atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

As a band that gig all over the country, Rarely have we encountered hospitality that could compare with Grant and Anita's at the Ship Inn. We were made to feel as family from the moment we walked through the door. Anything the team could do for us, they did, no qualms no sullen or disparaging remarks.

We have played at many venues nationwide, however we would be hard pressed to rate a team or its patrons higher.

Thank you for having us!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardupactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Banging food & pub!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We live not far from Polperro so visit every now and then and always call in on this pub. Food is epic every time we go and the portions are just huge! The food quality is also excellent. You always seem to get a little more than you can eat but we always manage to finish it lol.

The seating area out the back gets busy fast when the sun's out on a weekend so get there early to get a table in the garden. We managed to nab one last weekend and caught a nice tan whilst eating :).

Staff are really friendly and have a good banter if your up for a bit of banter. It's not too expensive as the quality of the service is brilliant!

There's a few pubs in Polperro but this one is deffo one to check out! Never had a bad meal and always left feeling stuffed!!

I've also uploaded a picture of our food we ordered. My Mrs had the sausage, mash & big Yorkshire pudding and I think mine was called The Chicken New Yorker.

5 stars from us :)

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing