We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Noughts & Crosses Inn - CLOSED

The Noughts & Crosses Inn
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: BISTRO, BAR, BED AND BREAKFAST, TAKEAWAY. Tapas menu with fresh local fish & locally sourced meats & vegetables.free wi fi, free use of laptop.
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Just had a fantastic evening at the Noughts and Crosses. We ordered a selection from the Tapas menu which was really tasty and really good value. The music and Chris the host made for a great atmosphere and we enjoyed it immensely. Go there! A real find Ann and Martin

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    22
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unmissable - 100% you should try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The Noughts and crosses re- opened in June 2012 so this was our first opportunity to try it and we could not find a thing to be disappointed by. Before we even get to the food, the owner Chris has clearly invested ai lot in the place and that is all the more charming when you discover his family owned it back in the 60's. he has clearly spent ai lot because the decor in the restaurant is very appealing and this has been followed through to the entrance and toilets too.
We chose to eat here because after a few days of pub food I fancied something different and the tapas menu attracted me. Tapas in Cornwall I hear you cry - yes but just about everything is locally sourced so fear not. Calamari - best I've ever tasted. Tempura vegetables lovely, garlic mushrooms to die for, succulent scallops. We thoroughly enjoyed our food and wine. Being in April there were only 5 tables in so we had the opportunity to chat to the owner, Polperro born and bred. Personally we found it fascinating to hear a few takes of village life back in the day and hear who used to live in our holiday let. Chris is a great host.
We took our dogs and they had a warm welcome with biscuits and water provided. Overall excellent service, excellent food and wine, a very nice place to spend the evening and we will return before the week is out.
They also have some letting rooms and discount them if you eat in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This had the feel of a new venture with the staff not being fully on the case. There are no complaints about the food, that was tasty and reasonably priced.
The owners have clearly invested in the place but they need to think about their interaction with the customers. An an example, we arrived about 19.30 and there were a few empty tables. The food took a while to come and when another couple arrived about 20.00 they were turned away, we're assuming on the grounds they wanted to close. 10 minutes later, the same happened again so why not put a "closed" sign on the door rather than get potential customers' expectations up and then disappoint.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unexpected gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are regulars to the lovely Polperro and discovered that the Noughts and Crosses has reopened after extensive renovation. The host Chris could not have been more welcoming and accommodating and made the whole experience very enjoyable. The theme is Tapas but their are a number of other options including a more traditional Local produce and the most amazing loaded up freshly made Pizza. We would recommend the Bodmin Beast ! The tapas dishes were good value and very tasty . Also there are some good quality wines and deserts to die for. Looked like everyone who dined were very satisfied All the dishes are also available as a take away although does not detract from the restaurant itself. Thanks and see you later in the year when we will stay with you at one of your lovely B and B Rooms. David

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, Great Wine and Fabulous Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited with our two boys who are very difficult to please at the best of times with their 'typical kids' eating habits'. The menu provided something for everyone and my kids absolutely loved it. The tapas were abundant and flavoursome. The staff made a fuss of the kids which was lovely. The place is so clean and very tastefully decorated. Big thumbs up from us all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy9245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noughts & Crosses Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing