We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful addition to Polperro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Noughts & Crosses Inn - CLOSED

The Noughts & Crosses Inn
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: BISTRO, BAR, BED AND BREAKFAST, TAKEAWAY. Tapas menu with fresh local fish & locally sourced meats & vegetables.free wi fi, free use of laptop.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A delightful addition to Polperro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I get fed up with pub food and don't always want to go too "up market", so finding the Noughts and Crosses here in Polperro this year was delightful. It's a nice bistro atmosphere, roomy and casual with a great selection of different foods - an important feature when you're in a group of 8! So we ordered a mixture of tapas, (a very large) bangers and mash and a "Beast of Bodmin" pizza. The pizza actually defeated my husband - large and well-loaded - and that takes some doing.......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dweeb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    22
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service and ambience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Polperro many times, but this was my first visit to the newly refurbished Noughts and Crosses. A good varied menu to suit all tastes in very pleasant surroundings. Will be going again before the week is out!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_s_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to noughts and crosses for my partners birthday meal while staying in polperro and had the tapas, which we would highly recommend. The food and wine were of excellent standard and the owner was extremely attentive and friendly. At the end of our meal we asked the owner about accommodation and he kindly showed us around his newly refurbished rooms upstairs. The rooms same as the resturant are of the highest standard and we will be defiantly staying there on our next holiday to polperro. This resturant is a must if visiting the village. Style and class......
Jo & stef......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service! Lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner here on our last night in Polperro and overall we enjoyed it! The place had an extensive tapas menu which I could have probably worked my way through quite easily, and we were really happy with all the food.

We are there on a relatively quiet night so had great and attentive service from the host (however I'd imagine his service is always attentive!)

I'd recommend the restaurant. Lovely!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Addition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Polperro but the first time the Noughts And Crosses had been open. With the Ship been closed for refurbishment, we headed here. Although it was empty(time of year) we had nothing to lose by giving it a try. The tapas/starter selection was very good and we were spoilt for choice. We chose 3 dishes all excellent, followed by sirloin steak. Cooked medium it was delicious. The owner was very friendly and attentive even after others turned up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Noughts & Crosses Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing