We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful week in Penlowen”
other travelers have booked this property
the view from the living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the view from the living room
dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
the view from the living room
dining room
living room window
front door
living room
woodburner lit
downstairs bedroom
kitchen
kitchen
organic towels
shower room
hallway
back garden
outdoor dining
garden
Talland Bay
Polperro
Cove nearby
Kayaking in Fowey
Eden Project
Water sports at Siblyback Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris217
South Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in Penlowen”
Reviewed May 25, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We've just returned from a week's holiday in Penlowen and had a wonderful time there. Hosts Sue and Colin live next door and were really friendly and helpful. The house is spacious, well equipped and tastefully decorated. As other guests have said, the view from the living room window is beautiful - it's a great place to unwind. The garden is also a lovely place to relax in, although we didn't spend much time in it because there was so much to do and see in the area. We found the location ideal - away from the centre of Polperro but only 5 minutes away from the stunning coastal path down into the village. Can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2018
Thank you Christine for your positive review. We very much enjoyed meeting you both
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minimad
Burton on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just returned from a lovely trip to Cornwall. Penlowen is located well for visiting Polperro and the surrounding area. Private parking on driveway. Walking distance to the village and to coastal paths. Very steep hill to go down to the village but you get used to it!
Scones with jam and clotted cream upon arrival and a jug of milk in fridge...wonderful!
The lounge is situated upstairs and the view is wonderful. The house was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It was warm and cosy. Kitchen well equiped. Beds very comfortable. Washing machine to use which was useful with two kids! Garden was lovely. Table and chairs to sit on outside. Sky tv and Wi-Fi in the house.
Sue and Colin are lovely people and very welcoming.
I would highly recommend staying there to anybody wishing to visit the area. Wish we could have stayed for longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2018
Thank you Maggie for your positive review. It was lovely to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martintov...
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brill hosts”
Reviewed March 14, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We arrived late after a long bad journey from North Wales. Having warned Susan, she lit the log burner and was waiting to direct us in on a dark misty evening. We then went and listened to Colin playing Jazz at a local pub.Came home to scones, jam and scones left by Sue.
Great location with plenty of space
Thoroughly recommend for a truly great spot in Polperro at a great price
Martin, Sue and Jack

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesie19...
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely January visit”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a lovely Cornish gem! We spent a long weekend at Penlowen this January and loved it’s cosy atmosphere. It is just a short (and beautiful) walk along the coastal path to the village of Polperro and just a 10 minute drive to Looe. It’s location is very peaceful and it’s views are amazing. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esme S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I visited Penlowen over Christmas with my partner after coming once last year and loving it. Sue and Colin once again made sure that we felt fully at home by putting up a lovely little Christmas tree in the spacious living room and hanging tinsel across all of the pictures. It truly was a beautiful sight.

We spent the evenings enjoying the log fire in the living room and the days exploring more of beautiful Polperro (and it's pubs of course!). The sea view from the living room made this Christmas feel even more magical.

Thank you so much for everything, we will be returning again next year and hopefully for many to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan S
1 review
“Superb accommodation, fantastic sea views and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is one of the best we have stayed in, the accommodation is everything you could wish for. The hosts Sue and Colin are totally charming and nothing is too much trouble for them and they make sure that your stay is as perfect as possible. Our only regret!!! we didnt stay longer but we hope to remedy that soon. Cant recommend this highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happygal6...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for...”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a great base for visiting Polperro, Looe and other parts of Cornwall of course!
Penlowen was perfect for our week long stay...a lovely home from home to come back to after a day out. Clean, modern and tastefully furnished. The sea view from the living room was fabulous to enjoy at any time of the day and whatever the weather. The owners, Sue and Colin were both welcoming and hospitable - happy to help with any queries we had throughout our stay. Wouldn't hesitate to re book Penlowen if we visit Polperro again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
It was great to meet you all. Hopefully you will visit Polperro again and when you do I would love to take you all snorkelling in Talland bay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing